We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago

) #21 of 93 Restaurants in Taupo $$$$ European, ,
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
+64 7-376 2319
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (12 reviews)
“sorbet” (5 reviews)
“truffles” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 140 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Awesome service - nothing was too much trouble, great food and wine and recommendations, tuna tartare a definite highlight, will definitely be backMore

Thank junet598
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear Junet598, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor, it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed dinner with us and did find our wait staff to be attentive. I have shared your feedback with the whole F&B team. Junet598,...More

Reviewed 3 September 2015

Seriously, this was up there with one of my best restaurant experiences since I started reviewing. We arrived early and took a seat in the bar where the Maître d' brought over the drinks menu. He was very knowledgeable of the entire bar and was...More

Thank CC_Tourism_Journal
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Dear CC_Tourism_Journal, thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent experience at Bistro Lago. I have to say that, it is excellent to read that your experience was one of the best restaurant experiences you have had. I have shared your...More

A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Had an outstanding meal last night. Nothing could be faulted from the service and the timings of the meals coming out. There were 4 of us eating and we decided to share 3 entrees between us. The were simply beautiful! And the antipasto platter was...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear Tripadvisor Member, Thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you not fault any aspect of the service during your recent experience. The antipasto platter is my favorite way to start a dining experience with....More

Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed every aspect of our meal. Plates were well presented, tasty mains and lovely sides. We wished we hadnt had the bread because we bcouldn't fit in dessert however the surprise petit fours for our anniversary managed to disappear. Very attentive service from Vishal...More

Thank StephAnie E
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear StephAnie E, Thank you for taking time to write your recent feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent anniversary experience with us. I have passed your feedback on to the kitchen and front of house staff. We look...More

Reviewed 22 August 2015

We had two breakfasts here, as guests of the hotel. Both breakfasts were the worst we ever had at a Hilton. First of all, the buffet was lacking, and was not on a par with buffet breakfasts in other Hiltons. Secondly, the place was filled...More

1  Thank TheShis
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear TheShis, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regard to your breakfast experience back in April. I am sorry to hear that we fell short of you expectations and you felt that our offering and service were not...More

Reviewed 17 August 2015

As 2 couple we had dinner to celebrate our significant wedding anniversaries & birthdays. What a great choice we made. From moment we arrived until we left we were treated as extra special guests. We all ordered a single main course only and that was...More

Thank AytonWellington
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear AytonWellington, Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I am extremely pleased to read that we exceeded you expectations when celebrating you birthday/wedding anniversaries and have passed your feedback on to the team. Thank you again for your...More

Reviewed 11 August 2015

Lovely Taupo bistro This is usually our favorite choice for dining in Taupo, the place is cosy so ring and book to ensure getting a table. Great staff, lots of character, great food in a place run by real Taupo locals....what more could you want.More

Thank Tony P
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear Tony P, Thank you for your recent feedback on tripadvisor I am glad that we are your favorite choice when visiting Taupo. I have passed your feedback on to our front of house staff and kitchen. We look forward to welcome you back to...More

Reviewed 3 August 2015

While staying the the Hilton we ate here for dinner and breakfast. The staff are friendly and helpful the decor very pleasant and the view great. We had a delicious meal at dinner time combined with some lovely wine recommended by the waiter. All the...More

Thank HampshireRoadrunner
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear HampshireRoadrunner, Thank you for your wonderful Feedback on TripAdvisor. It was fantastic to read that you had enjoyed your dining experience with us. We are very lucky to have such a Beautiful view of the lake and mountain, with good food to match. I...More

Reviewed 3 August 2015

The scenery doesn't get better than this. It's such a wonderful place to enjoy breakfast. My husband and I had the whole restaurant to our selves . The food is a great display of fresh NZ produce. The service is excellent. Food always tastes better...More

Thank Meridee K
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear Meridee K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regard to your breakfast experience. We do have beautiful array of NZ foods and our omelettes are made with free range eggs and locally grown vegetables. Your feed back...More

Reviewed 20 July 2015

Wonderful cosy restaurant to have pre or post drinks by the fire. Dinner was very nice. Friendly staff.More

Thank VettySG
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear VettySG, Thank you for your recent feedback, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your evening. Our staff do thrive to make all our customers feel welcome and we are lucky that our bar area has a fantastic fire place where guests can...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mole & Chicken
217 reviews
1.17 km away
Espresso Cove
80 reviews
1.18 km away
Edgewater Restaurant
181 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Great Lake Taupo
216 reviews
1.59 km away
Waipahihi Botanical Gardens
118 reviews
.72 km away
Wairakei Geothermal Power Station Visitor Center
72 reviews
1.03 km away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
404 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gogirl17
13 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Guido P | Property representative |
Hi St. Augustine, Sorry for the late reply. Legally we cannot have trout on the menu, I am afraid. However if you catch one, we are more than welcome to cook it for you. all we need to see if your current fishing license... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 18 - USD 28
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: +64 7-376 2319
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing