We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago

) #22 of 93 Restaurants in Taupo $$$$ European, ,
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
+64 21 518 402
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (12 reviews)
“sorbet” (5 reviews)
“truffles” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

We were 'shouted' dinner at this restaurant - never been before even though we live in the area - well, we were blown away. The food was absolutely stunning as was the service.More

Thank 106emt
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi 106emt, thank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor and I am glad to hear we fully met your expectations. I will definately share your review with the team and I am looking forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

we ate here twice during our stay and we still rave about the food.first night we were trying all the starters and I must say,they did amazing job but when on the second night we tried three mains it was absolutely sensational .The salmon main...More

Thank BJBG
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi BJBG, thank you very much for sharing your 19th years anniversary dining experience on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear we made your evening in such an important milestone, an evening to remember. BJBG, I have shared your feedback with the full team and...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

We had dinner on two nights, both nights were excellent and the staff friendly and attentive. We also had breakfast and there was an excellent range of food, again the staff were friendly and attentive. The restaurant is comfortable and well set out with lovely...More

Thank Dee C
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dee C, thank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor and I am glad to hear we fully met your expectations during both dinners you had at Bistro Lago. I will definitely share your review with the team...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Must admit after booking I was a little nervous we might be in for disappointment, however, how glad are we!... we just had the most beautiful carpaccio entree, lamb main and especially chef put together dessert that we have had in quite some time! That's...More

Thank maddrose
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Stopped for lunch with a friend today. What a beautiful setting overlooking Lake Taupo. The restaurant was warm and inviting with warm fires and cozy atmosphere. The staff were very attentive but not intrusive. the meal excellent, and the dessert platter superb. Thoroughly recommend it...More

Thank Moys G
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Delicious food with outstanding views. Wonderful attentive staff and a warm inviting area to relax with a drink after dinner in front of the fire.

Thank LoveTaupo123
Reviewed 1 May 2017

I had several dining experiences here while staying at the Hilton hotel that the restaurant is attached to. First, it should be noted that if you are not staying at the hotel, parking in front of the hotel is somewhat limited. If you are staying...More

Thank Fzedlach
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We had a one night stay at the Hilton and had dinner here and it was superb. The whole dining experience was top notch. Dinner was delicious and the service was excellent. Pinot Gris wine was also perfect for me.More

Thank Hillsey3
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi Hillsey3, Thank you for taking time to write your recent Bistro Lago experience on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that we fully met your expectations in both food and service. Again, thank you for sharing and I am looking forward to welcome you...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Staying at Hilton so popped in for dinner after a very long drive. We have 3 kids and all of us were tired and hungry. Our waiter 'Dev' couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Food was expensive but the quality, service and experience matched....More

Thank HomeTeamTraveller
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Had been looking forward to redeeming a a Birthday gift voucher at Bistro Lager but sadly it fell well short of expectations. Instead of cream to have with the stodgy scones a chocolate moose was provided, who ever heard of that ?. The choice and...More

Thank Stuart S
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi Stuart S, thank you very much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor and I am sorry to hear that in this occasion we have not met your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the kitchen team in regard to the food quality as...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mole & Chicken
219 reviews
1.17 km away
Espresso Cove
83 reviews
1.18 km away
Edgewater Restaurant
183 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Great Lake Taupo
229 reviews
1.59 km away
Waipahihi Botanical Gardens
119 reviews
.72 km away
Wairakei Geothermal Power Station Visitor Center
72 reviews
1.03 km away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
410 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gogirl17
13 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Guido P | Property representative |
Hi St. Augustine, Sorry for the late reply. Legally we cannot have trout on the menu, I am afraid. However if you catch one, we are more than welcome to cook it for you. all we need to see if your current fishing license... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 18 - USD 28
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: +64 21 518 402
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing