We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Seagull

$$ - $$$Italian, Pizza,
10 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
+61 3 5952 3106
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“pasta” (31 reviews)
“curries” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Italian, Pizza, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
10 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looked at menu online and thought we'd hit the jackpot as my partner and I have very different tastes. Service was great with very personable waitress but the food was terrible. We ordered the Asian tasting plate which had dry and over cooked money bags,...More

Thank Kate H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After seeing the penguin parade, we stopped in Cowes for dinner. After skimming the menu of a few local restaurants, my partner and I settled on the Fat Seagull because they seemed to have the best range and we were amused by the name. We...More

Thank Kelis89
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After making an unexpected trip to Phillip Island I decided to have dinner with friends. We walked down the street and picked The Fat Seagull after reading the menu at the door. This place was very busy, yet service was quick and friendly. I ordered...More

Thank Jo B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was recently in Cowes for a reunion with my husband and a group of Vietnam Vets. Our evening functions were held at the Fat Seagull and I must say we were looked after very well for the 2 nights we all ate there. The...More

Thank helen k
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The pizzas here are very doughy, you cannot request a thin crust at all. The Greek salad is good and their soups taste like they are out of the tin.. I would and will be spending my money elsewhere...

Thank T C
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Food✔️ Service ✔️ Ambience ✔️ Cost ✔️ Nothing super special but it was pleasant. Great express menu - go here you won't be disappointed but give Isola a miss!

Thank Shontelle P
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Got takeaway to eat down by the water Husband had the marinara and garlic bread he really enjoyed it I had the fish, chips and salad delicious also got a slice of cheesecake that was very large slice very nice and lemon meringue pie yum,...More

Thank Doroton
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Doroton! Thank you from the whole team here at The Fat Seagull for taking the time to leave us such a kind review! It's always nice to know when we hit the mark and are able to provide the level of service and cuisine...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

My friends and I were really Hungary and we couldn't find a restaurant for dinner because they were all full, until we found this hidden gem. Fantastic!!! We were so Hungary when we walked in, then left very full and very happy.More

Thank AlanahAnderson23
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi AlanahAnderson23, How wonderful to see we were able to give you and your friends an enjoyable experience here with us! We're always happy to see when we have been able to provide a delicious dining experience for our guests, we're glad you found us...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Long weekend family stay. We wanted somewhere with variety. Got seated at 6.30pm waiter didn't come to until 6.55pm we ordered our meals with one child meal, the child meal arriving an hour later and our meals arriving nearly 2 hours later, bad service under...More

Thank Aurelia K
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Aurelia K, We were very disappointed to see that on this occasion we haven't lived up to our standard and had you leave unhappy - we would never intentionally want this to happen. The team here are always working hard to improve, and work...More

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Unique title and awesome tasting dish!!! Combination of kangaroo meat on skewers and emu and sage sausage....More

Thank Steve M
rob3922, Owner at The Fat Seagull, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Hi Steve M! Thanks for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your 'coat of arms' experience! We like to have some quirky and different meal options and it's lovely to see that you enjoyed this little gem. Hopefully, we can welcome...More

Nearby Restaurants
Pino's Trattoria
622 reviews
.08 km away
Isola di Capri
344 reviews
.05 km away
173 reviews
.03 km away
Pennylane Cafe Phillip Island Cowes Victoria
87 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cowes Bazaar and Gallery
24 reviews
.82 km away
Wildlife Coast Cruises
571 reviews
.12 km away
Exceptional Phillip Island Area Tours
65 reviews
.10 km away
Sup Wind Surf
19 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fat Seagull staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 24
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
10:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Phillip Island  >  Cowes
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5952 3106
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing