We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art

349 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
+64 6-345 7770
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good45%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (9 reviews)
“gelato” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Cafe, New Zealand, European, Contemporary, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
349 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are not from Whanganui but visit several times a year and have been going to Parnell's most visits. Food is fine, coffee good and served in good time. Service can be a bit offhand. Last visit the cafe was less than a quarter full....More

Thank fred5712
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Got a chicken burger and coke. First thing I tried was the side of chips and they were way better than I expected, crunchy on the outside and nice and hot within. The burger was even better! With the chicken nicely cooked without being dry....More

Thank BrynTheGabe
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

SO delighted to hear that your experience was so positive BrynTheGabe. Staff will be delighted to receive your message. Thanks for letting us know. Look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had breakfast here in a very cold Whanganui morning, lovely warm inviting cafe with great atmosphere. Breakfast would have to be the tastiest, nicely cooked one I have had in any cafe. Service fast and friendly, would certainly visit again.

Thank 390mary80
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Called in for takeout coffee{delicious} and asked for Toasted Panini which looked delicious. Coffee came out and I waited for Panini... and waited until eventually a waitress asked if I was waiting for takeout. She checked in the kitchen and came back with, it will...More

Thank ja206
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hi ja206 My sincere apologies. I will speak with kitchen staff and ensure that the issue is properly addressed so that it doesn't happen again. I am really sorry that we fell far short of providing good service.

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Great coffee and breakfast ...and after breakfast icecream for my daughter. It was lovely and warm when we were there at 9.30am with a gas fire burning on a cold morning. Staff were friendly.More

Thank CharlieBrown555
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Hi CharlieBrown55 So pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and gelato and that you also enjoyed the cosiness of the fire. I totally agree with you - so nice to enter a warm room during our chilly weather. Thanks for taking the time to share...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

A quiet Sunday morning Brekky after a fairly heavy night out on the Saturday was just the best at Parnells. Their Black Board menu is substantial and hits the spot for either something light and tasty or the substantial Big Breakfast if you are a...More

Thank ActionHero47
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Great food, prompt service, great variety and nice staff. Nice site for a family lunch. We ate outside despite being winter. A large gas burner was available to keep us warm. We didn't need it as the food and drink did just that.

Thank Arbor253
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review Arbor253. So pleased you enjoyed your lunch and that you were well taken care of. Te Aroha

Reviewed 10 June 2017

Sunday 4th June, stopped for coffee and a scone. Coffee arrived soon after but the scone arrived at least 15 minutes later seriously cold. Waitress asked us "do you want it heated" !!!!!!! After that delay we had it cold ex the fridge. Not coming...More

Thank gary l
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Hi Gary1 I can only apologise for this totally unacceptable service. This is out of character for our staff. I am truly sorry and would like the chance to put it right. My apologies. Te Aroha Mackintosh, Owner.

Reviewed 28 May 2017

It was a miserable day out but the cafe was deliciously warm. The food was well worth the average price we paid.The coffees took quite awhile despite it being early and not many in the cafe,but like many Cafes the takeaway orders seem to get...More

Thank Katrine715
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Hello Katrine715 So pleased you enjoyed your time at Parnells Cafe. Sorry you had to wait for your coffee. Yes that was probably because of the demand for take out coffees at the time. Thanks for you review. Te Aroha

Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

I had lunch here, and despite being extremely busy, the staff were lovely and were doing a great job. They accidentally gave me the wrong lunch order, but quickly rectified this and I was able to enjoy an amazing bowl of homemade mushroom soup with...More

Thank NewZealandishome
Te Aroha M, Owner at Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Hello NewZealandishome Thank you so much for your review of Parnells Cafe. So pleased you enjoyed your soup and that staff made up for the error in your order. Look forward to seeing you back here! Te Aroha, (Owner)

Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Anatolia Wanganui
37 reviews
.84 km away
Tasty Indian Restaurant & Bar
34 reviews
.84 km away
Kristy’s Cafe
143 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Virginia Lake
294 reviews
1.55 km away
Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
115 reviews
1.52 km away
Kowhai Park
173 reviews
1.27 km away
Quartz Museum
25 reviews
1.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Parnells Cafe Gallery and Garden Art staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 14
Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
07:00 - 16:00
07:00 - 16:00
07:00 - 16:00
07:00 - 16:00
07:00 - 16:00
07:00 - 16:00
07:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 349 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Manawatu-Wanganui Region  >  Whanganui
  • Phone Number: +64 6-345 7770
  • E-mail
Fresh, homemade food and Mojos coffee. Always a must in Wanganui to eat, coffee and view gallery. Fantastic gelato.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing