We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ristorante Il Grifone

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Honeysuckle Dr, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
49292008
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 146: English reviews
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went here to celebrate a joint birthday and am always a little surprised to see it is not as full as some others along the honeysuckle strip. Every time we have been here the food has been great as well as the service. Tonight was no exception and around the table we had most of the pasta dishes and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 153cherylw
il grifone i, Owner at Ristorante Il Grifone, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review it is a great boost to all staff to keep up the good work. I'm not sure what the explanation is of looking less patronised than other venues, may be because we are a restaurant and not a cafe`, however thanks to you and many others we have been here for almost 10 years... More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I always find the time to eat here on my visits to Newcastle. The service is excellent, they have my favourite Australian shiraz and will happily tuck it to one side for me to come back to another night if I don't finish it. I have tried many of their dishes and none fail to please, my favourite is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
il grifone i, Owner at Ristorante Il Grifone, responded to this review

Happy to know we could please please you during your visits but sorry to hear we won`t see you again here. Wishing you all the best! More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Walked along Honeysuckle Drive and decided to try this restaurant. It was the only one with no customers, which would normally put me off. We had the squid ink tagliolini, tagliatelle bolognese and the funghi side serve. All three were delicious! The service was great and the meals were really good value.

Helpful?
Thank Alison T
il grifone i, Owner at Ristorante Il Grifone, responded to this review

I'm glad you took the gamble and glad to hear we pleased you. There goes to show we don't all sell to the higher demand. More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised. We all enjoyed our meal, very well cooked and presented. Our table was set outside enjoying g the harbour views. Great food, good service what else can you ask for. Would certainly recommend to give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
il grifone i, Owner at Ristorante Il Grifone, responded to this review

Great to hear we helped making your pleasant . Thank you More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This was an absolute disaster and an example of how any business should NOT be run. We waited for nearly an hour and a half without getting either our, nibbles, or wine. When I complained the waitress asked me to sit down! Avoid this place at any cost. The dining in Newcastle will be greatly improved the sooner this place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger P
il grifone i, Owner at Ristorante Il Grifone, responded to this review

We don't tolerate erratic behaviour nor swearing to staff! When you sat down even before we could show you to a table, the waitress inform you then of the half hour wait before we could process your order. I will admit to have taken 15 minutes longer than anticipated before we had your order ready and the waitress apologized for... More 

Newcastle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I just had lunch at this restaurant. He ordered the beef cheek which he said was nice but not enough to fill him. I ordered the grilled fish which I couldnt eat. It came served with a very small garden salad which was just leaves not even any tomato or cucumber. The chips were a very small... More 

Helpful?
Thank nellygirl71
il grifone i, Owner at Ristorante Il Grifone, responded to this review

I am sorry to contradict you in regards to frozen perch, so much so that I would be happy to send you copy of invoices to reassure you of the freshness. From my past experience frozen fish loses it's consistency therefore becomes quiet soft and watery. I don't understand how this fish could be tough but if it was, it... More 

Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016

A few days before Christmas on a hot day, and the other restaurants are packed and noisy with workers eating burgers, pizza and schnitzel. This shady haven had views over a leafy garden to the harbour. Lunchtime menu was $25 for a choice of 6 or 7 dishes. You could also choose from the full menu. I had perch with... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsWendywoo
il grifone i, Owner at Ristorante Il Grifone, responded to this review

Thank you !! We all forward to see you soon. More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

Haven't been here for a couple of years and decided to have a visit. As usual it was very quiet, I have no idea why but people seem to pass it by. Was welcomed and seated with no problem, had olives for starters and a pasta main, really nice food, the maitre de was helpful and wanted to ensure we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig M
il grifone i, Owner at Ristorante Il Grifone, responded to this review

Thank you, always grateful to see you back here. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We ate here tonight because we can depend on the food and service. We come up from Sydney once a month and is our go to restaurant for dinner. Tonight my husband started with the sardines he said best he had eaten. I had the calamari superb. Then stuffed pasta with spinach ricotta and rich ragu and I had scallops... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
il grifone i, Owner at Ristorante Il Grifone, responded to this review

The whole team is very appreciative of your review, a great boost to their morale and for whole us to keep up to costumer's expectations . We look forward to welcoming you soon again. Many Thanks ! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

This restaurant has the best Italian food I have tasted in a long time. I had the squid ink pasta and wish i had ordered the large serve it was so delicious. For dessert I ordered tiramisu which topped off the meal. My sister had the salmon which was a generous size and cooked to perfection. The waitress was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ikeyp
il grifone i, Owner at Ristorante Il Grifone, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and so glad to hear we lived up to your expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Il Grifone also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Ristorante Il Grifone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Italian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Honeysuckle Dr, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: 49292008

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ristorante Il Grifone staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?