We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
117
105
39
24
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
117
105
39
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones cream and jam ham devonshire tea high tea on display tea museum teas pots teapot beauties maurice antiques tearoom jewelry hat cuppa
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

Visited Bygone Beauties in October and found the place fascinating for it's eclectic and vast collection of teapots. Whilst I am not a teapot aficionado, it was nevertheless a fascinating display. An additional attraction of this place was the availability of really nice things to...eat in a morning or afternoon tea style. I particularly enjoyed the bread pudding and the waiter who I think was called Jason was very entertaining as well as efficient. The proprietor, Maurice Cooper was an engaging host with an encyclopedic knowledge of teapots and their general history and use in different cultures. Definitely worth a visit!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely Devonish Tea at Bygone Beauties. The scones as always were delicious, the cream and jam fresh and tasty. Tea selection enticing. I booked our afternoon tea during lockdown and was telephoned to have my reservation confirmed - this is good customer...service. Afterward, we strolled through the tea museum and with the assistance of Maurice purchased some fine assam tea. I had also ordered their Darjeeling tea over the internet twice, posted and delivered 2 days later-excellent! Highly recommended. Kerri.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
BygoneBeautys, Owner at Bygone Beautys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kerri, Thank you for your time to review Bygone Beautys. We are here to assist with any questions in regards to our teas or any of our products. We try our best to help our customers as much as we can to ensure they...More

Reviewed 19 May 2021

Expensive + Bad Service + Gluten Free Baking a joke = Disappointing. From the moment we walked in and had to search for a staff member the disappointing first impressions turned out to be a taste of things to come! Paying an addition $8.80 for...Gluten Free on top of an already very expensive price, one expects it to be top notch but the GF Scones were terrible and in this day and age when GF has improved so much, there's no excuse for it. The lemon curd tart i could hardly get my teeth through. There were a few nice cakes and the non GF Scones were ok but mostly Average. Drinks, we had various Teas & Champagne, were fine. What with it all being wheeled in to the tune of Pomp & Circumstance, it all felt tacky and a bit of a joke. There are plenty of better places to get high tea.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
BygoneBeautys, Owner at Bygone Beautys, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2021

Dear CrazyOz, Sorry you were disappointed.... Thank you for the time to make a review... Gluten free was provided for two courses at $4.40 for each course. The cook has to make all items fresh as with our policy and overall the additional time factor...More

Reviewed 17 May 2021

This truly is an amazing attraction, however the experience was dulled by the visit to the tea room. the food was amazing, the service wasn't.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
BygoneBeautys, Owner at Bygone Beautys, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2021

Thank you for the review . Our apology for the service this will be conveyed to the staff who at present we have due to increased patrons employed additional staff who are learning. It is our problem which we are addressing in a busy period.

Reviewed 2 May 2021 via mobile

Having visited BB many times before as we are locals it has always been a place of warm welcomes and friendly hospitality. Unfortunately not so this time. There was something about being there this occasion that just didn't seem right and we didn't feel we...wanted to look through the museum or stay for any food or drink. Although covid restrictions were seemingly in place it was very pokie brousing around the retail area with no social distancing happening. We left feeling we didn't belong there and went elsewhere for lunch.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
BygoneBeautys, Owner at Bygone Beautys, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2021

Hi Carolyn, Thank you for making a review. I waited to answer as I needed to attempt to review when you may have visited. It would be handy when making a review if you want any action taken for your comments you be specific. We...More

Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

The incredible number of tea pots is amazing. Good choice of good simple options . We had two Devonshire teas, _$16pp 4 scones, jam,cream,tea. Other meal options.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
BygoneBeautys, waiter at Bygone Beautys, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2021

Dear Janelle & Steve, Thank you for your time to review Bygone Beautys. We look forward to greeting you again soon. Regards Jason for Maurice G Cooper OAM

Reviewed 25 January 2021

The Devonshire tea was absolutely delicious, and I loved the old-style atmosphere of the tearooms. The tea was served promptly, and the staff were very friendly. After we had finished our tea, we went for a look around the museum and shop, which had some...wonderful items on display. The antique teapots were very interesting. I even managed to pick up a beautiful doll-house piano. I would definitely recommend this place, it is like no other and an amazing experience.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
BygoneBeautys, Owner at Bygone Beautys, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Dear Charlotte, Thank you for taking your time to review Bygone Beautys. I hope you enjoy the piano in your collection. We look forward to greeting you again next time you are in the Blue Mountains. Regards Jason for Maurice G Cooper OAM

Reviewed 22 January 2021 via mobile

Had a great lunch with very good co ffee. The teapot museum was also a very pleasant surprise. Very friendly and efficient staff. Very highly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
BygoneBeautys, Waiter at Bygone Beautys, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

Thank You for taking your time to review Bygone Beautys. We look forward to greeting you next time, when you are in the Blue Mountains. Regards Jason For Maurice G Cooper OAM

Reviewed 18 November 2020

Day out in Leura for lunch, nice sunny spot to sit. Lunch was superb got to say the best quiche ever, and I have tried many. Friend said lasagna was amazing also. Delish bread and butter pudding, Pecan and honey cake was the talk of...the table and gluten free. Lots to look at not just tea pots. Plenty of jewellery, which I enjoyed. Will be back.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
BygoneBeautys, Waiter at Bygone Beautys, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2020

Thank you for taking your time to review Bygone Beautys. Thank you also for your comments on our lunch selections. We look forward to greeting you next time. Regards Jason for Maurice G Cooper OAM

Reviewed 20 September 2020

Walked in for a cup of tea, and wanted to purchase some loose leaf tea. After 10 mins of standing there, waiting to be seated as per instructions, nobody came to see us. Turned around and left.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
BygoneBeautys, Owner at Bygone Beautys, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Our apology..... It has been frantic and we have truly tried our best Our door entrance was changed to identify with one entry and one exit....Therefore a new entrance not in view.... . We finally received our old fashioned door bell for the new entrance,...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Nesuto Leura Gardens Hotel
748 reviews
1.19 km away
Fairmont Resort & Spa Blue Mountains - MGallery by Sofitel
3,214 reviews
1.55 km away
Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
712 reviews
1.60 km away
Blue Mountains Gday Motel
45 reviews
1.60 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Madame Wang's Restaurant
93 reviews
.36 km away
Lily's Pad
469 reviews
.08 km away
Polar Bear of Leura
197 reviews
.19 km away
Red Door Cafe
583 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Leura Cascades
449 reviews
1.25 km away
Everglades House & Gardens
378 reviews
.96 km away
Leura Mall
151 reviews
.20 km away
Gordon Falls Lookout
68 reviews
1.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Wendy K
19 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BygoneBeautys | Property representative |
Hi Wendy K, the extensions and renovations are just about completed. The construction of the building itself is complete, but there are still a few finishing touches to be added. The teapots are being unpacked as I write... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bygone Beautys

Bygone Beautys is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4