We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sequoia Restaurant

$$ - $$$
340 Main North Rd, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
+64 3-352 9165
Website
Share
Save
All photos (14)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good26%
  • Average23%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (12 reviews)
“meringue” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
New Zealand
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
340 Main North Rd, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

The management should be ashamed of themselves. This was highway robbery for Mother's Day Brunch. They increased the price by 50% and claimed they had extras on Mother's day. The extras were a face painter and an animal balloon maker. Couldn't beleive they charged that...More

Thank Thomas C
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

This restaurant has been closed since March. You seem to have made a large mistake. We were not even open on Mothers Day. It is important that you get your facts straight before giving criticism.

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Tell me where else in Christchurch you will find such a HUGE range on offer? Seriously this place is fantastic value for money. We arrived and it was busy. The line was to the door but you could see by the experienced staff that this...More

2  Thank Darryl-Jo
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you so much for choosing to come to Sequoia. We appreciate you.

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

The meal was good and and ok. Plenty of different styles of food to keep ones interest in ones interested. The Grandkids loved the help yourself icecream. We will dine there again.

Thank karichchch
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you for dining with us and for your review

Reviewed 3 February 2018

Went to the sequoia last night to celebrate our nieces 31st birthday she is italian and im afraid the food was terrible. Dont the chefs taste their food before they put them out. The prawns were so tasteless, didnt want to try the hot ham...More

Thank Mihi H
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

We are very disappointed we didnt meet your expectations. We work hard to delight our customers. We offer our apologies for not getting it right for you. Preparing a buffet is challenging - we cater for babies to 100 year old people - all with...More

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Went there 20th January 2018, time 5.45pm cost expensive $32+ for dried food which had obviously been sitting quite some time, the handles of spoons and tongs unbearably hot. I suggested a plate for these tools to be placed in, seems too much work having...More

Thank nzkiwi51
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Beautiful food, friendly staff......but if you blink they will swoop on your plate and take it away.This has happened there on two different visits now. This time I asked my colleagues to 'guard my plate and don't let the staff take it' as I had...More

Thank PoppyOreilly
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

We are sorry that this occurred. I will be talking with our team about slowing down with this. So pleased you loved the food and it's great there is always lots more food if your plate is removed. We think we have a lovely friendly...More

Reviewed 25 December 2017

We decided to try this restaurant because we live close by. It was adequate and there was certainly a big selection but none of the food stood out. The dining room looked tired and in need of redecoration. All in all it was OK but...More

Thank Sandra B
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Perhaps you could try our new restaurant at The Redwood. You might like a smaller restaurant with the food served specially for you. It's called Pizza at The Reddie - serves lots more than pizzas - delicious dishes.

Reviewed 8 December 2017

Dreadfully disappointed. Had amazing meals here a couple of times, quite a while ago. So were expecting it to be the same. Not so. The first part of the buffet was just the same as you could get at a fish and chip shop. then...More

Thank penguinlover28
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

I note that you do not mention the hot ham, the roast beef, the fresh salmon, roast vegetables, the salads and many other choices on the buffet. Yes we do have a fried section and an Asian food section also. Amongst the many desserts are...More

Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

We had many plates of food tonight and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Had never been before and everyone at work I had told we were going had told us it was worth the visit and they were right. We found the staff very friendly...More

Thank salbern
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Very bad value for money. Yes its all you can eat... but the sight of the food will put you off dinner. Dried out. Stodgy dishes all of which have clearly been sitting in the bainmaries for a very very long time. We sat for...More

Thank annelies b
SequoiaTheRedwood, Owner at Sequoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

I apologise for the presentation of some food on the buffet on this evening. I was in the restaurant late in the buffet sitting and noted that presentation was not as it should be. It was a difficult evening. I have already spoken with the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 147 hotels in Christchurch
Avon City Motel
27 reviews
.21 km away
Northcote Motor Lodge
50 reviews
.57 km away
Garden City Motel
109 reviews
.76 km away
AAA Northlands Motel
35 reviews
.86 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Coasters Tavern Redwood
60 reviews
.44 km away
Curry Time Indian Restaurant
49 reviews
.56 km away
Redwood Souvlaki
11 reviews
.16 km away
Coffee Culture Redwood
19 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Willowbank Wildlife Reserve
868 reviews
2.27 km away
Groynes
60 reviews
2.44 km away
Northlands Shopping Centre
30 reviews
2.07 km away
Styx Mill Conservation Reserve
14 reviews
1.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chloe W
5 February 2018|
Answer
Response from James C | Reviewed this property |
yes you can
0
Votes
Jeannie T
27 December 2017|
Answer
Response from SequoiaTheRedwood | Property representative |
Yes certainly. What time would you like to come?
0
Votes
Kezzy B
23 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Sammy G | Property representative |
Hi there, yes we sure do. For functions, please pop into reception anytime for a free info pack, or give us a call on 033529165. Thanks
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 18 - USD 22
Cuisine
New Zealand
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 340 Main North Rd, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-352 9165
  • E-mail
Description
A buffet restaurant, dinner every evening and breakfast and lunch on Saturday and Sunday. Huge array of dishes. Ideal for groups. Appeals to all generations. Child friendly. Recently refurbished restaurant. Full bar service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;