We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The CUT Restaurant & Bar

) #161 of 1,866 Restaurants in Auckland $$ - $$$ , Gluten Free Options
59 Federal Street | Corner of Federal & Kingston Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-375 5966
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good40%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (19 reviews)
Open Now
06:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
59 Federal Street | Corner of Federal & Kingston Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just dined at The Cut - we made a reservation but didn't appear to need one as there were only two other tables occupied all night. The service was efficient and not personal The food was also ok but nothing special The steak...More

Thank Cathy W
Vince P, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Cathy W, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your dining experience left you feeling disappointed. I will share your feedback with our team in the kitchen in an effort to establish where improvements can be made. Kind regards, Vince Patena...More

Reviewed 18 May 2017

Had breakfast here during our recent stay. The buffet contained a wide range of quality breakfast food we were not disappointed. They had a special price of $25 per person which was very reasonable.More

Thank Dunnersfireman64
Vince P, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Dunnersfireman64, Thank you for your great review. Our breakfast buffet has undergone a lot of transformation and improvements over the past 5 months. Your review has shown us that we appear to be on the right track to ensuring we provide good breakfast offerings....More

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel and received a couple of coupons for "going green" in my room. Haven't used them in the past but decided I was hungry and wanted to take advantage of the offer. Wow! What a great tasting sandwich and the host was...More

Thank 1Kipmeister
Vince P, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear 1Kipmeister, Thank you for your review. Our Going Green initiative has proven to be a very effective tool to entice hotel guests into The CUT Restaurant. We are happy to learn that we were able to persuade you to join us as well. With...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017

A block from the Sky Tower. The clam chowder was good with lots of clams. The lamb shank was very good, tender, with mashed potatoes and carrot slices. The fruit in the dessert with orange sorbet was not ripe enough.More

Thank walkalot4ever
Vince P, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear walkalot4ever, Thank you for your great review of our restaurant. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us. Please know that your feedback regarding the dessert has been shared with our chefs. We look forward to hosting you again...More

Reviewed 1 April 2017

A hotel restaurant ...part of Rydges Group Nice staff nice food!!! good service good atmosphere and enjoyable nightMore

Thank Brycee10
Vince P, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Brycee10, Thank you for your review of The CUT Restaurant. We are glad to know you enjoyed your most recent experience with us and we look forward to taking care of you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Vince Patena Food...More

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

As part of the Rydges hotel this restaurant served us great food. The mixed grill and lamb shoulder were both huge meals and very tasty. Well worth a visit.

Thank rwe003
Vince P, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear rwe003, Thank you for your great review. The menu that you dined from is fairly new so it's great for our team in the kitchen to hear such positive feedback. Kind regards, Vince Patena, Food & Beverage Manager Rydges Auckland

Reviewed 23 March 2017

Very average restaurant. Food was oily and sauce was really unhealthy. Really disappointing. I do not recommend. Service was OK.More

Thank XMOS69
Vince P, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Dear XMOS69, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your dining experience was below your expectations. We are almost 3 weeks into our new seasonal menu so your feedback is important to us. Your comments will be discussed with our team...More

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Our stay of 4 days was at Rydges Hotel. The Cut restaurant is part of the hotel where breakfast is served. Two choices of breakfast - hot or cold buffet. Each morning we went for the cold buffet and we're not disappointed. Top marks for...More

Thank sllum
Vince P, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Dear sllum, Thank you for your great review about our breakfast buffet at The CUT Restaurant. It's great feedback and a huge morale booster to our team in the kitchen who work hard to produce the great breakfast offerings that we have. Kind regards, Vince...More

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We were staying at Rydges hotel and this was our hotel restaurant. We only ate there once for dinner. Despite not being full and plenty of waiting staff the service the service was very slow. After one and a quarter hours we had only had...More

Thank Christine R
Vince P, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear Christine R, Thank you for your review. I apologize however for the delay from our team. By all accounts, it should not take over an hour to have to complete one course and I am sorry you had to forgo your dessert as a...More

Reviewed 25 February 2017

They have a lunch menu with specials on it for a lower cost. I had the lamb burger - which was good. My husband had the open face chicken sandwich which was also good.More

Thank Diane K
Vince P, Manager at The CUT Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Diane K, Thank you for your great review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our $18 Express Lunch menu. Based on your most recent visit, we hope that you and your husband will find the time to try some of the other menu items...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Sugar Club Auckland
660 reviews
.12 km away
Orbit
1,755 reviews
.12 km away
Dans Le Noir ? at Rydges
28 reviews
.04 km away
Hector's Restaurant
190 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sky Tower
7,909 reviews
.12 km away
St. Patrick's Cathedral
189 reviews
.13 km away
Sky City Casino
426 reviews
.20 km away
St Matthew-in-the-City Church
35 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The CUT Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 13 - USD 31
Cuisine
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Television, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Valet Parking, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
06:00 - 23:00
Monday
06:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
06:00 - 23:00
Thursday
06:00 - 23:00
Friday
06:00 - 23:00
Saturday
06:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 59 Federal Street | Corner of Federal & Kingston Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-375 5966
Description
THE SHARPEST RESTAURANT ON FEDERAL STREET Like its identity The CUT is a defining mark changing the scene of social dining in Auckland. With its modern cuisines, attention to detail, stylish presentation and an engaging level of service are all genuine elements of The CUT, complemented by a suite of menus that showcase a genuine social dimension to both the classical and more CUTting edge dishes. Where modern cuisine is created from the very best locally farmed produce then crafted using unsurpassed skills and sole from a team of truly food-passionate chefs, delivering explosive flavours and textures that incite socialism amongst friends, family and colleagues. The CUT is the place to enjoy great company with exceptional food and genuine friendly service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing