We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitized menus
  • Contactless ordering
Read more
Updated 30/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cupitt's Kitchen
Updated 30/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
There is nothing like a long lunch surrounded by green rolling hills, blue skies and great service. Or a special dinner for two, or four, or twelve, or more, featuring great food, great wine and great conversation. Our award-winning Cupitt's Kitchen offers seasonal food with traditional French and English influences. Locally made wine and beer feature on our wine list. We use fresh local produce and follow the philosophies of the Slow Food Movement, believing that dining should be a source of pleasure. Rosie Cupitt is the Leader for Slow Food Shoalhaven. The restaurant is located in the heart of Cupitt's Winery, and combines rustic stone walls with contemporary design for a comfortable, sophisticated
PRICE RANGE
USD 16 - USD 66
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
French, British, Australian
FEATURES
Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Gift Cards Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
264
91
41
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
264
91
41
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch beef cheeks snapper cheese plate panna cotta scones pizza wine tasting cellar door rolling hills south coast great setting beautiful location take home vineyard cupitts valley
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

This venue is incredibly popular. I assume this is due to the setting, the casual dining options and the live music. We had lunch in the fine dining restaurant where there is a tasting menu at $85 a head. The first offering was 2 little...choux pastries each with a spoonful of pickled celery on the side . T his was followed by two petite cooked baby carrots each. The next offering was one quarter of warm avocado each, topped with a tablespoon of "brandade ' of smoked ocean trout. The following course was a tartare of beetroot and kangaroo. If there was any kangaroo meat present it was extremely difficult to detect. There was a tiny sprinkling of grated cured egg yolk on top which was tasteless. Next followed 2 slices of pork belly (maybe 70 grams in total) for one of us, while the other had the vegetarian alternative . This was constituted by two tiny slices of cooked pumpkin and a quarter of a baby beetroot. The desert was the best course comprising a compressed melon salad with a cucumber and mint gel. We enjoy tasting menus share plates and innovative dishes. However this meal was extraordinarily poor value. The food was quite well executed but completely unexceptional. The ingredients were inexpensive and the dishes well within the competence of any home cook. The servings were very small (although we didn't leave hungry). The staff made us feel that we were being hurried. The shared plates were removed the second we had served ourselves and sometimes while there was still food on the plate. In summary we were very disappointed by the lack of creativity, the ordinariness of the dishes and the stinginess of the servings. A couple of nights ago we ate at another fine dining restaurant in Mollymook. Despite its reputation for being expensive, it was cheaper than Cupitts, the food was excellent, and the complexity and quality of the ingredients, sauces and accompaniments beyond reproach. Cupitts may be a great place for a cheese platter and a beer, but dont go there for fine dining.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Libby C, Public Relations Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Vanessa, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I’m so sorry about you did not enjoy our Tasting menu. I can assure you we do put a lot of thought into the menu trying to offer something unique, innovative and delicious and...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

A beautiful view across the hills and vineyard toward a lake in the distance. However the ambiance slipped a bit once we were seated...a sticky table but it looked clean so maybe the tables need a re-furbishment? Another review mentioned this - so not a...good look/feel at start. Menu also reminded us of large work conference dinners we’ve attended or average wedding food ie most dishes are pre-prepared and nothing out of the ordinary considering the price. The staff were pleasant and attentive. To sum up, we were disappointed as for a similar price, we’ve had so much better elsewhere in the Milton/Mollymook region.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Libby C, Public Relations Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our tasting menu. We aim to deliver a great menu that is far from food from a conference. We are sorry it missed the mark for you, we do change the menu fortnightly if you...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

A great place to share some food, taste some wine, beer or enjoy a cocktail. The view on The Deck was amazing, the food even better. We shared the fried cauliflower, eastern chicken wings and grazing platter.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Libby C, Public Relations Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our casual menu, cocktails and view. We hope to see you back at Cupitt's in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We did wine tasting and lunch here. My hubby and I were on an overnight get away. They were very accommodating as we didn't have a lunch booking but they found us one. The pizza was one of the best I have had and the...cheese platter with their onsite made cheese was so good.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Libby C, Public Relations Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I’m thrilled to hear that you had one of the best pizzas ever! What a compliment. We take a lot of pride in what we make here so thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed it. It means a ton...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were regulars at Cupitts and loved the a la carte menu , the views and the attentive staff However since the new degustation menu , we are extremely disappointed The tables were sticky ( and not clean) and the waitress was spraying tables with...cleaning products while we were eating . If you can smell the cleaning solution you can absorb it into your body ( not appropriate whilst eating or food being served ) The health department would not be happy either !!! Limited choice of menu ( no red meat ) Food had been prepared hours before and the salad greens were dry and bitter Our waitress was taking our plates away before we had finished and didn’t look happy ( no smile or conversation) Luckily the wine snd beer were lovely although over priced. We realise that it’s unprecedented times with COVid and this style of eating is cost effective for management but really disappointed in the quality of food and hoping the a la carte menu returns soon Catering for the tourists and quick turnover Very disappointing dining experienceMore

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Libby C, Public Relations Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi John, I appreciate your honest feedback here, and I’m sorry we let you down. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy the menu and we are taking immediate action to resolve the tables. I want you to know that we value your business,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A little off the beaten track but stunning views. We had lunch on The Lawn. Great food. The cheese board was fantastic. Good beer and good cocktails. Friendly service. Great spot.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Libby C, Public Relations Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, We appreciate the kind words! I’m thrilled to hear that you loved the food particularly the cheeseboard and the beer and cocktails. It’s always humbling to hear how our customers’ enjoyed their visit. Thanks for the review!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic fixed menus with attentive knowledgeable staff. There is currently a set degustation menu with generous sizes provided due to Covid 19. It showcased fantastic food and took best advantage of their onsite garden. Highlights of the meal include cured ocean trout, sweet tender Barramundi...and slow-cooked Wagyu brisket. The dessert of compressed watermelon with Rosie’s Rose syrup with passion fruit, meringue and pistachio soil. The food was complemented by well matched local wines. It was a wonderful meal which caters well when needed for those with dietary needs. Catalina who served us was knowledgeable and provided excellent explanations and recommendations for wines. A fantastic evening.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
SouthCoastLibby, Guest Relations Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the lovely review of our food and service. We are very appreciative you took the time to share your experience and our team were delighted to read your comments. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have dined at Cupitt’s Kitchen 3 times and each time has been superb! Cupitt’s have a set sharing menu but are happy to accomodate to dietary requirements (let them know when booking!). Their menu is exquisite and absolutely delicious. The food tastes fresh and...vibrant; it is like I can taste every single flavour in a dish. The restaurant also is sustainable, sourcing and using ingredients from the estate and gardens which is really amazing. The smoked fetta crispbread and cured ocean trout were highlights of my recent dining experience. Waiting staff have always been lovely and provide extremely hospitable service. Their beverage recommendations have always been really wonderful and the staff have a great knowledge of the food and drink offered. It’s always a delight to return and dine at Cupitt’s. I’d recommend booking ahead if you would like to dine here, as reservations get filled quickly.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
SouthCoastLibby, Guest Relations Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your frequent dining at our restaurant. We are so pleased you love it and really appreciate the review and recommendation. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed 15 January 2021 via mobile

We’ve been here before & loved it. This time we chose the casual dining option on the lawns as the weather was perfect. We were impressed with the online table ordering & payment system, very easy & efficient. We ordered the Grazing Platter - very...disappointing. It was $46 & the majority of the board was biscuits & bread. There was only 2 slices of salami & 2 of prosciutto- very unsatisfactory. I believe the paltry nature of the platter did not match the price and Cupitt’s could easily add additional items/quantities of food, in a more generous manner while still retaining their profit margin.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?3  
SouthCoastLibby, General Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

We are sorry you were disappointed with the Grazing platter we are reviewing the contents to improve on the offering. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

We chose to go to Cupitts without the kids whilst holidaying in Mollymook! We chose the 4 course menu and were not disappointed. The food was mouth watering . The dessert wine was amazing and service impeccable.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
SouthCoastLibby, General Manager at Cupitt's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

Thank you for your lovely, warm review we are very grateful and hope to see you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mollymook Ocean View Motel
61 reviews
2.47 km away
Mollymook Seascape Motel
103 reviews
2.52 km away
Mollymook Motel
23 reviews
2.55 km away
Dolphins Mollymook
116 reviews
2.91 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Dosa Hut
5 reviews
2.27 km away
Milk Haus
167 reviews
2.60 km away
The Treehouse Cafe
168 reviews
2.82 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cupitt's Estate
379 reviews
.01 km away
Mollymook Golf Club
347 reviews
3.07 km away
Gondwana Coast Fossil Walk
34 reviews
3.60 km away
Goddess Health & Wellness Day Spa
24 reviews
3.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
carmencorns
23 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Libby C | Property representative |
Yes, we are pet-friendly. We can accommodate you and your dog out on the lawn and have a number of water bowls around the space. You can dine from our casual menu outside. Alternatively, if you were wanting to dine in the a... More
1
Vote
Juliellen K
30 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Libby C | Property representative |
Hi Yes we do. The majority of our a la carte menu and casual menu is gluten free. we can provide gluten free bread and gluten free bases for pizza.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing