We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant

790 McDonalds Rd | Pokolbin, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 4998 4666
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tasting plate” (45 reviews)
“scampi” (12 reviews)
“duck” (35 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
790 McDonalds Rd | Pokolbin, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Walked into the restaurant and straight away greeted and taken to our table which overlooked the vineyard as the sun set and it was sensational! Was handed the menus and wine list as well as complimentary olives and sour dough. My Girlfriend and I both...More

Thank Patrickk N
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a great time, and you had enjoyed your meals, looking forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

"Exellent view, food were delicious, staff are friendly and they offer great range of wines." We are coming back tomorrow morning for Premium Wine tasting

Thank MrGrga
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a great time, looking forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Waiters didn’t seem to have as much time for us as other customers. Varying service quality from table to table. Our plates were dropped off at our table on the run. There was no effort to provide an experience. The food was terribly presented. The...More

Thank Squanch8
BimbadgenManager, Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide. Your comments and feedback regarding the meal...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walked in over the Christmas / New Year break and was told that the place was fully booked and was not able to accommodate walk-ins. Looked around and the place and it was 30% filled? Was later reinforced that every single table is booked and...More

Thank Ryan N
BimbadgenManager, Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide. I am sorry that we were unable...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place sells itself as a wonderful dining and wine experience. The price of eating there would certainly suggest to the customer that they are entering into a world class experience . We were very much looking forward to this as the location is truly...More

Thank Kevin F
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit, we are sorry to hear that this was your experience and also we are very disappointed with the service you received. Our team at Esca Bimbadgen always strive to offer...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have to say this place came with high recommendation and it did deliver on food with some of the best duck and lamb we have eaten. Only problem is it would have been nice for all six of us eaten together with the waiter...More

Thank agagain2017
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear your experience wasn't 100% satisfying. Our team at Esca Bimbadgen always strive to offer the very best customer service to all visitors. Your comments and feedback have been shared with the team and used...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Set in the Glorious Hunter Valley Bimbadgen Vineyard. Esca offers a feast for both the eyes and the tastebuds. Fantastic service and great wines.

Thank Stephen H
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time hopefully we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 8 December 2017

I booked this restaurant for something special as it was in the latest AGFG. The grounds and views are stunning. The building is impressive. The restaurant is a disappointment. The service is really poor and it lets the whole place down. Every wine we asked...More

1  Thank Chera2011
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide. I am sorry and disappointed to hear...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

First the wrong beer was delivered and then the selected wine was unavailable. Why have a Sydney Morning Herald wine list but not have the wines listed?? Why not rule through those not in stock anymore?? When you are paying close to $200 for a...More

Thank Mark E
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide. I am sorry about the wines which...More

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Seven of us had lunch here on Saturday, the food and wine were sensational. The place was lovely but the service was very ordinary. For a well known restaurant with a good reputation there is an expectation of professional service. Unfortunately we didn’t get this....More

Thank marg58
BimbadgenManager, Guest Relations Manager at Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Hi. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear your experience wasn't 100% satisfying. We will pass this feedback to our staff to make sure the issues you have mentioned don't happen again. Also, we would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Pokolbin
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1,190 reviews
.79 km away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
275 reviews
.79 km away
Pokolbin Village
335 reviews
3.36 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
933 reviews
3.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Legends Grill
348 reviews
1.02 km away
Ogishi Art Chocolate
5 reviews
2.06 km away
Blaxland Inn
850 reviews
3.34 km away
Amanda's on the Edge
844 reviews
2.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
All Hunter Wine Tours & Transfers
311 reviews
.89 km away
The Vintage Golf Club
132 reviews
.94 km away
Chateau Elan Spa
75 reviews
1.19 km away
Waverley Estate
213 reviews
1.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 31 - USD 39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 790 McDonalds Rd | Pokolbin, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Pokolbin
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4998 4666
  • E-mail
Description
Esca Bimbadgen is situated high on a hill in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country. Dedicated to the art of food & wine matching, Esca's modern Australian cuisine, fresh local and home grown produce and spectacular views make for a truly memorable dining experience. Esca's contemporary restaurant design features large glass windows and an open balcony allowing guests stunning wine country views over the Bimbadgen vineyards to the Brokenback ranges. Esca Bimbadgen is a regional restaurant, that uses produce sourced locally or grown on the Estate including lemons, figs and fresh herbs.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing