We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tides Waterfront Dining

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Seafood, Australian, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Esplanade | Bulcock Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
+61 7 5438 2304
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 17:00 - 20:30
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
Fri - Sat 17:30 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 418: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had Sunday lunch at Tides. The view over Pumistone passage and the beach and water was wonderful on a warm sunny day. The staff were attentive and the service timely. We opted for the lunch package which was 2 courses for $39. Entree of Harvey scallops were not available but there was no alternative offered which just left two... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue65H
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Sunset was breathtaking but that is where it ends. Staff were very friendly and professional but the price of food compared to "fine dining" portions were overrated. Really disappointed with paying $38 for a piece of overcooked barramundi and 3 clams. Hubby orders pork belly and got 4 little squares on his plate. Not worth it. Sorry.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
Michael M, Manager at Tides Waterfront Dining, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. As always, it is disappointing to hear when guests don't enjoy their evening. Thank you for letting me know you didn't think your portion sizes where big enough, while i agree we are not a place that will load up a plate with unnecessary items, each... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We sampled few entrees and they were magnificent! The oysters were as fresh as you get. Service was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Kane B
Caboolture, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited twice during our recent stay in Caloundra. It was very busy on Friday night but still no problem with getting a drink or ordering food. Good value on Tuesday night with the Pasta blackboard special just $11. It must have also been happy hour as a schooner of Guiness was $4.00. With live music friendly staff and good... More 

Helpful?
Thank 338mals
Mungindi, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The service here is prompt, friendly and polite. The view is breathtaking and the food is devine. The seafood was cooked to perfection. The sides are simple and packed with flavor. Highly recommend a visit for a great dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank littlebluemailbox
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What eating out is all about, defiantly not one to miss. Amazing food, views and brilliant service. Having owned 2 restaurants myself, the owner here know what he or she is doing.

Helpful?
Thank Jasper S
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Restaurant has a high level of food options. Everything we ordered was brilliantly cooked. Good options for most tastes. Excellent service and choice of wine. Great atmosphere for couples.

Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel C
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was very disappointing. The arancini did not taste good and the prawn cakes seemed to be like frozen catered food. The 'crispy' pork belly was not crispy at all, it was chewy. Not at all worth the exceptionally high prices they charge. The service was average. The waitress brought us the wrong wine the first time, and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank M T
Michael M, Manager at Tides Waterfront Dining, responded to this review

Hi M T Thank you for letting us know about your experience at Tides. It was disappointing to hear we didn't meet your expectations. While i can assure you none of of food is frozen, and everything is made here at the restaurant. If you had told your waitress your pork belly wasn't crispy, it would have immediately been fixed... More 

Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Came here on a Monday and it was pretty quiet. However we still had really good service and the food was lovely. We both had the 2 course special and enjoyed Scallops followed by Steak, for the wife and Spaghetini for me. Nice. Best we've been to in Caloundra.

Helpful?
Thank Andy B
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

My Husband and I are extremely impressed by the food, ambience and service we received from the staff at Tides. Well recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Kellee1981

Travellers who viewed Tides Waterfront Dining also viewed

 
Dicky Beach, Caloundra
 

Been to Tides Waterfront Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 38
Cuisine
Seafood, Australian, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Esplanade | Bulcock Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Sunshine Coast  >  Caloundra
  • Phone Number: +61 7 5438 2304

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tides Waterfront Dining and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Mackay, Australia
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Tides Waterfront Dining staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?