We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pasta Merchant

248b Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
+61 3 6334 7077
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“gelato” (26 reviews)
“pasta” (61 reviews)
“ice cream” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
248b Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great quick and convenient pasta place. It is not set up to be your authentic Italian restaurant but it is convenient and tasty pasta.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Matt S
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us Matt, we’re glad you enjoyed your meal. Quick, convenient and tasty... great descriptions and exactly what we strive for. 😊

Reviewed 27 October 2018

From a purely takeaway perspective, love this place. My wife and I got the pan of roast pumpkin ravioli. It heated up very easily and tasted like we had made it ourselves. This is a great place to go if you need a good meal...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank The_Charpie
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for the great review, we really appreciate your feedback. Our roast pumpkin ravioli is one of my personal favourites too.

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Read some reviews so was a bit reluctant to go in..... boy am I glad I did!!! Staff extremely welcoming. Me and a friend dined in. Started with the smoked salmon pate..... ohhhh yummmmm!!!! Very generous serve and so delicious. Then had the special garlic...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Hoody30
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

We are so glad you decided to come in and that you enjoyed your meal. Thank you for taking the time to pass on some very positive feedback, it means a lot to us.

Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in early last Tuesday (17th July) for a coffee and cake before my husbands appointment at the nearby hospital. We were greeted by a very friendly young lady. She very promptly took our order and within 5 minutes we were...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank fayemjames59
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Thank you for the fabulous feedback Faye, we’ve passed on your comments - you’ve made our day. We’ll look forward to seeing you next time you’re in Launceston.

Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

This place is terrible Very rude staff We ordered 2 dishes at the counter And then sat down Then shouted out that’s the takeaway Price you have to pay more to dine Inn I said that’s fine The carbonara and the ravioli were both microwaved...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Dazza B
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Our feedback in store is overwhelmingly positive, in fact we have not had any complaints regarding our eat-in meals in recent memory. Certainly if a customer complained that their meal was dry, bland and under seasoned the response would obviously not be ‘that’s how it...More

Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Firstly Italian cooking is not done in a microwave! Perhaps before opening a restaurant one should look up how to cook fresh pasta on google or YouTube. Dining in is $4 extra per person as it requires an in-prepared 2 minutes in the microwave as...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Getbetterorgetout
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

What a miserable anonymous person you are. Yes we use microwaves, the difference between our business and many others is that we don’t hide them. They allow us to have our freshly made pasta and sauces ready for our (mostly take-away) customers in 2-3 minutes...More

Reviewed 19 May 2018

finished late, decided to eat out. Arrived an hour before close and were informed we had 1/2 an hour to eat in? Nice meal, but a bit rushedMore

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank shirl1511
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi Shirl, there appears to have been a misunderstanding as what you were told is that we stop doing eat-in meals at 8.30. If you arrive an hour before close you still have an hour to have your meal. I’m glad that you enjoyed your...More

Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Looking for something fresh and tasty to take home, we found this little gem top end of Charles St just down from the hospital. Great classic and gourmet choices on the menu, we decided on beef lasagne and chicken Modena. Both dishes were really tasty,...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JannieLou
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thanks for the great feedback JannieLou, we’re glad you enjoyed your meal.

Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We got some take away pasta to cook at home. The pasta took as long as dried pasta does from the shop and even still we were left with a gluggy pot of water with pasta that was still chewy on the inside. Very disappointing...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank vannessaf2014
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

What a disappointing result Vanessa! What I CAN guarantee you is that if you had cooked your fresh pasta in lots of salted boiling water, loosening up the bundles of pasta before dropping them into the water and then given it a quick stir to...More

Reviewed 27 April 2018

The gnocchi, pumpkin ravioli and spinach and ricotta ravioli are a few of my favourites but the lasagne and carbonara are excellent too. The service is always quick and friendly and it's become our usual Friday night take-away when in Launceston. We need a Pasta...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SimoneW1590
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thanks for the great feedback Simone.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 hotels in Launceston
Mantra Charles Hotel
1,940 reviews
.30 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
968 reviews
.50 km away
Auldington
419 reviews
.71 km away
The Old Bakery Inn
324 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Restaurants
VegOut on Charles
16 reviews
.42 km away
Cinnamon Cafe and Indian Restaurant
184 reviews
.20 km away
Cafe Mondello
192 reviews
.05 km away
Geronimo Aperitivo Bar and Restaurant
282 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Tamar Valley
632 reviews
.84 km away
Red Brick Road Ciderhouse
24 reviews
.85 km away
Greenoaks Gallery
9 reviews
.70 km away
Tandy's Ale House
15 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pasta Merchant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Monday
8:30 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
8:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
8:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
8:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
8:30 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 248b Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Tasmania  >  Launceston
  • Phone Number: +61 3 6334 7077
Description
Our pasta and sauces are made fresh daily - our aim is delicious, healthy, affordable 'fast food'. All our meals are available to eat in, take away (hot to go) or heat at home at your convenience. We also make in store our own range of gelato - Go Go Gelato, included by Jill Dupleix in her 'The Best Gelato in Australia' list.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing