We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lone Pine Bistro

$$ - $$$, ,
225-243 Thompson Ave | Phillip Island RSL, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
+61 3 5952 1004
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good36%
  • Average19%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“corned beef” (7 reviews)
“porterhouse” (4 reviews)
“curry” (4 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Australian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
225-243 Thompson Ave | Phillip Island RSL, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food at great prices and always good to support the RSL. Its a great venue and has heaps of parking.

Thank Jacques196810
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Very impressed by the building and the venue and the greeting upon arrival - but that's where it all stopped. My husband ordered the 300g RUMP steak with 'mustard SAUCE' and veggies and I ordered the gummy shark with chips and salad. Upon receiving our...More

Thank bcaccaviello
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We take constructive criticism seriously and do follow through with genuine complaints such as yours. After discussion with staff, it sounds like it was a communication problem. We have mustard sauce available as well as mustard pots. Had you asked...More

Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

It’s hard to go wrong at this RSL bistro Meals were large and very tasty Roast lamb was melt in the mouth tender Great choice of children’s meals and a kids play area to keep them occupied

Thank Jesswakeling
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Hubby said.. “give it a go, it’s an RSL they should be to a standard” - that’s what he said the second time we were here and my meal was bad then... oh well, it was late, he was hungry and we wanted somewhere we...More

Thank 2_macks
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to our venue. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations and surprised that you did not advise our bistro staff of your specific issues on the day. Had you done so we may have...More

Reviewed 16 April 2018

The extensive menu at the RSL offers plenty of choices, from expensive to affordable fare. Our group of five was able to have a main each for under $100, so I'd call that good value. Drinks are not expensive, which is great. Everyone enjoyed his/her...More

Thank nocatnow
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for our 4 star review after visiting our venue in April. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable experience and found it to be good value for money. We hope that you will return again soon.

Reviewed 29 March 2018

Visited for dinner on Monday 26th February. This was our second visit and I must say we really enjoyed it. This time we dined inside and each of us had the seniors meals, great choice and generous portions. Recommend you give them a try.

1  Thank Michael-4551
Maxine S, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thanks Michael for your fabulous five star review of our Lone Pine Bistro. We are pleased that we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Basic food with pretentious price... what they do here is undercook your schnitzel and cover it up with gravy. When the meal lands in front of you, you’ll be able to see the pale white crumb and sections that are burnt black. It tasted like...More

1  Thank Netty_Localist
Maxine S, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

We are disappointed to read your comments after your recent experience at the Lone Pine Bistro. Your parma certainly should not have arrived "burnt" - we are known for our parmas so we take on board your criticism which we would have liked to have...More

Reviewed 17 March 2018

We visit Cowes each year and wouldn't have a visit without having a meal at Cowes RSL. This year we found the meals as good as ever. I was however disappointed this time that the chicken kiev was not on the menu because other times...More

Thank gippyhippy
Maxine S, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful five star review after your visit to our venue last month. We agree, we love the chicken kiev which is our General Manager's favourite too. Weekends, public holidays and school holidays are always busy but we still endeavour to ensure...More

Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We had a nice meal at Lone Pine. The kids playground is a real bonus, the food is standard RSL food.

Thank SageSads
Maxine S, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your recent review of our Lone Pine Bistro - we appreciate receiving a 4 star review and pleased that your family enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 26 February 2018

Visited on Saturday 24th February for dinner. We were visiting Phillip Island for a short break and decided to visit the RSL for dinner. It was very busy and we had not booked but they managed to get us a table on The Terrace. There...More

1  Thank Michael-4551
Maxine S, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you Michael for you wonderful review. We are glad you had such an enjoyable experience, and yes, we were busy being Superbikes weekend. The Terrace is our new over 18's tapas bar where you can enjoy a pre dinner drink and tapas before dining...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Phillip Island
Arthur Phillip Motor Inn
78 reviews
.43 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
1,060 reviews
1.02 km away
Tropicana Motor Inn
255 reviews
1.38 km away
Coachman Motel
189 reviews
1.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Island Whole Foods
102 reviews
1.42 km away
Cafe Lugano
153 reviews
1.42 km away
Bani's kitchen
60 reviews
1.44 km away
Nordic Kantine
57 reviews
1.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Phillip Island Wildlife Park
472 reviews
1.16 km away
Cowes Bazaar and Gallery
33 reviews
.81 km away
Grumpys Crazy Golf
18 reviews
.87 km away
Island E-Bike Hire
20 reviews
.98 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Robyn-Ann18
20 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Christine M | Reviewed this property |
The menu is fairly standard with usually two fish dishes a daily roast some pasta, steaks and generally a curry. There is one soup of the day which varies and a limited dessert menu with things like sticky date pudding. It's... More
0
Votes
Allan P
4 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from PhillipIslandRSL | Property representative |
Hi Alan. Thnx for your enquiry. We look forward to welcoming you to our club in October but agree with the others, it's best to avoid Grand Prix weekend. We have a bus group menu which provides a three way drop of roast... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 26
Cuisine
Bar, Australian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
9:00 am - 12:30 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 225-243 Thompson Ave | Phillip Island RSL, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Phillip Island  >  Cowes
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5952 1004
  • E-mail
Description
Our goal is to provide you the best possible service, quality food and beverage products within a warm welcoming atmosphere. Located at the gateway to Cowes venue features modern comfortable surrounds with a great range of food and entertainment options.Our 220 seat dining area features an alfresco balcony; highly visible children's play room and a fantastic value for money menu at affordable prices. Gluten free options as well as kids and seniors menus are available. Our wine list features the best of our local wineries along with a great range of Australian favourites and quality house wines.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing