We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanuki Sushi & Sake Bar

Claimed
Reserve a Table
RestaurantHub

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
118
76
18
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
118
76
18
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi skewers donburi edamame beef tataki scallops salad monthly specials sake list japanese restaurant plum wine sat at the bar love this place the wait staff kabuki atmosphere cabbage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

We visited this establishment on our honeymoon, looking for a delicious sushi meal as it is our favourite! We were a little shocked and worried at the prices of this sushi as it is double what we have ever had to pay. However, with that...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank emwilz
RisaR1234, General Manager at Tanuki Sushi & Sake Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thanks Emwitz for your fantastic review! Our Chefs take great pride in our food and in delivering a premium dining experience. We use the best market fresh fish that is available on the day and where we can, we use fish that is either sustainably...More

Reviewed 24 November 2018

I was really disappointed with the food here. I hadn’t read the reviews so had no expectations, I was just staying in the hotel opposite and wanted a Japanese meal. The atmosphere was fine, the staff were great, the place is a bit run down,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank bongey
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Thoroughly recommend this establishment (closed on Mondays). Freshness and preparation was fantastic and the flavours and textures outstanding. We sat at the bar and watched as our order was prepared and served. One of the better places we have tried.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lawrence Y
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Having just come from Japan a few weeks ago, I had tempered my expectations about a proper donburi meal in Auckland. I was far from disappointed. The sushi was fresh and well-prepared. I chose chicken katsu, which was incredible. Miso is miso, but the salad...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Kevin T
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Not as good as the Cave in my opinion but still great variety of food. The service is always very good and they ask if you are in a hurry.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Donna S
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Was looking a light and fresh dinner. This definitely hit the spot! Food: Fresh good quality seafood, especially the sashimi Service: Fast and efficient Atmosphere: Fun to watch the kitchen working away

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank sarahwS2639DS
RisaR1234, Owner at Tanuki Sushi & Sake Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks for the great feedback! Our chefs take true pride in creating a delicious Japanese menu. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Not very impressed. Portions were very small, and the sushi not of good quality...just not that tasty, service was good. Overall we were disappointed and will not return.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Johnny083
RisaR1234, Owner at Tanuki Sushi & Sake Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Hi Johnny, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal as we take great pride in our food. We always appreciate customer feedback and the opportunity to hear from our customers. Would it be possible for us to contact you to...More

Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

We wandered into Tanuki’s Cave on a bustling Monday night to have some nibbles before a comedy show. Even for a Monday it was very busy and a short 5 minute wait saw us seated and the fun began. Perfect portions for two to share....More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank charliecharlie444
Yawara, Owner at Tanuki Sushi & Sake Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Great u enjoyed it .pls come back

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Came here before a comedy festival show at Q Theatre, very busy place. I’d rather small so noise was on the high scale, but the food was Devine, cooked to perfection

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank nomadmattm
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Situated right next to Aucklands premier comedy destinations this is the perfect place to fuel up on Japanese laugh medicine and beautifully presented, delicious and fast Japenese food! Love the sharing plates and portion sizes made this very economical. I think i could eat myself...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank BenjaminL3149
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 69 nearby hotels
Scenic Hotel Auckland
1,087 reviews
.06 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Auckland
109 reviews
.08 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
972 reviews
.20 km away
Bianco off Queen
790 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,491 nearby restaurants
Kura Japanese Sake Bar
139 reviews
.03 km away
Katsura Japanese Cuisine
137 reviews
.19 km away
Tanuki's Cave
69 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 700 nearby attractions
The Civic-Auckland Live
97 reviews
.30 km away
Queen Street
1,120 reviews
.33 km away
Odyssey Sensory Maze
186 reviews
.20 km away
Auckland Town Hall
124 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tanuki Sushi & Sake Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing