We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant

200 Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
+61 2 4929 1111
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (219 reviews)
“chowder” (13 reviews)
“swordfish” (15 reviews)
Open Now
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
200 Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I attended a lunch group with guest speakers and was really impressed with the efficiency of the service to get 20+ people fed during a busy lunch period on time without a fuss. Being able to slip next door for after lunch drinks was pretty...More

Thank newcastle331
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to Scratchley's for a family function and had the seafood platter or 2. Could not fault it it was fresh it had a huge variety and it was big. the food combined with the view you can't fault

Thank N1648FOdavid
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location on Newy harbour with the best views. Big choice of seafood well prepared and presented. Efficient friendly service. ideal for visitors to Newcastle.

Thank Michael D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Welcoming staff accomodating to requests. Seafood platter excellent combination of fresh crustaceans lightly golden fried seafood generous portions. Kids meals clean plates left by all. Wine list drinks list great selection. The views on the harbour front rather soothing and entertaining for the kids. We...More

Thank Lindy P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a table by the water and ordered the hot and cold chargrilled seafood platter. Very generous portions but sadly the prawns and bugs were bland. We alerted the excellent wait staff who confirmed with the chef that they had a new supplier and it...More

Thank U3367QDgarym
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife was down to visit. I hadn’t seen her since July. Service life... It was after 5 when we walked past, called on a whim, and asked if there was a possibility of a table by a window overlooking the water. Sure, we booked...More

Thank Julian D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of 8 went there last night for a special occasion. The reason we chose. scratchleys is because it rates the top seafood restaurant but we beg to differ. Four of us wanted lobster but there was none.nmy husband ordered something from the special...More

Thank jebea68
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback jebea68, I apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us yesterday.I was not working last night but I have addressed your feedback with the staff and supervisors who were rostered on. Firstly, I apologize that we didn't have any...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What u pay for is what u get. The staff are always welcoming and the food, included with the sea view, sure makes it a dinner l will enjoy again and again.

Thank arjunt82018
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks arjunt82018!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I used to take my daughter here when in Newcastle many years ago as being part of Scratchleys ensured it's standard. We went back last weekend with our daughter and grandchildren only to find that we were charged for a piece of thickly crumbed piece...More

Thank LokeNSW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had the seafood chowder, roasted vegie and garlic prawn. And we loved them. Portions are very decent even for entre size. Will definitely come back.

Thank Hendra T
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Hendra T, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 hotels in Newcastle
Quality Apartments City Centre Newcastle
158 reviews
.43 km away
The Grand Hotel Newcastle
112 reviews
.57 km away
Rydges Newcastle
1,194 reviews
.58 km away
Clarendon Hotel
478 reviews
.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Momo Wholefood
95 reviews
.19 km away
Una Volta
112 reviews
.23 km away
One Penny Black
146 reviews
.13 km away
Sprout Dining
266 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Christ Church Cathedral
212 reviews
.40 km away
The Lock-Up
35 reviews
.47 km away
Railway Carriage Shed
14 reviews
.04 km away
Watt Street Wharf
8 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
dxandj
4 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from vicki w | Reviewed this property |
They have a well layed out menu but definitely pick off the specials menu. It's full of fresh seasonal seafood. Could do 2 courses for 2 with wine for $120
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 200 Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4929 1111
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing