We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pernel Kitchen

$$ - $$$
Cafe, New Zealand
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1412 Pakowhai Road, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
+64 6-878 3383
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 41: English reviews
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is now the new Serendipity cafe - it still offers the same quality food and service with much better surroundings! Worth a visit!

Thank MrsDock
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

This place was so nice but unfortunately, it has shut down. It had really good ice creams made with fresh picked berries.

Thank Sarah_Star19
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

I found the food here average. Not well presented. Service was not great. However the prices were reasonable. I went with my family and none of us have chosen to return to eat here.

Thank Josie G
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016

Lovely food at great price. Easy parking and wide choice of seating inside or out. An interest place as you can visit their gift shop, have lunch and finish off with fresh fruit icecream

Thank Bern476
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

This is a fabulous spot - a great cafe style restaurant situated on an orchard, tractor orchard tours ( popular with cruises and school/ preschool visits), gift shop, fruit and veg shop and real fruit ice creams (really popular in summer) all set on an orchard on the edge of Hastings. The property has recently sold - here's hoping the... More 

Thank Wendy G
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2016

We came in for lunch for mothers day, about 14 of us, we waited a long time for drinks and a long time for food orders to be taken...but being busy we were happy to wait, just would have been nice for some one to say "sorry guys, wont be long." Food did not come out at the same time,... More 

Thank Jaydee273
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2016

Found the atmosphere very cold in winter months especially if taking an elderly person for lunch. Food good, service slow, good tourist shop, and fruit to buy

Thank Bernadette M
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Its really disappointing that you have posted a review relating to an experience in October 15. So much has changed since then..... We have an outstanding Chef who cooks all his food to order. We now have table service, tailored to the customer so that if you are in a hurry you will have your meal within 15 minutes, if... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

How difficult is it to make breakfast ? The answer it would seem is very. I had the All day breakfast , the sausages were poor quality and deep fried , my eggs were over cooked on the bottom and a transparent filmy layer on top. Tomato was bland and the rest average. My wife had the eggs Benedict, eggs... More 

Thank Bbqboy007
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. With a very committed Head Chef and very experienced Front of House Manager complaints are very rare these days. We are disappointed that you didn't give us a chance to fix anything you were unhappy with on the day. We hope you will come back soon to see we really can give you a fantastic... More 

San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
605 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2016

This little cafe, adjacent to their fruit + various and sundries shop is a good little spot to enjoy a light brekkie and a morning coffee while perusing the nation's NZ Herald, DomPost or Hawke's Bay Today.

Thank HaljoHal
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us and taking the time to post a review. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

We always like to go there brunch was lovely and coffee was great and hot and they had runny cream for me because I can't have lactose big thumbs up for that I don't get that everywhere. Service was lovely and prompt. Courtyard looked great to sit outside. Plenty of shade. For the first time I used the ladies and... More 

Thank JRMD15
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for enjoying our place regularly. We do try to accomodate our customers needs wherever possible so glad we can do this with your coffees. It is unfortunate that the bathrooms weren't up to scratch. We will look into our procedures for this. We look forward to serving you brunch again... More 

Travellers who viewed Pernel Kitchen also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region

Been to Pernel Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 14
Cafe, New Zealand
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Open Hours
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1412 Pakowhai Road, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Hastings
  • Phone Number: +64 6-878 3383
Pernel Kitchen is set amidst a working orchard where high quality produce is lovingly grown. The Chef seeks inspiration from his surroundings and produces affordable, unfussy, beautifully presented cafe style food truly bursting with flavour. Our own produce as well as those of other local growers is showcased in his dishes. Pernel Kitchen has indoor and outdoor seating (with shade in summer) as well as a small children's playground including beanbags and teepees. Menus change regularly to reflect seasonal produce.

Private functions and out-catering are also welcome. Our experienced staff are able to work closely with you to exceed your expectations.

Tours of our orchard are available (bookings required) which give a fun and informative trip aboard our apple wagon towed by a vintage Fergie tractor. The curiosity of all ages will be ignited when you follow the journey from seed to store. Fruit ice creams, fresh fruit and vegetables, local artisan products are all available at our Fresh Produce Shop on site. Souviners and Gifts are available in our Gift Shop.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pernel Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?