We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
Food at Spring Kitchen is an exhibition with an ultimate aim of evoking new flavours, emotions and ideas. It is an amalgamation of the best of New Zealand produce, Asian flavours and modern gastronomic techniques. Our chef brings them together to explore a combination that will satiate, please and surprise in a way that has not been experienced before.
USD 23 - USD 52
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks
Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegetarian burger mango bread halloumi salad indian fusion doubletree hilton lovely evening service was excellent amazing food central wellington dish presentation desert
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended by friends who experienced an Asian fusion experience. Small restaurant less then half full. So wouldn't expect to wait 1 hr10 for a ceasar salad. Told at booking we had a coeliac guest 3 days earlier. So their salad came with a big chunk...of old-fashioned bread.. A life threatening wheaty treat! When the salad was returned, the waiter confirmed the chef had only removed the bread, not remade the salad, meaning they tried to deceive the coeliac guest into eating something that would have made them very very ill. There was no asain fusion it was all deep fried pub food. Only 3 items for entree main or desert unless you took the bar snacks menu. The prawn croquettes were excellent but fried in the same frier as the battered fish n hips... And the only frier they have at the chefs own admission, so the chef also lied about the steak and chips being gluten-free as the fish had flour in the batter and would have contaminated any other food cooked in it. They did offer free coffees but it was way too little and in no way made up for the chefs ignorance or arrogance, or his dismissive attitude to a serious concern. The chef WILL lie to you. Definitely avoid.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Reviewed 25 March 2022

We had such a lovely date night here wednesday night. The Girl server working was extremely attentive and knew her stuff when it came to beer matching and cocktails We were greeted with smiles and we felt at home instantly with no awkwardness. The food...was delicious I really enjoyed my Halloumi dish. Only thing is I would recommend ordering a salad or extra watercress with it just for a bit more substance! Besides that we highly recommend and will definitely be back. Please pass on our thanks to the Male Manager, the chef, and the sweet server! You guys are doing so well - keep it up.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Reviewed 7 February 2022

After raising issues with our first experience the Restaurant Manager invited us back for a complimentary meal. We visited on a Sunday evening at 7pm. There was one other party in the restaurant this time around. The steak was cooked to order perfectly this time...around and they had the ribeye steak in stock. Off to a great start! The twice cooked potatoes were fantastic and we tried the butternut squash this time around which has a bit of a kick to it, very tasty. We had a different waitress this time around. Very attentive and came back to check each course was OK. The Long Island Iced Tea cocktail I ordered was a little weak however the signature cocktail my friend ordered I had last time and was wonderful.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Reviewed 5 January 2022

Subpar customer service. We used First Table to try this restaurant for the first time, it’s a great website to encourage new patrons to venues. We arrived and were the only people in the entire restaurant. I ordered a medium rare ribeye steak main course...with green beans and twice cooked potatoes as side dishes. When the food arrived my steak was cooked through - it was not medium rare. I returned it. We could hear the waiter, chef and Manmeet (unsure of job title) discuss that there were no ribeye steaks and to offer me a tenderloin instead. This discussion went on for five minutes as my friend ate her main before they approached the table. I agreed reluctantly to a substandard steak. I waited patiently for a further 20 minutes for this steak to arrive. I was not offered new hot sides to replace the ones that had gone cold while waiting for this to arrive. While waiting for the second steak to arrive I clearly heard the chef tell the waiter and Manmeet to not charge me for the steak as it was the kitchen’s fault the steak was not cooked to order the first time (remember there is no one else in the entire restaurant at this point). I thought ‘great customer service, I’ll stay for dessert now’. Ordered dessert - which was wonderful. Went to pay the bill and the ribeye steak was still on it. I challenged Manmeet. His response was that they had “offered a solution” by giving me the option to have a replacement steak. I explained that I heard the chef state not to charge me. Manmeet said that the chef said not to charge me for the ribeye but charge me for the tenderloin (they are the same price) and remember the receipt states ribeye (picture included in review where possible) so this is clearly untrue. I asked what the compensation was for waiting nearly 30 minutes to eat my meal while my friend had finished hers. Again Manmeet said that they “offered me a solution” by replacing the steak that was not cooked to order with a completely different steak. I then went to speak to the chef and she apologised and confirmed that she said to not charge me for the steak. When I challenged Manmeet he said the chef has no say over the final bill and he has decided to include the steak in the final total with no compensation for the issues experienced. I would not eat here again and I highly recommend you do not either. Had I not heard the chef clearly state to refund the meal I would have left after the main course myself. I sincerely hope the restaurant and hotel invest in some customer service training.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Sachin S, Owner at Spring Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2022

Hi There, We responded to the above issue that was raised on your identical Google Review, however in case you weren’t notified about it: Hi Tasha, We have done an internal review on this issue and I deeply apologise for the inconvenience you had at...More

Reviewed 27 November 2021 via mobile

Good menu. Slow service. But what a mixologist !!! Brilliant cocktails ! Ok bar food . Felt too close to other tables. Be great if the staff could have an overall manner of greeting people and looking after them but it seems that they have...their heads down looking at a computer screen? Talking to each other? But not looking at guests or checking in to make sure we have what we need!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

L2 in Wellington means social distancing and a bit of planning when eating out. We were delighted to discover the food here in the Doubletree Hilton hotel in central Wellington. The service we received was fabulous our waiter was knowledgeable and answered all of our...questions. Each course was presented beautifully and bursting with Indian flavours. The chicken laksa was amazing and the chocolate fondant a perfect way to end our meal. Congratulations we will return.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Reviewed 18 August 2021

An unassuming little restaurant, tucked away on the the first floor in a building in Wellington. Don't let that fool you. It presents a treasure chest of tasty meals, prepared by a friendly chef and caring waiters. The WOAP vegetarian burger was a tasty treat...with heaps of creativity from the chef. Flavours mixed that I could not imagine could work but it did, and I enjoyed what was offered. Also, the lunch bento is quite a good meal to try. Overall, the place offers quiet enjoyment of a meal, no loud music and very attentive waiters. Good venue to business lunch meetings or a quiet, getaway with a special friend.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

Unassuming little spot. No rah rah but, just good service, delicious food and old time hospitality. The 1st time I went for bento box which was a delicious combination of meals - sirloin, savoury rice, salad. I really enjoyed the mix of flavours. 2nd time...I went to sample their WOAP vegetarian burger = halloumi, hummus, tangy wasabi mayo on savoury bun, teamed up with MELA Apple juice. Flavours were amazing bit bun was bit too much to handle as it was flaky (in a good way!) But made a serious mess! The service was excellent on both occasions and although the prices are not on the cheaper side, the whole experience made it worthwhile. This spot is great for business lunches or a quiet catch up with a friend. No loud music to drown your conversation and a very attentive waiter ensuring your needs are met. Small bar area if you want a spot to catch up after work for drinks. Give Spring Kitchen a try. I know that I will returnMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Amazing food. Amazing service (by Chris and Lachlan) who were professional, friendly and so accommodating. We had a lovely night and thank you personally to the both of them for contributing to this. We were on the first night of Wellington Burger and the vege...burger was to die for. The food including dessert was incredible and the presentation beautiful. Thank you for a truly lovely evening.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed 22 May 2021

Food was amazing, Service really professional and passionate about the food they serve, loved that indian fusion touch, i was there with friends so we shared most of the food available on the menu, everything was worth trying, excellent flavours and presentation was on point!...After dinner we tried a few rums at the bar, great Service and knowledge about the products they sell! Really recommended!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Mads N, General Manager at Spring Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear francescocP3487RD, Thank you kindly for your review and 5 star recommendation, Spring Kitchen is always renewing itself and our new menu is another testament to the food journey we have been on these past 3 years. I was pleased to read that you found...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Doubletree By Hilton Wellington
337 reviews
.02 km away
CityLife Wellington
1,196 reviews
.04 km away
InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
2,021 reviews
.10 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
4,428 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chameleon Restaurant
470 reviews
.13 km away
Jasmin Licensed Chinese Restaurant
150 reviews
.05 km away
The Lobby Lounge
48 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wellington Museum
1,347 reviews
.22 km away
Wellington Cable Car
6,516 reviews
.24 km away
Old Bank Shopping Arcade
34 reviews
.17 km away
New Zealand Portrait Gallery
85 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Spring Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Spring Kitchen

Spring Kitchen is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5