We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Salt Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
13-15 | The Esplanade, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
+61 3 5244 7790
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Wed - Fri 06:30 - 18:00
Sat 07:00 - 18:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 355: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Mains were tasty but very overpriced considering they come with no sides. Good for a treat but won't be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank selkielikesit
BlackSaltRestMgr, General Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear selkielikesit, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry to hear you feel our "tasty" mains are overpriced. We believe our locally sourced produce featuring pasture fed Victorian beef ($42 for Eye fillet) , free range pork ($34 1.2Kg Hock) and Bannockburn Chicken ($34 for 1/2 chicken) is fairly priced. We do not include... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not a cheap meal but a range of great meals - people who are steaks loved them - I enjoyed the mushroom tofu entree and the haloumi main with hot Louisiana hot sauce - nice water views from front area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Harrison-act
BlackSaltRestMgr, General Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Harrison-act, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team. I especially appreciate your additional comments identifying the dishes you enjoyed. Yes our views are amazing but we work hard not to take it for granted. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.... More 

Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although we had heard mixed reports about this Restaurant from friends , we thought we would give it a try as it has the perfect location on the Geelong Esplande with stunning views of the bay and since it was our wedding anniversary too. Whilst the menu has a variety to choose from there was not much on there that... More 

Helpful?
Thank nick p
BlackSaltRestMgr, General Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear nick p, Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I’m concerned you claim the steak was $51 when in fact our Victorian pasture fed beef is $42. I have reviewed your bill for the night and I assure you, you were charged correctly. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like the choice of sauces. We believe the... More 

Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant is attached to a motel and whilst the motel IMO is no slouch the restaurant is actually better. We have dined here on a number of occasions, the last being New Years Eve and we always have a lovely meal and they do serve very good wines which is a plus when you don't have to drive. Service... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Basill_Mo
BlackSaltRestMgr, General Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Basill_Mo, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team. I especially appreciate your additional comments regarding one of our team members. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon. Yours sincerely General Manager Black Salt Geelong More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Seated near the front of the dining room provided a nice view of Corio Bay. The waitress was lovely and welcoming. The wines were top quality however the food didn't quite reach the high level i was goping for. The eye fillet steak was nice however it came out medium rare when i ordered rare. The brick chicken was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sutto07
BlackSaltRestMgr, General Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sutto07, Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the service and kitchen teams. It is feedback such as yours we use to improve our product. Thank you again. Yours sincerely Manager Black Salt Geelong More 

Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Black Salt, Geelong was a fantastic Valentines Day experience! To start, my fiancé and I were attentively greeted by the staff, and directed to our table - with which we were fortunate to have an elegant sea view. Our table was embellished with pre-lit candles, a plethora of beverage and meal options, as well as the infamous black salt. For... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn D
BlackSaltRestaurant, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Bryn D, Thank you for taking the time to review us. The entire team and I are very happy that you and your partner enjoyed your Valentine's dinner experience at Black Salt and look forward to making your next visit just as wonderful. Regards, Manager Black Salt Restaurant & Bar More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic experience overall, which started with perfect pre-dinner drinks in the alfresco area overlooking the bay. Staff were very attentive and courteous. The meals were great (salmon was smaller than I'm used to though), especially the steak, which was superb and did not need a steak knife (we always worry when a steak knife is brought out!). The dessert lacked... More 

Helpful?
Thank millyroon
BlackSaltRestaurant, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear millyroon, Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the attentive service and great meals. I have passed your feedback onto the kitchen and service teams and look forward to your next visit. Regards, Black Salt Restaurant Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Quite a different and varied list of main courses with very good quality. The only improvement would be for them to use linen tablecloths

Helpful?
Thank bareberger
BlackSaltRestaurant, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear bareberger, Thank you for reviewing us and recognising the quality of our dishes as we are committed to using the best seasonal produce from local suppliers and our beef, lamb, pork and chicken is free range, GMO and hormone free. Regards, Black Salt Restaurant and Bar Manager More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

One of my favourite places to relax and catch up with a friend or a business meeting over a drink while enjoying the wonderful views of Corio Bay. Parking is easily achieved. The Black Salt restaurant is an enjoyable place to have a meal while taking in the views. It makes you feel a bit spech'

Helpful?
Thank 503derekd
BlackSaltRestaurant, Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 503derekd, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm very pleased that you love our bar so much and with the views over Corio Bay how could anyone resist having a couple lazy drinks and some great food with friends. On behalf of the team I look forward to making you feel spech' again soon. Regards, Black... More 

Phillip Island, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

One of the worst experiences we have ever had. We got here at 6.30pm and did not get our meal until 8.30. The wine was terrible the meals arrived on our table cold. The portions were less than entree size and very expensive. Value for money less than acceptable. Service non existent. Do not waste your time or money on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrina S
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Black Salt Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Andrina S, Thanks for taking the time to review us. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your dinner with us. In our defence of the points you raise, yes you arrived at 6.30ish and were in good spirits. Unfortunately we don’t make the wine and when you advised us the bottle you ordered was “terrible” we replaced the... More 

Travellers who viewed Black Salt Restaurant also viewed

Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 
Wallington, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 

Been to Black Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 23 - USD 46
Cuisine
Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Business meetings
Open Hours
Wednesday
06:30 - 18:00
Thursday
06:30 - 18:00
Friday
06:30 - 18:00
Saturday
07:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13-15 | The Esplanade, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  City of Greater Geelong  >  Geelong
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5244 7790
Description
Perched on Geelong's magnificent foreshore Black Salt Restaurant enjoys stunning views of Corio Bay and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy fine local wine, beer and food whilst taking in the view. Perfect for couples, families or entertaining clients. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner 7 days a week.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Salt Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?