We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (318)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
118
71
52
38
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
118
71
52
38
36
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

So pleased to see The Estuary restaurant open for business, once again. This is a remarkable, scenic location just north of Hornsby on the Hawkesbury. We sat outside and thoroughly enjoyed our lunch....first class local oysters; tiger prawns to die for; the twice baked gruyere...souffle....followed by (mandatory!) Trio of ice cream. Sue Ellen, Ross and attentive team under Kelly's guidance do a great job. A 'not to be missed' experience for a visitor to Sydney, or for us 'locals' this is a regular for lunch, or morning coffee at the adjoining kiosk.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024

Came some years ago and had a fantastic experience. Sadly underwhelmed today. We were rushed from the get go and they were stacking chairs and suffocating us with spray and wipe 90 minutes later and hadn’t served dessert. Food poorly recommended, service was friendly but...when you order a $45 main you expect the entree plate to be cleared before the main is served. Food was average for its price and we were all left completely underwhelmed. Lovely location.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023

Avoid this restaurant. We waited so long for our order, almost an hour, to be told the order was not received by the kitchen. Terrible service!

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2023

Highly overpriced with terrible customer service. After spending nearly $100 for brunch between 3 of us, they will actually frown at you and tell you off for asking for extra spoons and forks. They think they own the scenery while not letting us go inside...but stay outside in the cold. What's the point of going there to spend money and ruin the mood? The amount of the food is very small for the price and the taste is below average. Don't be arrogant and rude to customers! Learn to be kind and nice to everyone who come to your kiosk/restaurant!!!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2022 via mobile

Gorgeous location but only operating as a kiosk from 8 still 3 pm, 5 days a week. What’s with that? No restaurant service. Just eating out of a cardboard box. A total waste of a fabulous venue. Owners should sell it to someone who can...do the place justice. It reeks of laziness and seems like such a shame. Great for cyclists or walkers and good for anyone just wanting a takeaway coffee. Beware - be sure to order before you use the toilets otherwise you will be denied entry. 😂😂More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2022

Grumpy rude old man with a beard (owner) insulted a customer within my hearing last time I visited kiosk. Also wouldn’t let a cyclist use the outside bathroom because he hadn’t bought a coffee. 🙄. Can’t stand that sort of pettiness. Bit off-putting. He must...have had an argument with his wife or something 😂😂More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2022

rubbish food, rubbish owner, rubbish attitude. Don't dare being a walk in! You'll be served last if at all.......

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2022 via mobile

...this has to be one of the greatest locations north of Sydney for the perfect breakfast. Great staff, excellent food and a stunning location. Congratulations to SueEllen, Ross, Dianne and the Estuary team.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2021

Overpriced dinner menu and poor quality food. No wonder they only open for dinner one night a week. Small portion sizes at ridiculous prices and left feeling completely ripped off and still hungry despite the $178 bill. What a joke.

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2021

Disapointing over rated. We had a table of 10. What a disappointment. No better than pub food. Beautiful spot. Push out the door & were turning the lights off @ 9pm on sat night. We spent over $1200 dollars. Never again

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?7  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2021

It was a very enjoyable lunch, despite dodgy weather! The service was impeccable, with kind, personable and professional staff, particularly Diane, our server. The food was delicious. I strongly recommend the salt and pepper calamari, cooked to perfection, and the delicious slow cooked beef rib.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2021

Have been here a couple of times …. Great service & great food with an amazing view. I had the crumbed snapper & it was delicious !!

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2021 via mobile

Have had a wonderful meal here last visit but menu has changed .... Great service from lovely ladies but a lump of dry shredded cabbage and heavily crumb style battered dry pieces of fish not worth $40 .... No apology as "other guests enjoyed it".....sadly won't be back... I'll go to the beautiful restaurants at the Spit.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?6  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2021

Great location and views. Very good food and service. Always love going to the Estuary - this was our 7th visit in 2 years.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2021

Had lunch here on 16/6/21 & what a treat! The front of house lady was friendly & welcoming. Delicious food & such a great outlook over the river, We had oysters to start…these were the freshest I’ve had! Barramundi cooked to perfection as were the...green veggies. Snapper & leek pie was also a big hit. We finished with a cheese plate which included delicious honeycomb. When we enquired if this honey was local, the chef came to our table to give us directions as to where we could buy some! Great service 😀More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Brooklyn Motel
96 reviews
2.56 km away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort
1,093 reviews
10.34 km away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
3,504 reviews
12.89 km away
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
272 reviews
13.43 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hawkesbury River Oyster Shed
37 reviews
1.59 km away
Lifeboat Seafood
213 reviews
2.64 km away
Pie in the Sky
156 reviews
3.63 km away
Dangar Island Depot
10 reviews
3.88 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Broken Bay Pearl Farm
123 reviews
1.52 km away
The Riverboat Postman
1,383 reviews
2.72 km away
Hawkesbury River Kayaks
237 reviews
2.91 km away
Holidays Afloat
98 reviews
1.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
joshuah006
12 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Pacific_business | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is outdoor seating and the fish and chips are excellent!
1
Vote
Sue P
30 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Meryl K | Reviewed this property |
Estuary's phone no. is 99857881. Best of luck. Meryl
0
Votes
freebirdy62
6 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Estuary R | Property representative |
Hi Christine, Thanks for your enquiry. Our mains are between $30 - $40 each and we cater to dietary requirements wherever possible. Bookings are preferred so we can ensure that we can give you your preferred seat. The... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ESTUARY RESTAURANT, Brooklyn - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Estuary Restaurant

Yes, Estuary Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Estuary Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4