We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Picnic Point Toowoomba

164 Tourist Rd, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
+61 7 4631 5100
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good41%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (14 reviews)
“barramundi” (5 reviews)
“cake” (8 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Cafe, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
164 Tourist Rd, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Well to say we are disappointed would be an understatement. $60 for breakfast and the only thing edible was the toast(only on one meal as the egg water drenched the other pieces). Staff didn’t seem to mind that our whole table didn’t eat or meals....More

Thank sophm87
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here at least 4 times over the space of 2 weeks, having lunch here on all occasions. On every occasion we had a great lunch and were not disappointed. The first thing that greets you is the spectacular view from a beautiful garden...More

2  Thank Glentc
Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a cheese plate for two and a couple of glasses of wine and sat outdoors to enjoy the view. What a decadent way to spend a Friday afternoon. Just delightful!

Thank Liz T
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely spot for a restaurant, beautiful views. Food was good and service was good. Only thing I would say bad about the place is that you have to go to the counter to order your meals and drinks.

Thank 881HappyTraveller
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a pretty good night the food was above average but not great the most disappointing thing was they keep any of the bar tab not used although we only found out 20 minutes before they turned of the bar off and we put...More

Thank davidendres01
PicPoint, Manager at Picnic Point Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

David , we have no idea what you are talking about. If you had a pre paid TAB and didn't use it we would most certainly refund the difference. Please contact our office if you have any queries. The Management Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to the Carnival of Flowers three times, and we always call in at this cafe on the way back to Brisbane. Every time we go there, we regret it. The first year, I had a flat white which was so hot it...More

Thank yukaqld
PicPoint, Manager at Picnic Point Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Yukaqld We noticed that you have been unhappy 3 times and yet failed to bring it to our attention on any of your visits at the time. Upon receipt of your Trip Advisor review I gathered the whole team together to discuss the content...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here first when we arrived at Toowoomba. The spot is perfect beautiful views. Just wanted a light snack so ordered a sandwich. To be honest it wasn't great and very overpriced. Maybe the other food is better.

Thank Annette M
Reviewed 5 October 2017

With Picnic Point known as one of the "go to places" at Carnival of Flowers for visitors, was very disappointed to encourage visitors to enjoy Violet and Wattle Seed ice cream (a speciality to the cafe) but mid afternoon service was very poor. One attendant...More

Thank 54Barb2013
PicPoint, General Manager at Picnic Point Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi 54Barb2013, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Picnic Point always make it a point to deliver foods and services as best we can, but unfortunately sometimes things can go wrong. We value customer feedback on how...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Great spot for lunch or a coffee. Prices and food are reasonable (order and pay at front counter) Lovey views on a clear day. Inside decor a little tired.

1  Thank Johnatraveller
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Nice view had a coffee with my friend. Totally enjoyed . The men who served us have a good manners. Coffee was extra hot as we want.

1  Thank JPkaur13
Nearby Restaurants
Piccolo Papa
134 reviews
1.15 km away
Thai on High Street
148 reviews
1.16 km away
Aromas Cafe Toowoomba
103 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cooby Dam
6 reviews
1.09 km away
Queens Park
445 reviews
3.37 km away
Cobb+Co Museum
426 reviews
3.45 km away
Picnic Point
357 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ian A
1 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PicPoint | Property representative |
Hi Ian, Thanks for coming to Picnic Point, and while we do appreciate your feedback there are a couple of points in your review that are not correct we thought you might like to know. We use premium Tasmanian salmon as... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 14 - USD 27
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
8:30 am - 5:00 am
8:30 am - 5:00 am
8:30 am - 9:00 pm
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 164 Tourist Rd, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Toowoomba
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4631 5100
  • E-mail
Fully licensed Cafe perched on the Edge of The Great Dividing Range in Toowoomba. Picnic Point is Toowoomba's most visited iconic tourist location. We offer efficient counter service by day, seven days a week. Enjoy morning tea, an ice cream and or a full meal.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing