We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pizza, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cnr Thompson Ave & The Esplanade, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 5952 2060
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Came here with a local and my partner after having been here on another visit in January. Service was friendly and it was a perfect day weather wise. I really, really wanted the duck rolls but when I asked about the flathead and they said it was domestically sourced I had to have that. Really, really enjoyed the fish. Batter... More 

Helpful?
Thank ellee63
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely location for a pub which is probably more suited to the younger crowd rather than families. The young waitresses were nice and friendly and whilst three of our four meals were okay my chicken burger was warmish on the outside and stone cold in the middle. I told the waitress who said they had been busy and precooked a... More 

Helpful?
Thank 890sharon
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here for lunch and it was fairly busy and there was a bit of a line to order our food. The calamari salad was nice, and we have a lovely view of the beach from our seats.

Helpful?
Thank dulicieux
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food here is ok. Although the customer service is appalling. Took over an hour for our meals to be cleared from the table after requesting twice. We ate lunch here but came back for dinner and drinks later but nothing changed. Ordering food and drinks is met by bad attitude by the bar staff. No how are you? Just get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aussiebackpackers7
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice place for family meal generous portions and good variety. Service was excellent and only a short wait for meals.

Helpful?
Thank Nadine L
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic food, the share plates were amazing with the calamari and the duck parcels the pick of the bunch. Cocktails are very refreshing and it's all topped off with a great view of the bay

Helpful?
Thank jaycurtiseatmore
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. It really means a lot when someone takes the time to provide positive feedback and show their appreciation. Im really glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Outside area tables left with empty plates and glasses for a long time. More seagulls eating here than people with their deposits left on table. Ask for table to get cleaned and told not many people eat outside despite knives, forks, napkins etc bing on each table. Only cleans half table. Food ok but was viewing seagull droppings on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank John P
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

I will preface this review by stating that it was a very busy night on the island (7th Jan during kustomnats). We had a party of 16 and we were very appreciative that a table was created upstairs to accommodate us. Unfortunately the enjoyment stopped there. The drinks took forever and the meals were ordinary. The staff seemed very disinterested... More 

Helpful?
Thank gamma_C_69
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, First of all i I wish to express my disappointment that you had an unenjoyable experience with us, and appreciate your feedback on the reasons as to why. The upstairs dining room is a new addition this summer and as such we have experienced a few procedural teething problems that we have identified and rectified now. I appreciate... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Without a reservation, we were lucky to obtain the last available table for four at 615pm so we could leave in time for the penguin parade. Contrary to other reviews we found the food ok and service acceptable. The chicken in the salad was overcooked and dry. The only other negative was the quantity of the servings for the price,... More 

Helpful?
Thank RRY_11
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

We came to Phillip Island to fill in some time before going to a festival nearby and found this place out of pure fluke. Walked in was quite empty but were created straight away by a friendly waitress who seated us and took our orders straight away. Beautiful view from the dining area as well and the food came out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tilly E

Travellers who viewed Hotel also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 10 - USD 24
Cuisine
Bar, Pizza, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Thompson Ave & The Esplanade, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Phillip Island  >  Cowes
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5952 2060
Description
Hotel is Phillip Island's premier Bar, with great food, amazing cocktails and even better music!Eat, drink and enjoy the atmosphere of our street-side licensed areas or the intimacy of our courtyard and deck.Pizza at Hotel is the place to go for traditional and gourmet pizza, whether in-house, take-away or delivered to your door. Open til 2:30am Fri & Sat nights.Friday and Saturday, Hotel Phillip Island is the regions’ only late night venue. Party with our resident DJ's as well as internationally renowned special guests.From lunch until late, you will always find a vibrant and friendly atmosphere at Hotel Phillip Island.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hotel and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?