We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zen Sushi and Dumplings

301 Montreal Street | The Arts Centre, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
+64 3-379 6888
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent93%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (52 reviews)
“miso soup” (11 reviews)
“fresh fish” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Japanese, Fast food, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
301 Montreal Street | The Arts Centre, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 135 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We made the mistake of seeking this place out after seeing it was so highly rated on trip advisor. The sushi was bland with a very poor selection (5 types), and the dumplings were ok but definitely not worth coming back for, they took about...More

Thank pytaloka
Richmond_Weila, Owner at Zen Sushi and Dumplings, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi there, Thanks for taking time to give us feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our sushi or dumplings. We unfortunately had one staff down due to illness today. The rest of the weekend team worked extremely hard to produce as...More

Reviewed yesterday

This place serves the best sushi and dumplings I have ever had. They have pre-packaged sets or you can hand-pick your own sushi. They use the freshest and highest quality ingredients. I tried a variety of sushi including the salmon sushi which uses fresh Malborough...More

Thank HBTripReviewer
Reviewed yesterday

We tried their Chicken Katsu and Bulgogi Beef Sushi for lunch. They serve free-range chicken and high-grade rice. The fried chicken pieces were crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. Rice was soft. Besides they serve with a lot of enthusiasm and passion....More

Thank jsmnyap
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Awesome wee place. Food is always excellent and the sushi looks and tastes amazing :) the customer service is very good as well.

Thank Rommel P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were there after looking at the reviews from Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We had some king salmon sushi, beef sushi and vegetarian dumplings. Love their fresh salmon in sushi the most, the owner was really friendly and passionate about his business. Thank...More

Thank jinqyi
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were looking for an afternoon snack and went here due to the great reviews on trip advisor .. im glad we did ! The service was top notch - very friendly and helpful with recommendations for dumpling selection.. 3 types of Dumplings were freshly...More

Thank Fasteata
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Delicious sushi which you can select piece by piece for a more gourmet experience. I was sold as my favourite tamago was on offer. All nigiri pieces were generous in size and the rice had really good flavour and texture. Lovely bright place & super...More

Thank ZenShell
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The pan fried pork dumplings are just owesome. The skin is crispy, filling is fresh and juicy. The juice of filling just pop out on your first bite. I order to take away the dumplings again and sushi rolls for my dinner. Strongly recommend for...More

Thank tunopeng
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just a small taste and yes they are the best we have had ever.. so fresh with all quality ingredients and excellent service. Next time would love to try the sushi as it looks great

Thank kruuza
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stopped in Christchurch as we were driving by and looked at TripAdvisor to find good sushi, and Zen Sushi did not disappoint. The owner was working when we went and he was incredibly hospitable (even making me extra spicy sauce!) and...More

1  Thank Tyler O
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 147 hotels in Christchurch
The Classic Villa
288 reviews
.13 km away
Ibis Christchurch
1,028 reviews
.45 km away
Hotel Montreal
280 reviews
.53 km away
Flag Hotel Camelot Cathedral Square
52 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar
1,341 reviews
.05 km away
Inati
73 reviews
.21 km away
Cook'n' With Gas
367 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Margaret Mahy Family Playground
793 reviews
.26 km away
Christchurch i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
293 reviews
.05 km away
Christchurch Art Gallery (Te Puna o Waiwhetu)
357 reviews
.09 km away
The Arts Centre
44 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zen Sushi and Dumplings staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 11
Meals
Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 301 Montreal Street | The Arts Centre, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-379 6888
  • E-mail
Description
Zen Sushi & Dumplings is the premier takeaway eatery located at the beautiful Arts Centre in Christchurch. We offer a unique combination of cold sushi and hot dumplings under one roof. PYO (Pick Your Own) Sushi Great selections of salads and donburi Heavenly delicious pan fried or steamed dumplings Use highest quality ingredients Use free range meats and eggs Use king salmon Use environmentally friendly kraft paper packaging Supporting Ronald McDonald House by donating any leftover of the day to them Located at beautiful Christchurch Arts Centre next to Cheesemongers 40 Worcester Boulevard, Christchurch Open 7 Days a Week: 10am to 5pm week days, 11am to 3pm weekend
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing