We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Italian, Pizza, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene
About
JUSTIN LANE ESTABLISHMENT HAS MANY UNIQUE FACETS INCLUDING A ROOFTOP BAR / PIZZERIA / PASTA BAR/ TAKEAWAY & DELIVERIES AND FUNCTION VENUE LOCATED IN THE HEART OF BURLEIGH HEADS. We are open Monday to Thursday from 5pm and Friday, Saturday, Sunday from Midday. Our philosophy at Justin Lane is to do things simply but exceptionally well. With our unique location in the heart of Burleigh and menus that incorporate fresh local produce and ingredients, as well as our strong emphasis on quality service by our friendly staff, you can be assured that the team at Justin Lane will bring together a unique dining experience that you and your guests will remember for years to come.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Australian
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (869)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveller rating
383
254
83
57
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
383
254
83
57
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza salad the gold coast jl banquet vibe toppings burleigh crust
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 18 January 2024

JLs used to be a fun night out or place to grab dinner. Used to be $40, but they’ve bumped their prices up to $55 per head for some fairly standard pizza and pasta. If people don’t show up, they charge you for the extra...people even though the amount of food served is the same. Bare in mind, this was a rather quiet Thursday night with only a few people in here. Staff were very rude, not a nice environment to be, they look like they don’t want to be there. It’s all about the money now, many better places to eat. Definitely would not go here as a group again. Charged us $605 for some basic starters, 3 pizzas and 2 pastas, and that doesn’t even include drinks..More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Horrible. They didn’t let me sit down and eat my food because of my skin colour and they were really prejudice towards me. Will not be going back anytime soon.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin lane, Owner at Justin Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Hi, We take issues of this nature very seriously and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you further. We don't endorse or support any discriminatory behaviour in our venues. Please reach out to us - eat@justinlane.com.au with some further information (date + time...More

Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

Went to the bar, apparently pushed in, got served but the person next to me had umbrage and preceded to start a verbal -the bartender (couldn’t be more than 25 years) decided I wasn’t acting kindly as I told the person I was here first...and they were next - no rude words spoken. The other person was the antagonist yet the bar tender decided to verbal me and give them their drinks - even though she served me first….even though she thought I was first! Another patron reminded me about the $1000 fine I could receive for arguing with a bar tender. What a woke, juvenile establishment! What a bunch of snowflakes - world has gone mad with empty vessels!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin lane, Owner at Justin Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Hi Mate, Our rooftop bar can get a little loud and crowded and this can sometimes create misunderstandings for both our staff and patrons. We're sorry to hear you had an experience that seems to be a byproduct of this. We aim to treat everyone...More

Reviewed 24 August 2023 via mobile

Great spot in Burleigh, so nice sitting up on the top deck overlooking the ocean for lunch. I had the prawn spaghetti which was delicious.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eat Eat, General Manager at Justin Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2023

Hey! Thanks for taking the time to make a 5-star review! So glad to hear you enjoyed our rooftop bar, the prawn spaghetti is the perfect pairing with an ocean view. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon. JL Management, Lilly

Reviewed 16 August 2023

Great pizza with quality ingredients on a thin base. Ideal for vegetarians or those who don't like too much meat. They use leg ham on their pizza, not the processed stuff.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin lane, Owner at Justin Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Hi, Thanks so much for your review, we endeavour to use premium products across the board. Unfortunately this does often come with slightly higher prices but we hope that our discerning customer base find this to be of value. Regards, Justin JL Management

Reviewed 5 August 2023 via mobile

I have going to Justin lane since2011. It is still one of my favourite places for Pizza in GC. Tonites experience was ordinary with a burnt pizza, which appeared to be reheated on second thought. One of the reason why i dont mind spending $28...a pizza is that u can expect quality and consistency. I might have had a fight with my partner n this pizza wd have destroyed everything. I still wanna believe in it n tats why i gave 3 stars. Hopefully a better pizza next time.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin lane, Owner at Justin Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2023

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening. We hope you can give us anohter chance to redeem ourselves and our pizzas! JL Management Hannah

Reviewed 17 March 2023 via mobile

My wife and I decided to try this place for an evening meal. Pleasant staff showed us to our table. Atmosphere was quite nice. Asked for the bruschetta starter and then for main course a pizza as well as pasta. The bruschetta starter was brought...out and wasn’t what we were expecting. It was huge but basically mountains of tomatoes with cheese and basil. Not quite our preference as was a little bit wet and overwhelming with large tomato pieces - it was basically more of a salad with a little bit of bread underneath. Our mains arrived a few minutes after the starter so we had barely had a mouthful of our starter. Would have been better if as we had asked, the main course had come out once we had finished out starter and had a short gap. We left our starter instead as main was sitting on the table. My pizza was a little bit overdone for my preference. The pasta was okay but average. Staff not quite as attentive to customers as I think they should be. We found it hard to get any attention after the mains arrived (with our starter). They were all extremely nice and pleasant though and probably just need a bit of guidance from a manager.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2023 via mobile

Food was no good Chilli Prawn Pasta had two small prawns and pasta was dry and sticky. Pizza had nothing on it dry and tastelessMore

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin l, Owner at Justin Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2023

Hi Mark, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so disappointed to hear that you found our dishes substandard. This is obviously not the quality product that we pride ourselves on! We have communicated with the kitchen team...More

Reviewed 23 January 2023 via mobile

Busy popular restaurant right in all the action of Burleigh heads. We were shown to our table and the waitress was very attentive throughout our meal. Considering how busy it was our food came out pretty quickly and we all enjoyed our mix of pizzas...and pasta meals. The deserts were great too. It is quite expensive but we all had a great meal and enjoyed the atmosphereMore

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin l, Owner at Justin Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2023

Hi James! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your JL experience :) Hope to see you in again soon! Cheers, Jamie JL Management

Reviewed 2 January 2023

Loved the cruisey vibe, views of the beach and hustle and bustle of Burleigh, pizza was the best I'd had in a LONG time. Unfortunately the staff lets the whole place down. Not one of them was at all interested in being there. I had...to clear my own table to sit down and notice other patrons doing the same. The staff were too busy congragrating with each other around the bar. Once we finished our pizza no body took our plates away. Had to again tidy up around me so we could sit and have another wine - sans dirty plates. I realise there is a massive staff shortage, but these staff need a boot up the backside - and a bomb under them!More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin l, Owner at Justin Lane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2023

Hi there, We apologize for the inconvenience we caused you and your guests, and we thank you for being patient with us as this is one of the busiest times of the year! However, we are stoked to hear you enjoyed our venue and the...More

Reviewed 17 December 2022

Never ask for a refund for food in Australia until tonight. Pretentious Italian style pizza where the shredded cheese is burned and dry and the pizza taste just not good.27$ for a vegetarian pizza that is burned and dry it’s in my opinion unacceptable.

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2022 via mobile

The pizza was dry, tasteless crap overpriced. Will never go back again in my life time. So disappointed with the restaurant, I would not even call it a restaurant. Uncomfortable, seating, and very uncomfortable temperature. Waste of everybody’s time. A waste off $350

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2022

Left this restaurant so unhappy. The service was slow. The pizza was the most horrible pizza I have ever had - and my partner loves pizza. It was so dry and flavourless. Expensive for the food. The menu sounded delicious but the food was not...good at all. Caprese salad was one tomato sliced with 3 basil leaves and 4 dots of cheese on top. This is not a Caprese salad. $25 for a tomato is ridiculous! Will NEVER return to this restaurant. Will never advise anyone to go here. Have been on the gold coast for my whole life and this is the worst rip off of all time. Foul food. Bad aircon. We told the girl before we paid that the meal was terrible and she seemed disinterested.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2022 via mobile

Amazing food and atmosphere! Staff amazing especially Campbell well done to him for an amazing job! Will return soon.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2022

I would not return here again purely because of the rude staff. The manager especially was quite disgusting with his comments. While the venue may be confident they don’t need to provide good experiences to all given how busy they can become, they are sorely...mistaken as word of mouth (especially between influential groups) can spread like wildfire and it may not be immediate but with the rise of better venues, more choices, JL - you will be left behind. We arrived for a bday dinner, I came late and was waved through by a staff member at the door as my group had only just walked in. I went up the “wrong” stairs as no one directed me but also, there was NO sign displayed to not use the stairs I came up. Upon arriving at the top the awful manager harassed me about walking up the stairs and telling me I ignored the sign clearly displayed which it was not and openly said so. He began hounding me the entire walk to my table which was led by myself given he would not help me, saying that I must have snuck in and repeatedly asking who let me in, and knowing that the staff had clearly done me a Favour at the door now, I wasn’t going to mention who it was and get them into trouble after how horrid the manager was. I felt completely verbally harassed by this terrible guy in a blue shirt. I could quite literally report the behaviour to authorities as he was completely in my face. I just agreed im the send that I must have just snuck in and didn’t read the sign because he would not leave me alone and upon leaving is aw they’d stuck a sign in front of the stairs saying not to go up. Complete eyeroll. Our group also chose to leave almost immediately after the way we were being treated at the table as soon as we got there. We had one extra person and they were adamant they wouldn’t serve us because the family style bench table was not made for 9 people and had the family of 5 next to us say they did not care at all as there was so much space. Purely disgusting experience and will not be recommendingJL ever again. Big mistake with the people in our group.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Burleigh Break
21 reviews
.97 km away
Mariner Shores Resort & Beach Club
219 reviews
1.56 km away
Outrigger Burleigh
141 reviews
1.62 km away
Sunshine Beach Motel
125 reviews
2.14 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rabbath
459 reviews
.07 km away
Jimmy Wah's
484 reviews
.06 km away
Osteria Del Mare
105 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Burleigh Heads Beach
1,747 reviews
.68 km away
Burleigh Head National Park
497 reviews
.70 km away
Burleigh Market
86 reviews
.37 km away
John Laws Park
32 reviews
.58 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
346lesleyg
3 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Justin l | Property representative |
Hi Lesley, Apologies for the delay in replying. Justin Lane's pizza bases and pastas can all be made gluten free.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

JUSTIN LANE, Burleigh Heads - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Justin Lane

Yes, Justin Lane offers takeaway services.

Yes, Justin Lane offers delivery services.

Justin Lane is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4