We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Junk Toowoomba

5/476 Ruthven St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
+61 7 4642 1227
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good33%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“bao” (9 reviews)
“ramen” (7 reviews)
“pork belly” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
5/476 Ruthven St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

we enjoyed a lovely modern meal in a fun, busy enviroment . the service was outstanding and we enjoyed our evening out thank you

Thank GrahamM1480
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thought we'd give Junk another go & we were not disappointed! The Pork Bao buns were delicious, so fresh & crispy pork was as tasty as any we've ever had. I am in looooove with Prawn Wonton soup - such a tasty broth, and a...More

Thank Kaylene W
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Great food, reasonable prices, love the location and easy parking. Can't ever seem to go past the Satay Chicken, it's a favourite.

Thank SeaHaze007
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Two friends and myself had lunch at this lovely spot last week. Special shout out to Vel who looked after us so well and was very patient and helpful whilst I tried to download my app to get the $20 off!

Thank Rosie B
WHG M, Public Relations Manager at Junk Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Hi there, That's awesome! Glad you had a great time. Thanks for the review!

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We have been to Junk a number of times for lunch and have always been happy with the meals... however after our visit yesterday we came away very disappointed...the Luch meals were dramatically smaller than the previous times we had to order tickets as a...More

Thank Heather g
WHG M, Public Relations Manager at Junk Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Hi, Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent experience with us. Honest feedback like yours are very much appreciated as it helps us always improve our offers. We apologise for the lacklustre experience you had this time around, and we'll be sure...More

Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Wow I didn’t know this place existed hidden up a walkway. Went there for lunch with friends. The meals were delicious and well priced. They even have an app now which gives you $20 off your first meal Definately will be returning

Thank Mandy M
WHG M, Public Relations Manager at Junk Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Hi there, Thanks heaps for the great review. Hope to see you back again soon :)

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

4 of us dined here tonight and we got 5 dishes between us. Pork belly, satay bowl, massaman, edamame and karaage. They were all utterly terrible. More salt than is ever required and the massaman was inedible. Happy that their $20 app voucher paid for...More

Thank RDewson
WHG M, Public Relations Manager at Junk Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Hi, Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We apologise for the negative experience you had with us. We assure you that this is definitely not the service we expect for our patrons and we will be sure to let our management team...More

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere in this restaurant precinct and Junk provides great food. We had the pork belly which was perfect and has a great tasting salad, Korean chicken wings were great value and the satay skewers which were excellent. They must be doing something right as...More

Thank ZONABO
WHG M, Public Relations Manager at Junk Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hey hey, Thanks heaps for taking the time to give us some feedback :)

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Used to be an awesome place for food. But have heard bad things and my last meal was terrible. Massaman curry used to be amazing, now it is half the size and roti bread has replaced the missing curry. In my view when you get...More

Thank DrKmax
WHG M, Public Relations Manager at Junk Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Hi, Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We apologise for the lacklustre experience you had with us. Honest opinions like yours help us continuously improve our services. We will make sure to pass along your comments to our...More

Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Nice dining room, parking can be hard to get, meal prices are high for what you get, food was average.

Thank Robbie P
WHG M, Guest Relations Manager at Junk Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Hi there, Thank you for the review. We'll be sure to pass on your thoughts to our team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Toowoomba
Burke & Wills Hotel
311 reviews
.23 km away
The Shamrock Hotel Motel
31 reviews
.47 km away
Laguna Serviced Apartments Toowoomba
74 reviews
.60 km away
Potters Boutique Hotel
113 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Sofra Turkish Cuisine
1,142 reviews
.11 km away
Primitivo Chargrill Restaurant
127 reviews
.12 km away
Gelatissimo
46 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Empire Theatre
154 reviews
.19 km away
Queens Park
551 reviews
.46 km away
Laurel Bank Park
404 reviews
.96 km away
Toowoomba Visitor Information Centre
147 reviews
1.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ctm69
19 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from WHG M | Property representative |
Hi there, Our menu can be viewed on the Junk website :)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 14
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5/476 Ruthven St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Toowoomba
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4642 1227
  • E-mail
Description
Junk serves a remix of Thai, Japanese, Cantonese and Korean cuisines with a freestyle-Australian twist. We make healthy and fuss-free food with locally-sourced ingredients, that's best enjoyed as a shared-eating experience. Junk was created by award-winning chef Tony Kelly and business partner Scott Hoskins, and is helmed by rising culinary star Mitch Smith as executive chef. Originating in the Sunshine Coast, Junk has since expanded into the Toowoomba, Brisbane and Melbourne Market.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing