Saigon Kingdom Vietnamese Restaurant

Saigon Kingdom Vietnamese Restaurant

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+64 3-442 4648+ Add website
Hours
Sun
11:30 am - 3:00 pm5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Mon
11:30 am - 2:30 pm5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tue
11:30 am - 2:30 pm5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wed
11:30 am - 2:30 pm5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thu
11:30 am - 2:30 pm5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Fri
11:30 am - 2:30 pm5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Sat
11:30 am - 2:30 pm5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$7.00 – $36.00
CUISINES
Asian, Fusion, Vietnamese, Healthy, Soups
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Can a gluten free person get a good meal at this restaurant?
About
We bring to you a fantastic taste from our hometown - Viet Nam. We serve our guest with pride, passion and love.
PRICE RANGE
$7.00 – $36.00
CUISINES
Asian, Fusion, Vietnamese, Healthy, Soups
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles643 reviews
Excellent
336
Very good
194
Average
65
Poor
27
Terrible
22
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Esjay Jee
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
Food was delicious and served very fast. The serving sizes are quite large, very reasonable for the price paid. Very nice restaurant interior, clean and well decorated. The staff are lovely too. We ordered satay flat rice noodle with chicken, calamari, fried rice, vermicelli and egg noodles. We left with very satisfied tummies.
Written 8 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bec
Birmingham546 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 couples
We came here for dinner quite late (after 8pm). The staff were accommodating, friendly, and service was fast. We shared the pork spring rolls to start - packed with meat and flavour, perfectly crispy and delicious with a dipping sauce. We then both had Pho Bo, it was packed with flavour and lots of meat! Very soft beef cooked in the broth gently so it melts in the mouth. The venue itself has a lovely atmosphere. Very reasonably priced Pho starting at $15 with size upgrade options. Will definitely be back for another when we return to Queenstown
Written 31 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lauren
Christchurch22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 none
I stopped by Saigon Kingdom for lunch during my Queenstown roadtrip after seeing their lunch deal advertised outside - $15 for a base meal, prawn crackers and a drink. I had vegetarian fried rice, and added tofu for just $2 extra. The meal came quickly and was delicious - great value for money and just what I needed after a long morning exploring! Friendly, efficient super and beautiful restaurant. Would definitely go back!
Written 18 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Hannah B
Cheltenham37 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We liked the look of this place, and there were plenty of tables available, so we spoke to a waitress and she sat us at a table and brought us a bottle of water and a menu. We waited, and waited. Once we realised we’d drunk the whole bottle of water and no one had bothered to even come and take a drinks order, we left disappointed.
Written 26 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kylie O
Mosgiel139 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 couples
It’s a real shame as I have been here before post COVID lockdown and it was great, but today we booked, were seated by a rushed waiter who never returned to take any drinks or food orders. The place was seriously understaffed with one woman taking orders then making the drinks herself for a packed restaurant. They simply couldn’t manage and appear not to have enough staff working. I wouldn’t go back again unless the place was empty - last time the food was fabulous so very disappointed not to end up eating here.
Written 26 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Nguyen
Hi 473kylieo, Thank you for spending your precious time with us, however, we have failed to meet your expectation. As you may already awared, we, together with many shops in Queenstown, are currently having staff shortage, we have tried our best to recruit more experience staffs, yet there are none available. Please accept our sincere apology, we strive to constant improve our service to our highest standard and do hope that your next visit will be worthwhile. Kind regards, Daniel Nguyen
Written 19 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DUNCandMINS
Auckland40 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
We eat here every time we are in town, and usually several times during our stay! We have done this for many years now and have found the food to be consistently good. The Pho is authentic and delicious and excellent value for money. This time we also tried take out for the first time. We were incredibly surprised at how well it was done and packaged cleverly so as to maintain the integrity of the dish during the journey. Plus delivery was free! We look forward to dining again next time we are in town.
Written 26 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jim M
14 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
June 2021 none
I pre-booked a table at Saigon Kingdom having previously been to their Frankton location which I was impressed with. On arrival we were told that our table was over there& we were not escorted to our table. We were not made to feel welcome, the waitress managed to bring us glasses but no water which was frustrating and we had to wait too long for our menus to arrive. Eventually I had to ask one of the waiters for some water at our table. I could not fault the food which was both tasty and fragrant. The Vietnamese pancake was a bit oily but not having had one before was unsure what it should be like. I appreciate that it was a busy night on a busy long weekend but Saigon Kingdom did not even get the basics right. The staff at the Queenstown shop could really do with a lesson in hospitality from their Frankton sibling or any half decent restaurant. I would not recommend Saigon Kingdom in Queenstown but have no reservations in endorsing their Frankton location.
Written 8 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Nguyen
Hi Jim, First and foremost, I would like to say thank you for being loyal customers at Saigon Kingdom and choosing our branch in town for Dinner on Sunday night. We do apologize for your unpleasant experience at Saigon Kingdom - Steamer Wharf. At Saigon Kingdom, we always value our customers and strive for excellence service, especially toward locals, thank you for your continued support during this unprecedented time. I am also really appreciated your understanding that it was an extremely busy long weekend and we are in short of staffs due to town has been quiet the past few weeks. However, this is not an excuse for us to have a delay (in this case 6 mins) to deliver the menu upon your arrival, and to be more attentive during your dining experience. I understand that it is very frustrating and unacceptable of what happened on your last visit. We have taken note and advise staffs to follow our procedure precisely in any occasion. Once again we really do apologize for your unsatisfactory experience with us. We do hope you give us a second chance next time on your next visit to town. Best regards, Daniel Nguyen Owner/Director
Written 9 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SAORI Y
Auckland24 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
we went to here for lunch. we were with toddler so the guy offered us couch spacey seat which was so helpful and kind. the food was also quite authentic- we ordered laksa, pho, tom yum noodle. my mom never tried laksa before but she loves their laksa very much. we only could have nice family time in here. thank you so much
Written 13 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MAH
17 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 none
Pork skewers with satay sauce were delicious. Chicken mango salad terrible . Chicken was dry stringy and flavourless. Compounded by the fact serving staff never returned to check how the food was even though it wasn’t busy . I think there is a reason it’s not busy .
Written 15 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tracey B
23 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 family
We booked a table here and found the service and atmosphere very good. Ordering a variety of dishes most of us were happy with our meals. I ordered the tiger prawns with garlic, chilli and vietnamese mint. The prawns had no real flavour to them and were slightly overcooked. Was disappointing not to have any vietnamese mint in the salad as stated on menu. When i asked for it they bought out a plate of plain mint! Aside from this, I will definitely return for another go.
Written 22 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Adam M
Auckland21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We have tried all the "popular"/highly rated asian cuisine spots in Qtown and Saigon stood out. The Beef Pho was the highlight, the broth was super authentic and hit the button! My wife had the Vietnamese pancake and the pork spring rolls. The Crepes were amazing and it came out fried which was a surprise but a good one. Use the lettuce to make a tasty little san choy bau with the leftovers :)
Written 19 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Avalon F
Auckland19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 none
We had dinner here and it was delicious. we shared deep fried spring rolls, Vietnamese mango chicken salad and shaking beef which was plenty for us. It is also really good to be able to drink Saigon Special beer imported from Vietnam as this really adds to the experience.
Written 9 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

vybhav k
New Zealand4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 couples
This Indian Manager there is deep into discrimination. Sorry to say this but its true. We booked a table at 7pm where we were given a time of 7:30pm. No other instructions were given at the time of booking. Upon coming for dinner, we were given a table outside but being cold we wanted to sit inside. I have seen for the first time that the customer cannot choose where to sit and the manager in the restaurant decides where we can sit though we are paying for the food. Anyways, it was quiet obvious that the Indian lady manager there was so biased towards people that she was selectively letting people to sit inside. When we asked for a table to sit inside, got a stupid reply from her that you have to book a table 5 days before if you want to sit inside. One of the staff inside also mentioned that there are many tables vacant inside but still we were not given a place. Finally, seeing such a rude behavior of your staff, we had to go to a different restaurant. To be honest, being a local of QT, I don't think we need such biased people here.
Written 9 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kashish Ahuja
Good evening Vybhav, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. We looked into the incident and there might have been a misunderstanding. You walked in at around 7pm as the restaurant was fully booked, we offered you a table around 7:30pm. After that you arrived 15mins prior to booking time around 7:15pm, we were happy to accommodate prior as well. Our staff prepared the table for you and were happily to accommodate you in the covered courtyard with heaters. When offered a table, you asked that you needed a table inside, on your request we checked the system and informed all these tables were already booked and occupied. On this fact you insisted that you also made a booking, your booking was made in the covered courtyard. If you would have requested a table inside we would have given you the time accordingly. It was a long weekend and Easter Sunday. I hope you understand the fact, we have bookings made in days or weeks advance which have to be accommodated accordingly. I don’t know which restaurant allows you to choose your own table. We have a systematic booking system, which is based on first come first serve basis. Making sure we are fair to all our guests. I have checked with all our staff, no one mentioned there were tables vacant inside. If you still may have any concerns in the mentioned matter feel free to reach us at Wharf@saigonkingdom.co.nz.
Written 13 April 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daysh
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 family
We use to come here every Queenstown trip in town for the amazing service and great food. Had a group of 19 (ordering enough for 30!) When coming to pay, was told no split bill, then told we could split between 2 people, then given a pen and paper to split between 4. We are a Pacific Island family, and can't help but feel maybe we were profiled (we're they worried we would run away without paying I don't know. It was an advanced booking so there was no heads-up about split payment. Other tables who had come later than us received their food (same dishes) before us. Last time for us. There was definitely a vibe from one of the female waiters/manager, did not feel welcomed at all.
Written 7 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Nguyen
Hi Daysh123, Thank you for choosing us for your recent dining. We do apologize on the recent event, that our current policy made you feel uncomfortable, which should be communicated before hand. We always try our best to accomodate any customer requests ( including spliting bills between 19 people). However due to staff shortage, we have a policy to reducing the split bill amount to 1 or 2 times, in order to service other customers better, and kindly ask if you can organise the split between the group if possible. Once again, we do aplogize for the bad experience. We do believe great customer service is as important as great food and do hope that you can give us another chance. Thank you for bringing this to my attention! Kind regards, Daniel Nguyen
Written 19 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lmilanga
New Zealand9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 none
Entry to the restaurant is from the lovely marine parade through beach street. Atmosphere & deco certainly provides the feel of Asia. Staff are welcoming and presentable. The food is amazing. We were a family with 5 adults and 2 kids and ordered different dishes from the menu. Every dish had its own flavors, i loved the Siagon Fried Rice. Mention the level of hot spices you need in your dish. Everyone enjoyed their dishes and staff were great. Barsha was very approachable & professional. Thank you ! I certainly recommend to anyone looking for Delicious & Satisfying meal in Queenstown to Visit Saigon. Cheers !!!
Written 14 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 607
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
Vudu Cafe And Larder
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, Contemporary, Healthy, New Zealand
Fogo South American Bbq Experience
$$ - $$$ · Brazilian, Barbecue
Perky's - Floating Bar Queenstown
$$ - $$$ · Bar, New Zealand
Blue Kanu
$$ - $$$ · Asian, Healthy, Polynesian
Mora Wines & Artisan Kitchen
$$ - $$$ · New Zealand
Bella Cucina
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European
Margo's Queenstown
$$ - $$$ · Mexican
Tanoshi Cow Lane
$$ - $$$ · Japanese, Asian, Grill
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SAIGON KINGDOM VIETNAMESE RESTAURANT, Queenstown - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Queenstown
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars