We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
255
109
51
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
255
109
51
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner lasagna the pub wembury beach beer garden eton mess specials board nice meal lunch time dog
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Had not planned to eat out for lunch and were just planning a quick visit to Wembury beach. However, it was so cold we decided to head back to the Odd Wheel instead. Decided to stay for lunch and weren't disappointed. The pub caters well...for coeliacs (which pleased my gluten intolerant Mum) and they even do gluten-free fish and chips. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was very tasty and reasonably priced. The lobster and crab tortelli from the specials board was delicious. The beer was in fine condition too! Look forward to another visit.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 March 2020

Well. All I can say is the owner should leave front of house to her staff as do not appreciate being called Sweet Heart.. I only questioned the order she took and I got “well sweet heart that is what you ordered” never again will...I step foot in that pub.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 25 February 2020

I have just visited the Odd Wheel with my family and we all had exceptional meals. Personally I chose the lasagna from the specials board and it really was the best pub lasagna I have ever had - and I've had a few!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
oddwheel1, Owner at The Odd Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Thank you Kay for your positive response, its always great to have feedback especially when you have enjoyed your meal . Look forward to seeing you again soon .

Reviewed 19 February 2020

We visited this pub last week, firstly were disappointed with the evening menu. No fish, no scampi, no Sirloin steak, no rump steak. Three of our party decided on chicken bacon & leek pie, they were informed there was non left so ordered steak &...ale pie. I ordered chicken supreme, the chicken wasn’t very big certainly not supreme! & I found it too salty for my palate. We later ordered deserts, two of us had black currant Eton mess which was on the specials board, when they came all I can say is it looked like a pink messy blob, no effort to dress it up at all & when eating just lacked any body, unlike any Eton mess that I have had before. Our wives decided on ice cream, one had the normal three scoops whilst the other felt a little full so asked for just one scoop, when the bill arrived we were a bit surprised that we were still charged the full amount, didn’t query this but thought it was a little mean. Whilst the lady that served us was pleasant enough we left disappointed and feeling that we wouldn’t return anytime soon.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
oddwheel1, Owner at The Odd Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

I am surprised that you were dissapointed with our evening menu which i think is quite extensive there is fish and chips on the menu and there was hake and mussels on the specials board granted we dont have sirloin and rump steak but we...More

Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

We had an nice lunch. The girl waitress brought the bill to table. I took the bill to the bar and there was no one there so I left the bill in the folder with the tip. I then went on out to bring the...car to the door for my disabled sister. Apparently a man working n the bar shouted to the others two.,in front of other punters, Are you paying, where’s the other one gone. He had a very offensive manner. Even when told the money was on the bar there was no apology. We won’t be going there again.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
oddwheel1, Owner at The Odd Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

firstly let me apologise for the experience you had on your visit.I have now assertained which day you came in and who the staff in question were.there is absolutley no excuse for rudeness and i have reprimanded both members of staff for there actions on...More

Reviewed 26 January 2020

Popped into this pub after a wet dog walk and were made to feel welcome. We were offer a place by the roaring fire and served drinks and food quickly. We had lovely food and service.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 January 2020

Walked into the bar of this pub and it was as if I had two heads looked like the locals and they certainly made me feel unwelcome wow went to bar miserable staff promptly walked out and will never step inside again it's as if...they don't want anyone but the locals well it certainly did the trick well done dont go there looks could kill!!!!!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 January 2020

Went here for lunch. They had a great set lunch menu which included meals from their specials board. We had three courses and all three were delicious. Really enjoyed it. Would definitely go again. It is also great to go for a drink in the...evenings, they have a juke box which is a nice touch a bit of what you fancy depending on the mood.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 December 2019 via mobile

My friends and I decided to have a pre Christmas reunion at The Odd Wheel as we had heard good things. One of my friends was at the bar ordering food so I decided to join them and order something for myself. When my friend...finished ordering her food and drinks from the lady behind the bar, who I later found out was the owner, she started serving someone else. Ignoring my existence. Which is of course fine, so I waited patiently for her return. When she was back I was aggressively asked "Do you want food?" Whilst taken aback by her tone I responded with "I was hoping for some yes". The response to that was a surprisingly lengthy rant about how I should have ordered with my friend and the processes she now has to go through to put the order in. While maintaining the same aggressive tone as before. When the rant was over I decided I'd lost my appetite and settled on having a coffee (which was nice by the way). I should say I did like the pub, the decor was charming, the atmosphere cosy, I'd really recommend it. Just thought I'd throw this review out there so the owner can think long and hard if the hospitality industry is for her. As someone who works in hospitality I do understand the stress. Doesn't validate the aggression. Happy holidays.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
oddwheel1, Owner at The Odd Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2019

Im sorry that you feel that i was rude to you but actually the pub was extremely busy and the kitchen was snowed under with orders your friends ordered some hallumi and quite a few drinks and you were with them at the bar so...More

Reviewed 11 December 2019

We’ve visited the pub lots of times and have always thoroughly enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The most recent visit was for a Christmas party. It was well organised, the food was fantastic and the service was fab. Thank you!!

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kitley House Hotel
658 reviews
3.70 km away
Boringdon Arms Bed & Breakfast
89 reviews
4.74 km away
Rose & Crown
111 reviews
5.72 km away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) hotel
1,732 reviews
6.14 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Dolphin Inn
68 reviews
2.74 km away
The Ship Inn
1,159 reviews
2.87 km away
The Foxhound Inn
250 reviews
3.42 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wembury Beach
307 reviews
.22 km away
Dragonfly Adventures
23 reviews
2.16 km away
Wembury Marine Centre
29 reviews
1.51 km away
Thorn House & Garden
21 reviews
1.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Escape56623285461
26 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Michael D | Reviewed this property |
Don't know the answer to that as we were all meat eaters.why not give them a call.
0
Votes
penny h
10 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Lalli | Reviewed this property |
Only in the bar but you can eat in there too.
1
Vote
Teresa T
6 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from oddwheel1 | Property representative |
Dogs are allowed in the bar side of the pub, we run a full menu that side of the pub also.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing