We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sir Charles Darling Hotel

$$ - $$$, ,
38 Bellerine St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
+61 3 5222 1697
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (47 reviews)
“sunday roast” (4 reviews)
“salad” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
38 Bellerine St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Food is always great here and most of the staff friendly except the fella who works the bar with the Hair Up. Never a smile or a warm greeting to busy on his phone.More

Thank Frannfish
James G, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Frannfish. Sam, our manager, is one of our most popular staff. Hospitality is a game where you need to be cheerful all the time and I guess we can all have a moment. I'm sorry you didn't get a smile from Sam, because when...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

went for sunday lunch quite a few parties still service was fast and as usual with a smile checked if our food was good

Thank trezj13
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife n I had been regular customers on week ends for about 10 years. No longer. Twice in the past 6 months we have travelled a fair distance on a Sunday and upon arrival ( no latter than 7.15 pm)and it’s closed. On occasions...More

Thank hep446
James G, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi hep446 I'm sorry that you travelled to find us closed. We have been closing at 4pm on Sundays for 6 months now. When ringing after hours, you are always able to leave a message.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

booked sunday lunch for my friends and family 12 of us all the food was spot on my steak was just loverly the roast was tender and the pub is clean and tidy

Thank crang
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Two-thirds full on a Monday lunch speaks for their continued popularity. A decade ago when at Deakin many of us would cross town for good value lunch here. Still excellent and has a beaut beer garden. Chicken Parma today. Monster sized dish that I couldn’t...More

Thank D9465RLsb
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi Simon B. Thanks for your great review. For accuracy, our chicken is not "processed" but crumbed in-house from fresh chicken breasts. And we do a stack of them :).

Reviewed 28 August 2018

Dined here for my husbands birthday. Staff vwere so friendly and helpful. Food was amazing, Very reasonable prices and even receivedca birthday present. Great place, great atmosphere , great service.. Will continue to visit this venue

Thank reneegigihoward
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Fantastic food service can be a bit slow, great selection of dishes and reasonably priced, They do takeaway however they charge for take away containers

Thank darls8359
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hi darls8359. Thank you for for the Five Stars. For accuracy though, I just want to let you know that we do not charge for takeaway containers.

Reviewed 21 July 2018

Wonderful friendly service, great meals at an excellent price. We stumbled on this hotel by accident, but l would most definitely go back next time we are in Geelong.

Thank pajefish
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi pajefish. Yes we love hearing the compliments at the tables from our first time diners to our Pub.

Reviewed 19 July 2018

Great Bistro food. There's a special on every week day. Mondays and Tuesdays are steak days. Get a good sized steak for just AUD 17.50. Value for money. The staff are friendly and obliging. A must if you are in Geelong.

Thank enghinong
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hi enghinong. Thank you for your kind comments.

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

After try to give the new owners a fair go. I sadly have to say after tonight. We will never return. Meals were slowly going down hill. Tonight I ordered a well done steak. It came out bleeding. After returning it I was served a...More

Thank Yvonne P
SirCharlesDarling, Owner at Sir Charles Darling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi Yvonne. I completely understand your disappointment in the rare and medium steaks you were served. As I explained to you, we were trialling an additional chef and after your mishaps at the very beginning of the night, he was instantly removed. Again, as I...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Geelong
Bay City(Geelong) Motel
74 reviews
.24 km away
Comfort Inn Eastern Sands
100 reviews
.24 km away
Atlantic Geelong
40 reviews
.35 km away
Novotel Geelong
846 reviews
.57 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Eastern Spice
311 reviews
.23 km away
Cafe Go
181 reviews
.02 km away
Casse-Croute
38 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Wool Museum
277 reviews
.58 km away
The Carousel
189 reviews
.49 km away
Steampacket Gardens
75 reviews
.53 km away
Old Geelong Gaol
33 reviews
.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Deborah M
27 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Stewart H | Reviewed this property |
No but send them an email Food is great and great value plus ideal for groups
0
Votes
Claire T
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Geraldine K | Reviewed this property |
No as it is hotel, alcohol is available there.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 18
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 3:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 38 Bellerine St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  City of Greater Geelong  >  Geelong
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5222 1697
  • E-mail
Description
The Sir Charles Darling Hotel is located in the heart of Geelong. Our Hotel was established in 1852 and remains one of the now rare traditional pubs. It is a simple and presentable Hotel, nothing over the top. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, all are welcome at The Sir Charles Darling Hotel. Our guests are diverse, from uni students to families, professionals, the elderly and many more. Our client base is so vast because of what the hotel has to offer, something for everyone. Affordable quality meals from traditional pub fare to something a little bit nicer, but nothing that will blow the budget. Our service is warm and friendly, professional yet casual. Our team from kitchen to front of house enjoy what we do so you will always see them smiling and often having a laugh with the regulars. The Hotel has a full TAB and Beer Garden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing