We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plum Cafe

$$ - $$$, , Cafe
103 Cuba Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-384 8881
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good40%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (45 reviews)
“plum cake” (18 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 am - 9:00 pmAll hours
Contemporary, New Zealand, Cafe, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
103 Cuba Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Loved the vibe and the food, however let down substantially by the male waiter who was rude throughout our time at Plum Cafe. No eye contact, not interested in serving us at all. We were ready to leave after our initial contact with him but...More

Thank Moners2012
LoveFood201137, Owner at Plum Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Apologies you had that mixed experience. Thank you for your feedback and hopefully we are able to accomodate in a more welcoming manner at your next visit. Please email us at info@plumcafe.nz when convenient. David

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I got a braised steak sandwich and chips which was very nice, and quite sufficient. However why do cafes insist on sending out some orders on very small cheeseboard (with a useless long narrow handle that takes up space on the table). Ah, but I...More

Thank Pixiehat
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food. Great service. Can't fault it. Will come again next time. ............. Thats all i have to say.... trip advisor keeps asking me to write more .

Thank KDCNz
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was my first visit but I hope the wait times go down.....We had a table of 6 and all ordered food and some coffee's. we were all having a good catch up, the coffee came out pretty quick but I think I was the...More

Thank Jamel O
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Heard a lot of good things about this place including on this site - unfortunately didn't live up to expectations 40 minute wait and then food not great - poached eggs over cooked - coffee weak even after asking for an extra shot - waitstaff...More

Thank Aaron P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great menu in which was able to be adapted to my liking with no issues at all. Coffee was great ad arrived almost straight away.

Thank cglazewski
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maybe it's because we came here on our first night in New Zealand, but we so liked the people, the ambience, and the food that we have been back again and again. The eateries along Cuba Street can be crowded, noisy and a bit crazy,...More

1  Thank CarolDM1900
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Waited ages for food to come. Bircher muesli was disappointing. Menu stated served with poached fruit and yoghurt. Reality was almost dry Bircher a tablespoon of yoghurt and 5 berries. ☹️More

Thank jacquifinlayson
LoveFood201137, Owner at Plum Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So sorry for your experience Jacqui - please send us an email to info@plumcafe.nz as we recognise this was a weekend where unfortunate external personal events (bereavement) had an effect on the consistent delivery we aim to offer. We hope to be able to make...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped for a relaxing coffee, and decided to stay for the meal. Menu was not extensive, but the food we ordered was very good. Fabulous waiter and service.

Thank Batesnz
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Went on Saturday night. Staff very accomodating and friendly. We had the burger and it was fantastic, cannot believe it was not in the top 5. Well done Plum. Will be back!

Thank speightsalehousepn
Nearby Restaurants
Little Penang
332 reviews
.09 km away
Pizza Pomodoro
194 reviews
.07 km away
427 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cuba Street District
1,689 reviews
.01 km away
Wellington Night Market
82 reviews
.14 km away
St. Peter's Anglican Church
10 reviews
.27 km away
The Bucket Fountain
18 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Plum Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 22
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 103 Cuba Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-384 8881
  • E-mail
Cafe/Bistro serving Brunch, Lunch & Dinner. Plum is located in the heart of Cuba Street, Wellington just up from the Bucket Fountain. A firm favorite of locals & rewarding find to visitors. Free Range - Fair Trade - Good Food 7 Days from 9am No Public Holiday Surcharge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing