Jervois Steak House Queenstown

Jervois Steak House Queenstown

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+64 3-442 6263+ Add website
Hours
Sun
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tue
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wed
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice Best of the Best 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Steakhouse, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
features
CUISINES
Steakhouse, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available

Reviews

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,450 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Jervois Steak House Queenstown has established a reputation for its high-quality steaks and commendable service, with many guests enjoying the well-appointed venue and the lovely ambiance it offers. While the restaurant is celebrated for expertly cooked meats and attentive staff, some patrons have felt the prices were steep given their experiences. Despite the overall positive feedback, there have been instances of undercooked dishes and longer wait times, as well as a particular mention of an incident that detracted from the otherwise special atmosphere.
Food
Heavenly
Atmosphere
Memorable
Service
Attentive
Value
Pricey

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,450 reviews
Excellent
1,042
Very good
257
Average
99
Poor
31
Terrible
23
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Angela
Denver15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
My husband and I booked an early dinner reservation at Jervois during our first night in Queenstown. Our server was incredibly friendly and attentive throughout the dinner. We ordered a glass of wine and a cocktail which were both reasonably priced for the area. My husband ordered the angus steak and I ordered the Wagyu filet. They were both cooked perfectly and if you are planning on ordering steak, I would definitely recommend the Wagyu! We ordered 2 sides to split and it was honestly the perfect amount of food. Overall, if you’re looking for a nice steakhouse vibe, this is your place.
Written 5 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt
Hi Angela, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your dining experience. Great to read that you and partner enjoyed such a great meal with us, we really appreciate the positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hayden JSH Queenstown
Written 30 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ChrisNZontheroad
Mosgiel14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
June 2020 none
We chose Jervois steak house to celebrate my 30th birthday with my son and Fiance and we made the correct choice. JSH has a beautiful range of steaks, and their chefs are able to cook them to perfection. I chose the Diamantina and my fiance chose the rump steak. They were cooked exactly how we asked them and they were absolutely delicious. The quality of the steak was exactly as advertised. The sides we ordered were also delectable. Particularly the scorched carrots which may be the best carrots I have ever tasted in my life. The restaurant itself is in a great location and has great ambiance. The furnishings are high quality and suit the style of restaurant and enhance the atmosphere of your meal. The wait staff were excellent and accommodating, especially as we brought a toddler which seems to have been a bit out of place at this restaurant. Thank you for providing some things to keep him entertained. The cocktails are also excellent, I highly recommend the espresso martini if it appeals to you. Overall a fantastic restaurant, delicious well cooked food and an amazing dining experience.
Written 20 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt
Hi ChrisNZontheroad, Thanks for writing in to let us know about your dining experience. Thanks for choosing us to celebrate your 30th, we are really happy to hear that your experience went so well and thank you for the very positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you dine with us. Kind regards Hayden JSH Queenstown
Written 5 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Denise M
Sydney7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Jervois looked after our large group of 9 expertly. The food was outstanding, every guest extremely satisfied, even the vegetarians were very happy. The sides generous and scrumptious. The only small downfall was the $65 item on the bill for table water (still). We were expecting, like every other restaurant we had been to in Queenstown and Australia that table water would be free. After the fact, I looked on the website and found a specialised still water on the drinks menu however, if it wasn't ordered by name then a confirmation by the waiter would have been the most appropriate action. What a shame as people felt scammed by an otherwise perfect meal.
Written 11 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt
Hi Denise M, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your dining experience. I'm pleased to hear that you and your party enjoyed your experience with us at JSH, we do serve bottled sparkling bottled still or tap water and we offer all options to our guests, one of your party ordered the bottled still water which does have a cost associated to it unlike our tap water. I apologize for the confusion with this and would be happy to refund the cost of the water, feel free to get in touch with me direct and we can arrange. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hayden JSH Queenstown
Written 31 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

NZJenn1
Auckland31 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 couples
We were really excited to try this restaurant, the reviews we read were excellent & we love a good steak! The service we had was fantastic- we couldn’t have been looked after better by our waiter, but unfortunately the food was a big let down. The steaks we had when served to us were tepid warm, like they had been sat waiting for the sides to be finished (which were hot) - I expect better from a restaurant that prides itself on steak. The quality of both steaks (different types) were also questionable- a lot of gristle left over and fat which hadn’t been rendered. Sides were great albeit quite small & desserts were excellent. Great wine list but a number of our selections (of local wines) were unavailable/sold out which was disappointing. I can see all other reviews are glowing, perhaps the restaurant just had an off night when we were there? Based on our experience, we wouldn’t return :(
Written 3 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt
Hi NZJenn1, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your dining experience. Great to read that you had the level of service we pride ourselves on here at JSH. I'm sorry to hear however that the food did not meet your expectations, we here at Jervois always rest all of our steaks to ensure the quality of cooking is of a high stranded, after the steak has been rested we do place on our grill quickly to allow the outside to warm up however the intention is never to serve the steak super-hot, we do pride ourselves on our steaks here at Jervois and we always try and encourage our guests to let us know about any issues so we can try and rectify on the night so I apologies if you did not feel comfortable enough to say something at the time of your meal. We do have a very extensive wine list and pride ourselves on the variety that we have on offer, as you did dine with us over the holiday period we would have sold out of a lot of our vintage wines due to how busy we were and as all our suppliers would have been shut down we are not able to replenish our wine selection so I do apologies that the initial wine you were after was out of stock. We would love to see you back one day so we can try and change your opinion and show you a great experience that we pride ourselves on. Kind regards Hayden JSH Queenstown
Written 26 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Skion3
Wellington14 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2020 none
We visited the restaurant in July 2020 with friends who had visited before and had a good meal. Sadly not the same this time. Extremely expensive, very little information given about the different steaks and we all had great trouble understanding the waitress.
Written 2 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt
Hi Skion3, Thanks for writing in to let us know about your dining experience. Sorry to hear that your dinning experience did not live up to expectations, as I'm sure your guests who had dined with us before would note that we do offer to assist all our guest on selecting the right cut of meat or an explanation on the different cuts we have hear however it sounds like this was difficult for your table with being able to hear your waitress. This may have been due to it being a busy night and it being loud so you where unable to hear her so I'm sorry if you did not feel comfortable with asking them to speak louder. We hope to see you again soon so we can improve on your previous experience. Kind regards Hayden JSH Queenstown
Written 5 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jantipa v
9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2020 family
Our family dined at Jervois Steak House on Saturday 25th July to celebrate our 1st anniversary. We requested a high chair for our 7th month old daughter. Unfortunately, after our daughter was seated in this high chair, she fell through the gap at the back of the high chair falling to the floor. She wasn’t upset but NONE of JSH staff came to check on her if she was okay. Our daughter could be badly injured by this incident but they don’t care. We wrote email directly to them to investigate that high chair but no one has replied since. So we assume that high chair is still being used. So if you are going there with your little one, please MUST check their high chair quality before seated them in.
Written 4 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt
Hi gibbv, Again we apologize that your daughter fell through the high chair, I did email you back as soon as you emailed through to us so I would ask you to double check your emails. We where not aware this happened on the night and as it was not brought to our attention we where not able to discuss with you as we did not know, to say that we don't care is not the case at all as we were unaware. We do have one style of high chair here at Jervois as explained to you and we provided it to you, we do expect the parents to take responsibility for watching there child while dinning with us and to ensure that their child is not too small for the highchair, had you have let us know that you had a young infant dinning with us on the night we would have informed you of the size of our high chair and recommended you bring in a high chair that is more suited to a small infant. This is the first time in 8 years that this has been brought to our attention and we have never had any quality issues with our chairs. We have ave since checked again after your email to ensure this, I'm sorry that this spoiled your evening with us but again I would recommend in future when dinning out to contact the restaurant first to let them know that a high chair would be required and the age as then if an appropriate chair is not available then this message can be passed onto you. Kind regards Hayden JSH Queens town
Written 5 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kieran N-T
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 business
As a foodie I hate people who moan about things at restaurants or like to make a scene. I went in to share a meal with my business partners to celebrate our launching of a Queenstown office and wanted to enjoy a nice steak so asked some locals and found there were 4 steak houses in town and Jervios was close to our water front suite. The entre was amazing and the service was quality so expectations were high, I ordered the king cut 450 gram scotch fillet which was a good price $68 for a nice piece. My friends ordered nice cuts too and then we waited for dinner this is when it all went down hill completely. I ordered the steak medium (not one to moan if it’s slightly under or over I waited). My business partners steaks came out and were both medium rare as they had ordered and they loved them. I cut into mine and it was completely flesh red blood coming out all over, i showed the waiter who agreed it was literally fried for about 30sec and served close to blue (my friends had medium rare and you could see the difference between mine which was supposed to be medium). Happy with his kind manor I looked forward to having a new steak cooked medium. This is when the experience turned from bad to absolutely disgusting instead of just getting a new steak cooked medium (which would be expected at a steak house serving quality product) I got my undercooked steak back still rare, the chef cut it up like dog food and it tasted disgusting worse than when it came out blood red earlier. I have taken photos to show you I am not taking the piss here. I hate putting bad reviews but this is absolutely terrible for a steak house with a reputation like Jervois and ruined our $368 dollar meal as I couldn’t even eat the steak which was inedible. Yes the steak was removed from the bill but this ruined the whole meal for everyone both of the others felt aweful and as hospitality business partner we were in awe of the way this was handled. An apology and a fresh cut cooked medium would have been completely fine (we are not at a tavern here this is a steak house) and I was happy to pay for it and accept the chef undercooked it by accident and no one is perfect. This is not about getting a free meal or a voucher, the experience was absolutely ruined and what I received was absolutely unacceptable from a professional chef, when the waiter seen the state of this cut up steak on the plate he should have intervened and asked for a new cut to be cooked and not served this up knowing its supposed to be a high quality establishment. Horrible experience from someone who really hates to make a fuss, sorry for the novel but I feel compelled to share it is not good enough!
Written 18 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt
Hi Kieran N-T Firstly let me apologise once again for you not enjoying your steak with us the other evening. That is not the experience that we want our customers to have leaving us. If you had let us know that you were still unhappy with the cooking temperature of the King cut the second time round we would have been more than happy to have cooked you a fresh one straight away. When I questioned how everything else was with the meal when you paid, I wish you had said something further then so I could have helped to rectify the situation before you left. The next time you are in Queenstown we hope that you would want to give us another chance to show how great our chefs are, especially since you had enjoyed the entrees earlier in the evening. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch next time you are in Queenstown. Thanks Jo Thorp-Olesen Restaurant Manager
Written 20 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

fozzybear
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 couples
Jervois was recommended to us as a "must do" in Queenstown, and it certainly lived up to its reputation. Amazing selection of beverages, and a beautiful atmosphere, just makes you want to settle in for the night. We had a starter of cold meats with pickles, very good, and our entrees, white bait fritter and crayfish raviolo were sensational. My wife described her crayfish entree as being absolutely sensational. We both ordered steaks, which were cooked perfectly, which we had with a couple of side dishes. All in all, the night was amazing, and while it was rather pricey, we felt it represented good value considering the level of service, quality of food, and generous selection to choose from.
Written 9 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Cherie
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2020 none
This is where the Steak is. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly but not pushy or judgey. An amazing wine list. We went on what felt like family night, half the restaurant was kids, not mine so it didn’t bother me, I was more concerned with what are those kids ordering, who is paying $40+ for a kids meal, maybe one day if we win lotto...
Written 10 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt
Hi Cherie, Thanks for writing in to let us know about your dining experience. Great to hear that you had a great time dinning with us, we do also have a kids menu here at JSH so you can enjoy yourself while treating the kids to an experience as well. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you dine with us. Kind regards Hayden JSH Queenstown
Written 5 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maria M
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
We can't say enough good things about our experience dining at Jervois. The food was absolutely delicious (everything was cooked to perfection), the drinks were top notch, and Vanessa, our waitress, was extremely knowledgeable, attentive, and kind. I highly recommend dining at Jervois. We will surely return!
Written 15 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

April-c-is-me
Auckland134 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 couples
An amazing fine dining steak house experience. Our night was excellent Starting from a drink at the with a HUGE wine list and a very knowledgeable bartender who knew all about the options available including gin, and other cocktails we were interested in. Then upstairs we shared oysters and a smoked salmon entree which had jalepeno avocado dressing (highly recommended if if you like those things). Mains - beautiful steak and some delish sides - the candied kumara WOW. All and all a delish experience you will not go home hungry! Price wise, it’s on the toppy side ($250 for my parter and I for the above plus couple drinks) but well worth it if you ask me.
Written 12 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt
Hi D3246Tljohnw, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your dining experience. We are all very pleased to hear that your experience with us from start to finish was amazing, we really appreciate the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hayden JSH Queenstown
Written 28 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Starbuck
57 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 none
Visiting the Jervois Steak House while in Queenstown over the New Years period. The service was outstanding and the the selection of steaks was outstanding. Appetizers and side dishes were also delicious and everything was cooked to perfection. The wine list was very well organized and had a range to suit all budgets - from quality moderate priced wines to the best of the best. The staff was very knowledgeable not only about the food but also the wines. They were always there to give good service, but they never interfered or interrupted.
Written 10 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

andyandria2015
Cambridge45 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
We chose this restaurant as we were keen to try a few Degustation menu’s whilst in Queenstown. The food was very high quality and explained to us in excellent detail. It pushed our taste boundaries in a good way and overall was a great night out. Although the service was excellent we felt maybe they were a little understaffed for the business of the night as sometimes the wine matching was a little late to the table after the course had been served. Overall good food, good staff, good ambience and a really nice treat night out.
Written 9 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

K-Dogg
Auckland Central4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 none
The A5 Wagyu is a delicious, melt in you mouth, give me some more please, piece of meat that everyone needs to try. I have never experience meat as tender, tasty and as delicate as the A5 at Jervois Steak House. To Top it off, we enjoyed the company of the head chef coming to carve our steaks. Great customer service and great wine list to complement the cuts of meat you choose. I will be back.
Written 18 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Katie N
New Braunfels212 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019 none
My husband and I decided to treat ourselves on our last night in New Zealand (insert meltdown here). Jervois was recommended by a local for awesome meat and seafood selections. He said any restaurant you go to in New Zealand, no matter how fancy, you can show up in jeans and a nice shirt. We took his word for it and he was right all around. Casual was accepted here and the food was fantastic! I had fish, my husband had a type of lamb (according to our waiter only in New Zealand, or only raise there) and it marbles. Ugh! So good! We shared sides, had wine and cocktails and treated ourselves to dessert. It was very nice and romantic and our server was just incredible and attentive- can't say I have ever, in my life, had a better server. Best part? Don't be scared of the price. After everything we had, plus 20% tip (they encourage tip here, unlike the rest of the country), it was still under $100 US. We thought that was quite cheap, considering the dollar signs and "Steak House". You won't be disappointed whether it's with a group of friends or a romantic night out. They even have intimate balcony seating if the weather's just right.
Written 13 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jervoissteakhouseqt
Hi Katie N Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your dining experience. We really appreciate the positive feedback and I am glad yo and your partner were able to enjoy a meal with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hayden JSH Queenstown
Written 30 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 1,367
Best fine dining restaurants
See all
Nest Kitchen + Bar
$$$$ · Contemporary, New Zealand
Tatsumi
$$$$ · Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
The Bunker Restaurant
$$$$ · International, European, Contemporary, New Zealand
Rātā
$$$$ · European, Contemporary, Healthy, New Zealand
Botswana Butchery - Queenstown NZ
$$$$ · Seafood, European, Contemporary, New Zealand
Lombardi
$$$$ · European, New Zealand
Amisfield Restaurant
$$$$ · European, New Zealand
True South Dining Room
$$$$ · European, Contemporary, New Zealand
Wakatipu Grill
$$$$ · European, New Zealand
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

JERVOIS STEAK HOUSE QUEENSTOWN - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices, & Reservations - Tripadvisor

All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Queenstown
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars