We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Italian, Seafood, Asian, Fusion, Australian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available, Seating, Table Service
View all details
features, about
Reviews (22)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
10
2
5
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
10
2
5
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 11 October 2023 via mobile

We ate here twice Excellent quality food and excellent service Nice ambience in an informal setting Thank you to Sarina and her team

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023

They need to polish their act.The ordering code system is not user friendly, food choice minimal and not value for money, service good and lovely staff, not in a hurry to go back.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2023

Older couple noticed the difference. Table next to us was younger people. Not welcoming for older people. Immediately ask for how long we were staying. Next not asked. Felt like wanting to accept the beer tasting and then moving us on. Whereas next table, lots...of service and conversation. Left after tasting returned to local pub. Beers can bought elsewhere. Not an especially great brewery experience.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Hi there and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are sorry to hear that your experience at Zookeepers was not up to your expectations! Would you be able to send us an e-mail to info@spinifexcablebeach.com.au to elaborate...More

Reviewed 17 September 2023

Zookeepers has more of a Tapas style of menu which make sit different to most of the other options in Broome. We found the food excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Our dog was even made welcome.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and can't wait to see you guys again soon!

Reviewed 29 August 2023

Great location & staff but food sounds better than it is which is a bit disappointing given the prices.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review and for appreciating our lovely staff and location! We are sorry to hear that the meals were not matching your expectation, but we would love to see you guys again...More

Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

The food was quite good but the timing of delivery was deplorable Two of four mains had been delivered and consumed before we reminded the waitress that we were still two mains short Those mains eventually arrived but the side dishes didn’t arrive until the...last mains were completed - we told the waitress to keep the sides, paid and left The place wasn’t overly busy so there really wasn’t any excuseMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We love to hear you enjoyed the meals, but sincerely apologise for the delay in two of your meals coming to the table. Unfortunately in the hospitality industry, mistakes of...More

Reviewed 7 August 2023

Look I won't be to harsh as it was a rushed meal. Our entree was ok, just ok nothing to talk about. We both had a prawn meal which was just a bit bigger than an entree at most places. I tried one of their...few beers ( craft ) no Aussie beers on offer, I left half the glass, it tasted like maybe a perfume. Some places try to hard to be trendy or different, it doesn't work most times. I won't be back as I like Aussie beers. The atmosphere was good, it could be a great place, they need to look at how Matsos make it work, most people just like normal great food with normal drinks. Maybe they are trying to hard to be different, different doesn't mean success.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Hi there! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! The beers on offer at our venue are exclusively Spinifex beers, which are all made in Australia. With our venue being Spinifex-owned, this brand of beers is the only one...More

Reviewed 5 August 2023

Fantastic food 🥘 and talented bar staff 🍹🍹🍹🍹. Great atmosphere and when they have a local artist singing on a Sunday 👌👌👌👌. Amber Hurley a young girl who was given the chance to perform. Congratulations 👏 to all Spinifex crew. Love ya work 💯👌💖

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely review! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 28 July 2023

What a shocker compared with what it used to be. Only half full and now I know why. Don't fall for the reviews from "family and friends". Just don't go, average "shared plates" and furnishing has changed to "rustic" - good luck with that.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Hi there! Thank you very much or taking the time to leave us a review! We are sorry to hear that you did not get to enjoy your experience at the venue. When we took over this space we did so with the aim to...More

Reviewed 27 July 2023

On our third night in Broome, we had dinner here and came away feeling like we had backed a winner. Whilst in no way plush, the staff were welcoming and the service was as expected. The food though, exceeded our expectations by a significant margin....Everything that followed the main was of the same level. We loved it so much, we have booked it again for dinner before we fly home.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely review! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 23 July 2023 via mobile

Just disappointing from being seated. Not busy at all being just after 12midday on a Sunday. Welcomed nicely. Asked for sparkling water. Waited 5 min for proactive staff to start pouring tap water to be told to stop as sparking was on its way. Another...5 min before water arrived. Confusion about order process as a QR code coaster with number was on the table but no direction given until we asked. When told we could order via either, the order app did t show our table number. The menu is confused. The burrata was ok. The 3 boa buns for $29 with battered barramundi was poor with one having basically only batter no fish flesh. Another had a hair. The pulled pork burger. They had 2 attempts at this. Cold tomato on a hot burger. Not bench temp but fridge cold and that ruined the burger. Round 2, the same deal. Nice bubbly Chenin Blanc and the beer tasting paddle was ok except it has no order noted or at least advice on what order. Credit to the staff as they removed 2 orders from the bill but it felt to us there are kitchen issues, unfortunately. I hope it improves. Good location.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your experience at the venue. On the day you had dined with us, we have had a busy afternoon...More

Reviewed 2 July 2023 via mobile

We have visited Broome for 20 years and eaten at all the restaurants over that time….and this was the worst meal we have ever had in Broome…. Thankfully the management chose not to charge us for anything but the drinks, a salad and a dessert...which was commendable. The squid was so salty it was inedible,the crab toast was not toasted,all sent back. I don’t think I need to go any further but it was recognised that there are real problems in the kitchen…and management did the right thing by us. As an aside,the menu itself is not conducive for good food more like pub or takeaway food..and Broome restaurants do far better than this.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2023

Hi there, and thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your food at our venue. As per our interaction on the day as well as your review,...More

Reviewed 22 June 2023

Of our 3 nights in Broome, 2 were spent at Spinifex. We were back for the extra delicious prawn toast and the oh so friendly staff. Menu is great to share or have a plate to yourself, all very tasty and the tamarind prawn and...prawn pasta dishes are chock full of prawns!! Desserts were extra yummy, I can highly recommend the creme brulee, great crackly toffee and extra rich egg custard. All the staff were lovely, but Leah was especially amazing - she knew what we needed before we did and explained all our questions about the menu and did it all with a smile. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating, has a casual and relaxed atmosphere. Thank you for the love and care that made our experience extra special.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2023

Hi Kay! Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself at Zookeepers by Spinifex and cannot wait to see you again!

Reviewed 15 June 2023 via mobile

Staff friendly but when I came to ordering she was a bit confused. Drinks were ordered but two beers did not come. When asked she said they would come out with lunch. Not sure why. Meals ordered and the staff member had to come back...to table to clarify a couple of times. A side salad was delivered first and then the accompanying meal arrived 15 mins later. Good arrival was a bit disjointed. Food tasted ok, beer was cold and staff friendly. Wouldn’t rush back but would happily go again if we had to.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2023

Hi there and thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback is very much valued and has been forwarded to our team. We understand that there has been a misunderstanding about the time your beverages were meant to...More

Reviewed 8 June 2023

Service 10/10, food 10/10, drinks 10/10. Best place to eat and drink in broome. Could not fault a single thing

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farina Krause, Marketing at Zookeepers by Spinifex, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2023

Hi there! Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time at our restaurant and hope to see you again in the near future!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Cocos Beach Bungalows
392 reviews
.21 km away
Blue Seas Resort
436 reviews
.31 km away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
1,974 reviews
.39 km away
Bali Hai Resort & Spa
570 reviews
.44 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Spinifex Brewery Cable Beach
7 reviews
.27 km away
Bali Hai Cafe And Restaurant
426 reviews
.47 km away
Cichetti Club
360 reviews
.31 km away
Sydney Cove Oyster Bar
1,673 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bali Hai Resort Spa
36 reviews
.44 km away
Cable Beach
2,749 reviews
.67 km away
Buddha Sanctuary
94 reviews
.52 km away
Willie Creek Pearls Cable Beach Showroom
40 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zookeepers by Spinifex staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ZOOKEEPERS BY SPINIFEX, Broome - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Zookeepers by Spinifex

Yes, Zookeepers by Spinifex offers takeaway services.

Zookeepers by Spinifex is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4