We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Riverhead

$$ - $$$
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cnr Queen & York | Riverhead, Auckland 0820, New Zealand
+64 9-412 8902
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Wed 11:00 - 22:00
Thu - Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 463: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Setting is brilliant, we arrived as a group, on the Riverhead Ferry, which was a cute way to arrive and the Captain was very informative about that area of Auckland. The service and food at the restaurant was sadly lacking, they should stick to fish & chips and Burgers, because everything else was shocking. The vegetarian meal offered for $25... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

It sounds like you are another member of the Probus Group that came to The Riverhead organised by David Armishaw. I would respectfully suggest that you speak to David about what he organised, remembering that he was trying to do his best to get the best price possible for your group, regards Paula PS: Refer to my response to your... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was very disappointed in the set menu. I chose the vegetarian plate because I did not want to eat fish and chips, burger or chicken skewers. The vegetarian plate was delicious but not enough food and overpriced. The plates of slices as dessert were a joke. If you can't cope with a proper menu for groups tell them. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SuziMOwen
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

Hi Suzi, We always enjoy hosting Probus and special interest groups. The issue we have is that the organiser of the groups have the unenviable task of negotiating a reasonable price for the meal and an offer that will suit all the members of the group. Our offer is $25 for a main, a dessert and a coffee. Pretty good... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I had pre-booked for a group and when we arrived the table was just perfect and in a lovely position outside as I had requested. Prior to making the booking I had called ahead to ask for menus and to discuss the best options and the service was brilliant. We had a lovely day and the food was great, came... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, We are so glad that you enjoyed everything about your visit here with your group. You're obviously not a '5 star' reviewer, even though you say everything was perfect and the service brilliant, but still only 4 stars....? Only kidding, we loved having you here and would love to see you again soon, kindest regards Paula More 

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

While wandering the country roads of north NZ, we passed through a town and saw a sign that pointed to "the oldest tavern in NZ" (or something quite close). As it was late afternoon, we decided to take a look and maybe get a drink. Upon arrival, we saw a large, well maintained, and inviting pub, restaurant, and event facility.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dlfitz
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

This is exactly what we are working so hard to achieve..the team will be so thrilled! Thanks so much for your review, kind regards Paula More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loads of potential here. Clearly popular and has had a recent makeover. Or so the locals tell me. Good menu and good range of drinks on offer. Came in mid-late afternoon on a Saturday. Tables not cleared promptly and some left unwiped. General lack of care by staff. Still, placed a drinks order and beer battered fries. Delivered promptly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank drtgfnz
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

Hi, We'd love to see you back for our fantastic brunch...it's so lovely sitting out on the decks over looking the water on a weekend before the place starts to get too busy. Saturdays afternoons can be extremely busy in the Portage Bar and the team try hard to keep up with the fast moving crowds of bus loads of... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great venue, but under-staffed. We waited 25 minutes for entree then an hour for main course and were never offered dessert! Meals were very inconsistent- 3 people had steaks, but sizes varied as did veges that accompanied it. I had chicken which was nicely cooked but ended up with mashed potatoes which were not on the menu. Not sure about... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHusband
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your comments. I'll look into this and bring up these issue with our Head Chef, kind regards Paula More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great table over looking the river. The staff were very friendly & the menu was very varied. All four of our dishes were attractive & delicious. Desserts were yummy. Great atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank Linda903
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your Riverhead Experience. Thanks for the review! regards Paula More 

Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sitting outside and enjoy the riverside scenery, and enjoy the delicious food, wonderful place and great food, and so nice service. definitely the place I would like to come again... especially with your loved one, a place where you easily fall in love...

Helpful?
Thank Raymon L
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

So you can feel it too! Yes, it is a very special place, especially if you have the time to relax and simply soak up the atmosphere! Thanks for the review, we apreaciate you taking the time, cheers Paula More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every time I visit it is great service and brilliant food and always love the aspect and hospitality A1....This is only a short trip from Auckland and well worth the visit!

Helpful?
Thank tasidrive
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to the Riverhead on a few occasions and have written good reviews- so the good with the bad - This time not so good . We booked a table outside - and when we arrived - it was all an inconvenience- They tried to put us inside and when we said that we weren't happy with that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Foardy123
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review

Hi there, My apologies...the service you received certainly doesn't seem to be up to our usual high standards as you say. It would be interesting to know what day you visited us?This is quite a complicated venue in that we often look like we have space available on tables that we can't seat, due to future bookings that are coming... More 

Travellers who viewed The Riverhead also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 27
Cuisine
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 01:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Queen & York | Riverhead, Auckland 0820, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-412 8902
Description
Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Riverhead and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Riverhead staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?