We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
156
137
41
33
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
156
137
41
33
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza steak pub food great pub blue mountains dining room is great meal wednesday night generous servings wait staff alexandria bistro fires railway fireplace
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 June 2021

We dined there on 12/6/21. Although staff were friendly, the waitress we had was not professional. My partner ordered a bottle of wine, clearly saying which Pinot Noir and region. The waitress brought out a bottle of wine, opened and poured two glasses of wine...and placed the bottle on the table and walked away. We were shocked she hadn't even showed us the bottle of wine before opening. We both looked and noticed it was not the Pinot Noir we order and called her back to tell her so. Her response was "there was no more of that Pinot Noir and this was another one" My partner said that may be, but you should have at least told us there was none of the wine anymore we ordered and given us a chance to order a different wine. The waitress unfortunately did not apologise and offered just to charge us for the two glasses of wine or half off the bottle of wine. We just said don't worry about it, we will drink it.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Anna C, Owner at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Hi there, we are very sorry you had this experience. Thank you for the feedback - will definitely speak to our about this.

Reviewed 4 June 2021

Stopped for lunch on the way to Orange. Two delicious pizza’s and coffee. Better than anything we can get locally in Sydney.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Anna C, Owner at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

We are so glad you enjoyed it! See you again soon!

Reviewed 13 May 2021

Unexpectedly delicious food - well worth a visit - and the wood fired pizzas are incredible! If you're in the Blue Mountains/Leura, you should go. Great for functions too.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Anna C, Owner at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 29 April 2021

We booked for dinner on Anzac Day, a week later we would told that the dining room was actually going to be closed, no problem we could still order from the kitchen and dine in the pub. When we got there, settled in and got...a menu, we actually found out quite by accident, that the pub was closing at 6pm, last drinks at 5.30! We were left scrambling to find somewhere to eat, a lot of places were fully booked. Luckily a local Indian restaurant managed to fit us in.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Anna C, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

We are so sorry you had this experience! We pride ourselves on looking after our customers, and clearly failed in this instance! Would you please send me an email to discuss further? anna@catandfiddle.com.au

Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

Great old pub, great atmosphere, great food , bar manager was a top bloke sar around the fire we had a great night

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Anna C, Owner at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing hit again soon.

Reviewed 13 April 2021

Booked at table Friday night prior to Easter weekend for 3 Adults and 2 children. My birthday. Arrived and the managed pointed to the table and said " that is yours". Strange ? Once seated we waited 20 minutes to place an order for drinks....Drinks arrived 10 minutes latter. Meanwhile a group of 18 were gathering on the large table next to us. Finally we served by a waiter who only started that night, we were advised. Ordered our meals and said to the waiter "could the kids meals come out with the entrees please". Waited 20 minutes and my entrée of Gallic prawns came out. No other entrees or kids meals were served at this time. Cut first prawn, cooked. Second prawn was slightly cooked and third prawn RAW. Sent meal back. Went to the main bar for drinks, whilst I was still at the bar another waiter came back to our table and said " the Chief said that you have eaten all the meal" ! Waited another 20 minutes to be advised what was happening. Nothing !! The waiter then came out with Three main meals and commenced to serve and place these on the other table of 18 people. The manager behind the bar came running out shouting "Wrong table" ! Then picked up the meals and served them to us. Tried to start to eat and I had No cutlery or steak knife, asked the manager and waited another 5 minutes for them. The hamburger then arrived and was totally wrong. Sent it back. Commenced to cut the steak, Ordered medium /rare. It was RAW and COLD ! The parmigiana and chips for our friend was also COLD. Sent them back and asked to talk to the manager. "Too busy now" was the reply. I spoke to the manager in the side room after persuading him too address the situation. He offered to supply Pizza now. I said " No". 1 1/2 hours have now passed. The replacement Hamburger now came out. Our entrees never arrived nor did my wife's main meal or our other daughters meal. Our daughter cut into the replacement hamburger and the meat pattie was RAW ! The look of disappointment on her face was enough for me. I stood up and advised the manager behind the bar we were leaving. Offered to pay for the initial drinks and he said " don't worry". We left hungry and disappointed. The other group of 18 had still not received their meals and witness the whole event. I have been to this restaurant several times, 4 years ago and the food was good. I we all live in the local area and would "DEFINATLY NEVER EAT THERE AGAIN" !More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Anna C, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

We are so sorry you had this experience. We are very disappointed that we failed to make you feel welcome and looked after on your recent visit! Would you kindly email me anna@catandfiddle.com.au to discuss further?

Reviewed 7 April 2021

I booked a table for 4 adults, 5 kids and a baby for Easter Sunday Lunch. It was far from the quality we expected. 2 of the 5 children ordered pizza, this came about 40 mins after we ordered. The 2 kids had finished their...pizza by the time the next meals arrived which were 2 spatchcocks for the 2 adults. We asked where the other 3 meals for the children were (which were all fish and chips), and we were told they were just battering the fish. The Steak for my husband came next, he asked for rare, but he steak was completely RAW. He had to send it back, and when it came back to the table, none of the accompanying food came (not the butter or veg, just the steak). By this time the 3 kids meals still hadn't come. We had been in the restaurant for 1 hour and 10mins at the stage. We saw many people come after us and be served their meals which was really disappointing. Finally the fish and chips came to the table for the kids, and 2 of the 3 fish were completely RAW, and my husband had to stop the kids from eating this and sent it back. It was the most disappointing meal we have had in our lives, and it was meant to be a lovely Easter Sunday Lunch with friends. The manager was apologetic, but all he did was take the 5 kids meals price off the bill, and then he offered ice cream to the kids, and when we got our bill the ice cream was on the bill! We asked for that to be taken off also. We were at the restaurant for over 2 hours, waiting mostly for the meals to be cooked, out of 9 meals, 4 were raw, meat and fish. We were still charged for the 4 adult meals and all the drinks we had, and to be honest after the experience we had had, this was a lot of $$ to spend on a terrible experience. We paid $200 - which was 4 adult meals and 8 drinks. To be completely honest, it should have all been free after the dreadful experience we had at the Alexandra hotel.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
Anna C, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

We are very sorry you had this experience. We pride ourselves on our food and service and obviously failed to deliver in this instance! Would you kindly email me anna@catandfiddle.com.au to discuss further?

Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely meal over the Easter weekend in the restaurant. The menu is extensive and my teenage kids enjoyed the pizzas. Although the restaurant was busy, the staff were helpful.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Anna C, Owner at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! See you again soon.

Reviewed 18 March 2021

A few groups of us went with our kids yesterday to bid farewell to a local family who are moving to Europe. When we entered the bar there was only 1 person there sitting far away from where we all sat, the bar was totally...empty as it was about 3:30pm. The atmosphere of the pub was unwelcoming of our families the moment we got there and at one point a senior male staff member, who didn’t even introduce himself came over and barked at me very aggressively that I must “control my children at all times”. His tone was highly inappropriate and absolutely miserable. I am 6mths pregnant and sitting down and he was leaning over towards my face talking AT me in an extremely unkind and very heated manner. What’s confusing is that the 6 kids that were within our families had been outside for about 35 minutes by that point with the 3 fathers of the group, and when asked if that was appropriate the male staff member said yes outside is fine. They had been loud and excited inside when we first arrived, and we quickly realised that it was too loud and inappropriate so the dads went outside with them, where it was cold and raining but of course that was the only choice. It’s ok to communicate that when inside the kids must be quieter, what’s not ok is how he communicated it with such aggression and anger, it was utterly disappointing and unnecessary.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Anna C, General Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

We are very sorry to hear you had this experience. We have had discussions with our staff about their customer service and hope to do better next time.

Reviewed 1 March 2021

This is just a great pub all round. Gardens are dog friendly, proper pub feel, Good Friday night vibes. There are two menus, one that is just your regular hearty pub grub, and the other which is a bit fancier (which is quite expensive), so...caters to everyone.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Blue Mountains Gday Motel
45 reviews
1.18 km away
Alpine Motor Inn
281 reviews
1.26 km away
Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
711 reviews
1.31 km away
Nesuto Leura Gardens Hotel
747 reviews
1.63 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Madame Wang's Restaurant
93 reviews
.12 km away
Lily's Pad
470 reviews
.37 km away
Polar Bear of Leura
193 reviews
.26 km away
Red Door Cafe
582 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Blue Mountains
1,915 reviews
1.14 km away
Leura Cascades
450 reviews
1.29 km away
Everglades House & Gardens
387 reviews
1.40 km away
Leura Mall
150 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
30 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from michael w | Reviewed this property |
it certainly does.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alexandra Hotel

Alexandra Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5