We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
USD 11 - USD 30
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Indonesian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
226
80
27
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
226
80
27
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curries rice salad bali huts thatched huts thai restaurant main restaurant great atmosphere extensive menu tuesday night take away great meal beautiful setting staff were friendly indonesia tropical meals
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

First visit and selected due to reviews on TripAdvisor but it was not as good as I had hoped it would be! The decor is a very pleasant surprise based on first impressions from the street but the restaurant was very warm after a day...that was not that hot. I found the meat spring rolls lacked flavour and the fried veggie Thai rice very oily but the roti was good.. The staff were very friendly.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic food and service. Loved the coconut ice cream and Kahlua. Great ambience in the huts. Highly recommended

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Jackson for taking the time to review Java Spice. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you back in Swan Hill soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time visitors to this amazing restaurant. Beautiful setting and the food was to fabulous. Staff were friendly and food came out quickly. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Java Spice. Come back again soon!

Reviewed 27 February 2021

Came all the way from mordy to visit this gem for the third time food atmosphere decor staff Pete a Trish very welcoming and accommodating to every whim. Check in with qr

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Cheers for the great review. Glad you enjoyed. Be sure to visit SWan Hill again soon.

Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

After reading the reviews we thought we had this one spot on. We ordered takeaway chicken garlic and pad Thai. Hubby said chicken garlic was ok but lacked flavour. Unfortunately my pad Thai was inedible. It had a weird maybe fish sauce taste? And not...the tamerind flavour I’ve come to associate with pad Thai. I picked the chicken out and threw away the rest. The spring rolls were soggy by the time we ate them (not Java’s fault at all) and simply lacked flavour. Our 3 yr old had been vomiting all day and the crispy noddles were perfect for her to start eating again (they were simple but nice). Hubby said the place looked really nice inside so I would probably try it again in the hope it could be better but very disappointed so far.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry you did not enjoy your take-away dinner. Sounds like you may have left the food a little long in the containers before eating. Hope you can dine in sometime soon

Reviewed 15 February 2021

Friendly staff amazing food and setting love it !!! a must visit on your trip to Swan Hill Highly recommend

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the terrific review. We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Java Spice. Hope to see you back soon.

Reviewed 7 February 2021

We read the reviews so we had high expectations. The setting was amazing. When we finally got our seat ( we were left hovering for about 5 minutes at the entrance ) the service was great. The entrees were solid and had good flavour and...the mock tail I had was possibly the best I’ve ever tasted. Unfortunately the main courses for all 4 of us were a disappointment. Just lacked flavour so we were most surprised.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi. Thanks for taking the time to review Java Spice. It sounds like you arrived on a super busy night. We a glad you enjoyed but sad you did not enjoy your mains. Please give us another go sometime.

Reviewed 3 February 2021

This is a belated review. Our family of 10 people visited for my mother's 87 th birthday in June. It wasa great meal. The decor is beautiful.. Trish made us feel very welcome. Our favourite restaurant in Swan Hill.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?1  
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Heather for the great review. Much appreciated & we look forward to your return visit sometime.

Reviewed 1 February 2021 via mobile

Once you leave the shabby Street and enter this restaurant it is a whole new world and pleasure. Great food, drinks, customer service, decor, customer service

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to review java Spice. We appreciate it. We are all so glad you enjoyed your dining experience. Cheers

Reviewed 18 January 2021

Don’t let the surrounds deter you, Bunnings opposite, neighbouring homes a little untidy. Once you step inside you are in a different world. The main restaurant is nicely decorated in an Asian theme, that is where we ate as it was a cool evening. If...you are in a group on a warm night it’d be worth checking out the traditional thatched huts out the back. The food was well presented, and delicious, we ordered to much so left some behind. Service you could not fault, overall a great experience. Will go again when up that way.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to review java Spice. We appreciate it. We are all so glad you enjoyed your dining experience. Cheers

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travellers Rest Motor Inn
58 reviews
.36 km away
Jane Eliza Motor Inn
92 reviews
.88 km away
Australian Settlers Motor Inn
69 reviews
1.10 km away
Best Western Burke & Wills Motor Inn
145 reviews
1.13 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Swan Hill RSL
54 reviews
.84 km away
Niko Niko
167 reviews
.56 km away
Quo Vadis
256 reviews
.83 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pioneer Settlement
568 reviews
1.58 km away
Swan Hill Region Information Centre
58 reviews
.56 km away
Heartbeat of the Murray Laser Light Show
67 reviews
.61 km away
Big4 riverside
56 reviews
.99 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
John T
4 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Peter M | Property representative |
Java Spice is fully licensed. We have an extensive range of wines & beers as well as spirits in our fully equipped bar.
1
Vote
dana m
3 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PhilT292014 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is an indoor room would hold about 20 to 30 people.
0
Votes
dana m
3 June 2015|
Answer
Response from JavaSpiceSwanHill | Property representative |
We have Balinese Thatched Huts that hold up to 14 ppl, a function room than can hold up to 35 & the main room can cater for around 55. Cheers
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing