We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 17/1
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#50 of 278 Bar in Melbourne
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Southbank
0.4 km from Flinders Street Station
Improve this listing
About
Discover Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, a spectacular Southbank restaurant, bar and function venue perfectly located on the banks of the Yarra. Ludlow is a well established riverside destination with its large dining room, cocktail lounge and public bar. Open 11am until late every day.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, Australian
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveller rating
180
238
117
50
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
180
238
117
50
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak fish and chips salad calamari yarra river monday night southbank pint function
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having no family able to visit us this year, we thought it would be nice to do something totally different for Christmas Day so we booked lunch at the Ludlow. We had a great table which was about the only good thing at the Ludlow....We should have known there would be problems when there were only two bonbons on the table for four of us and the drinks took 25 minutes to arrive even though we were in the first sitting at midday. The kids meals and the entree didn’t take overly long to arrive, but our sharing plate was very small. We both ordered beef Wellington which took over an hour after we had the entree to arrive and when it did, it was warm and the pastry was soggy (the beef was nice though). The desserts then took 1.5 hours to arrive!!! It totally put a downer on the day. You could see all tables were getting annoyed at the long wait and I think we actually did well with how long we waited, having read other reviews of what happened yesterday. When we paid we were told that they didn’t realise how busy they were going to be even though everyone had prebooked. They didn’t even ply everyone with drinks while they waited, they could have made a fortune! Terrible service and we will never go back.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Management, General Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Nicoops, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry about your experience at Ludlow on Christmas day. We are deeply saddened to hear your day was so disappointing and we offer our sincere apologies for both the delays,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

With the year that has been 2020, we wanted a completely relaxed Xmas lunch void of cooking and hosting, we were excited to dine at Ludlow for the traditional Christmas menu and beautiful city views. Arrived at 12.30 and by 3pm had only received our...shared starter plate. Staff where almost in hiding and as tables started to talk to each other about their confusion and wait time, we realised there was a big problem. Many had after lunch commitments, including us; and so for over two hours anxiety and frustration built as we realised our lunch was a complete let down. With persistence we finally got an answer, they were under staffed. Knowing this, they still went ahead and booked maximum numbers. So disappointing to see money was put ahead of prioritizing a very symbolic and significant Christmas day. We left 3.15, hungry and flat. A refund will apparently be granted but it won't correct the huge mistake management made.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?2  
Management, General Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Katrina,. We are very sorry about your experience at Ludlow on Christmas day. We are deeply saddened to hear your day was so disappointing and we offer our sincere apologies. Could you please send us an email with the full booking name and reference...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Restaurant was chosen for its menu that met our needs for a special Christmas Day lunch. However, it appears the owners put profits before service and it was more like fawlty towers. The front of house didnt start the day well - opening late, and...then not knowing where the tables were situated. Our table for 3 had 2 christmas crackers - at $130 per head, the attention to detail was poor. At 12.15 we placed our mains and pudding order (choice of 3!). Starting platter was satisfactory. However, we then waited, and waited, and asked, and queried, and over 2 hrs later our warm mains arrived. We’d seen a number of tables give up and leave. Front of house spent their time hiding, avoiding eye contact, and never once provided proactive communication to waiting diners on this special day. It wasnt until 3.30 (!!) that we finally received our desserts. Waiters were eager to dispense drinks, but a lack of food service meant this was a memorable christmas day, for all the wrong reasons! It felt like the business wanted the $$$ at all costs, and didnt care for its patrons.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Management, General Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nicola, We are very sorry about your experience at Ludlow on Christmas day. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for both the poor service and delays and other issues mentioned. If you could please send us an email with the full booking...More

Reviewed 23 November 2020

Great place to dine on the side of the river. Katie our waitress was friendly and efficient. Food was fresh, and delicious. Even with the social distancing the place has a cool vibrant buzz. Would definitely recommend you popping in here for lunch.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
LudlowBar, General Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Well hello delicious fatre, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. thanks for sharing your review. Katie is a gem! Cheers, from the Ludlow Crew

Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

Nice to sit outside and contemplate our trip on what was our last night in Melbourne and possibly Australia thanks to Covid-19. The service here was great - social distancing had come in to play but still a warm friendly atmosphere. We ordered the burger...and chips and fish and chips. The food was edible but a bit over cooked. We were hungry after cramming as much of Melbourne in as possible. Shame as I was looking forward to fish and chips.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?3  
LudlowBar, General Manager at Ludlow Bar & Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Hello Claire, thanks for leaving your review and we're very happy you enjoyed our service and the atmosphere. Disappointed to hear that your meal was not up to our usual high standard, we will bring this to our chefs attention. Thanks again for visiting and...More

Reviewed 11 May 2020

Everything in this restaurant was amazing the beautiful staff and the food was just amazing the wagyu beef burger along with the nice and crispy french fries it was great and amazing overall

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 10 April 2020

On a day visit to Melbourne we took in the Southbank area and came across this Bar/Diningroom. Both inside and outside dining. As it was a nice day we elected outside. Special menu included a Beer. Fish and Chips very good one meal large enough...for two. Service very good considering the one person served the whole area. Meal with an additional glass of wine $29. For the position right on the river we were very happy with our time here.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 9 April 2020

Pre: COVID-19 March I have been trying out a range of restaurants along Southbank / Southgate and came upon this one with my friend and they had a $20 lunch special, as do many of the restaurants along the Yarra River. There were a wide...range of choices. My friend went for fish and chips and I had the pork slaw salad. Both items can be found on their main menu at higher prices. I think it's a great way to get the public to try out items on their menu and encourage return visits. The portion sizes were great for the money we paid and accompanying the meal was a choice of a drink - my friend ordered a flat white coffee and I a sparkling wine. The fish and chips were amazing according to my friend and she would order them again, in fact she couldn't eat it all and shared some with me - I would have had the fish grilled, but it was a tasty treat nevertheless. The pork slaw I ordered was really dry. The sauce sprinkled on top of it was really nice but the meal could have done with a heap more of this. The 4 pieces of pork on the plate were tasty but cold and tough to eat. The slaw itself was fresh and crunchy. *Note: I did pass this info on to the waiter as a suggested way to make the meal even better The waiting staff are quick to sit you down and order taking happens within a timely fashion They are super friendly and accommodated our need to move seats. This place is quite large and the interior is highlighted by a huge bar surrounded by a range of seating options, We sat outside so we could people watch and it was a lovely day to look out over the Yarra River. A place worth a visit for lunch or dinner or for a drink from their extensive bar!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 April 2020

Thought this looked a great place to eat and it was quite busy. The first wine I ordered was not in stock so I had to have my second choice. The chicken burger was all leg meat and not a chicken breast in sight. Nothing...special, poor food, poor service.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 25 March 2020

If you can, get a seat out of the front overlooking southbank Boulevard. Great people watching on this fabulous city.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
7,939 reviews
.14 km away
The Langham, Melbourne
7,220 reviews
.16 km away
Vibe Hotel Melbourne
18 reviews
.25 km away
Oaks Melbourne Southbank Suites
917 reviews
.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Waterfront
1,480 reviews
.16 km away
Ponyfish Island Cafe
456 reviews
.12 km away
Eureka 89
249 reviews
.14 km away
Melba Restaurant
1,275 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Southbank
2,293 reviews
.04 km away
Eureka Skydeck
7,933 reviews
.13 km away
Yarra River
1,674 reviews
.09 km away
Southgate Melbourne
56 reviews
.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ludlow Bar & Dining Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ludlow Bar & Dining Room
    How is Ludlow Bar & Dining Room rated?
    Ludlow Bar & Dining Room is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 4