We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$8 - AU$29
CUISINES
Cafe
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
View all details
features, about
Reviews (124)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
66
20
17
5
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
66
20
17
5
15
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 July 2022 via mobile

Appalling customer service. Plenty of other places in town where you can get a good coffee AND common courtesy.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2022

The food at Uncle Joe's is enjoyable but we didn't get a smile from anyone and the lady serving us didn't look at us once. There were a lot of signs around the cafe saying everything they won't/can't do which made me anxious to order...by the time I got up there because I wasn't sure if what I was ordering would contradict one of their signs. If you're looking for a place to get good food and let your kids have a play, I'd recommend it but don't expect to leave thinking you'll go back.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2022

I live locally and come here often. I really only come for the convenience as it is located next to the playground. I would say 9 out of 10 times the staff are rude. Right from the moment I walk in I see staff look...me up and down like I'm a criminal. I definitely don't buy any food here for this reason and stick to the essential coffee. Would love to feel more welcome at this cafe.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2022 via mobile

Sitting down with my newborn having a bite to eat while my partner was waiting for our coffee to be made and a very rude lady with an accent whom seemed like the owner come n abruptly moved us on even after me explaining i...was waiting for our coffees. She said i dont care u cannot sit here. I then asked for a refund! Disgusting experience!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dennis P, General Manager at Uncle Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2022

You do understand that you are a cliche, right? When YOU are in the wrong by bringing food from another restaurant in ours, the cliche is to play victim and claim to be 'abused' when asked to please relocate. Without. fail. Adding the xenophobia is...More

Reviewed 1 December 2021 via mobile

Firstly the older blonde lady was extremely rude/disrespectful to my friends and family. Accusing us of eating food from another cafe at the tables when we where literally served minutes early while she was in the kitchen. She saw us receive our food and take...it to the dining area. Then proceeded to come over and belittle my younger brother who has server anxiety. We tried to explain we had purchased the food from Uncle Joe’s but she wouldn’t let us get a word in. Secondly the wait for a egg and bacon roll was 25 minutes plus when we where basically the only ones in the restaurant. From reading the previous reviews the owner does not care for customers complaints or feedback on how to improve the dining experience. Stay away if you value your time and money.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2021

First off, service was slow and food was average at best which is not acceptable for a slow day like today. On top of that the food was disgustingly overpriced. I was overcharged by $9 on my meal which I noticed after I had left....But all that aside the worst part of the experience was the customer service. The blond lady with the glasses (potentially the owner) verbally abused me for simply sitting down at a table. She was extremely aggressive and was telling me I cant bring food from other places to her shop even though I was clearly eating food from her shop. There was no warning just straight aggression which in the hospitality industry in which I have personally worked for 8 years I have not once seen a more ignorant, rude and disrespectful business owner. I am extremely disappointed that people like this are aloud to serve people let alone are aloud out in public, absolutely disgraceful! I do not recommend anyone eating here all round horrible experience. Better customer service at McDonalds, and I genuinely do wish that was a joke.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dennis P, General Manager at Uncle Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2021

First to the portion of your complaint that may be legitimate. It is difficult to dispute whether you were over-charged or not. If you were, we of course could have made a mistake. If we did, I apologise, and we'd be happy to fix that....More

Reviewed 20 June 2021

The worse coffee I have ever had. It literally tasted like dirty dish water. I threw it in the bin. They make you wait outside and call your name but don’t actually come out when they call, they just yell from inside. They also have...a sign at the door that says do not bring outside food or you will offend us. Well I’m sorry my kids wanted a doughnut and that’s not something that you sell so I feel like the disgusting look as I walked in was totally unnecessary 🙄 I obviously came in to buy something so who cares.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dennis P, General Manager at Uncle Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

I am sorry if the coffee was not to your liking. I am not sorry for any of your other complaints. It may come as a surprise to you but there is Covid Pandemic, and we are obligated under law to follow certain procedures. This...More

Reviewed 23 April 2021

We had scrambled eggs with extras, all well-cooked with fresh ingredients and served hot. The toast and coffee were also tasty.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dennis P, General Manager at Uncle Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2021

Thank you for the feedback

Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

If you’re a coffee snob... don’t go there. Awful coffee. So hot I could hardly pick up the paper cup. Burned milk. None of the requests I asked of the barista were followed. Might as well have burned a $5 note.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2020

When we looked around in the afternoon to see where we could have breakfast the next day, we found Uncle Joe’s cafe very inviting. It was not far from our accommodation; we could choose from indoor and outdoor tables also sunny and shady ones. The...breakfast menu was also very tempting, so it finally decided the issue. I ordered a raisin toast next to my cappuccino from nostalgia, and it was just as delicious as I remembered it from a good twenty years in perspective. My partner was eating some hamburgers. We had an enjoyable breakfast with delicious food, first-rate coffee, and courteous, fast service.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2020

Great friendly service. Best coffee in the Bay. Food is amazing freshly prepared. Food and coffee arrived in a timely manner especially under peek dinning period

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2020 via mobile

Quite a busy little spot. Stopped by for a quick bite for brunch as the kids were peckish. We ordered the double bacon and egg burger and the steak sandwich. Delicious and fresh. Kids had toasted ham and cheese croissant and side of fries with...some milkshakes. Food was fresh and served quickly which was great especially with restless kids. Definitely recommend Uncle Joe's.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D1813GLdennisp, General Manager at Uncle Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Thanks for the nice words :)

Reviewed 30 August 2020

My mum and I had lunch here. I had a Caesar wrap which was fabulous. The chocolate frappe was also delicious and refreshing.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D1813GLdennisp, General Manager at Uncle Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Thanks for letting us know :)

Reviewed 5 July 2020 via mobile

Absolutely delicious burgers and great service. We arrived in 2 different groups and almost at closing time. They accommodated us and our food arrived very promptly.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D1813GLdennisp, General Manager at Uncle Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2020

Thanks for this :)

Reviewed 19 March 2020

Food was good, overcharged for the drinks. $11 for 2 less then 600ml drinks out of the fridge is ridiculous

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D1813GLdennisp, General Manager at Uncle Joe's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2020
Google Translation

$4.50 for 600ml drink

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Zorba Waterfront Motel
267 reviews
.28 km away
Reef Motor Inn
76 reviews
.31 km away
Bridge Motel
48 reviews
.32 km away
Bay Executive Motel
66 reviews
.34 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Stingrays Ocean Grill
678 reviews
.13 km away
Innes' Boatshed
696 reviews
.15 km away
Starfish
940 reviews
.18 km away
Batemans Bay Ice Creamery
111 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Crank It Up Batemans Bay Festival
17 reviews
.23 km away
Batemans Bay Heritage Museum & Historical Society
20 reviews
.67 km away
Zippity Doo Playhouse & Cafe
15 reviews
.15 km away
Clyde River National Park
7 reviews
.67 km away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

UNCLE JOE'S CAFE, Batemans Bay - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Uncle Joe's Cafe

Uncle Joe's Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5