We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$15 - AU$45
CUISINES
Italian, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (70)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
43
9
8
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
43
9
8
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pappardelle polenta chips beef brisket hotcakes rocket salad pizza affogato oysters movenpick hotel kids menu eye fillet dining experience cooked to perfection last night teatro cbd
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

Mixed bag Breakfast alright but the hot plates food could be simplified and still be tasty Oysters and scallops from appetizers were nice but head down to the wharf or market for nicer Pizzas weren’t amazing which was disappointing They do make great cocktailsMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Movenpick Hobart, Owner at Tesoro Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 654angb, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your honesty and are glad to hear that you enjoyed our cocktails. However, we're sorry to hear that some aspects of your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments about the...More

Reviewed 4 March 2024

We were seated at a nice table and the waiter was very polite, but the experience went down hill from there. We ordered the focaccia and scallops as a starter which took 40 minutes to arrive. The focaccia was tasty and the scallops were overcooked....We ordered steak for our mains with the char grilled broccolini as a side which arrived nearly an hour after our starters and were cold and over cooked. When we sent the steaks back, the manager returned with one of the steaks which he had cut open to show that it was cooked correctly in the middle and which he offered to reheat. After recognising our hesitation to accept the offer to reheat the meals, the manager kindly offered to remake the dishes. When we received our new mains 45 minutes later, they were hot and the steak was cooked as requested. Unfortunately by that point our sides had gone stone cold and were cleared by the waiter but not replaced. Our waiter was very apologetic for the delay and cold meals, and the manager ended up offering us a complimentary wine and soft drink as an apology, both of which were appreciated. Overall, the table service lacked attentiveness (empty glasses and dishes weren’t cleared), food service was unacceptably slow, food was ok (once corrected) but not worth the price and the drinks were average. Would not recommend.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Movenpick Hobart, Owner at Tesoro Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Explorer24158821705, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your detailed feedback. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your recent visit. It's concerning to hear about the delays in food service and the issues with the quality of...More

Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

Between a poor wine selection and an absolutely appalling serving size for a $36 dollar main course, I am not sure where to start. Our waiter tried to be accommodating, he came up short with little information around the specials and the wine as well....But it was the absolutely ATTROCIOUS serving size of the main, that took the cake. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant. In my wildest thoughts I cannot see how it got 41/2 stars. We are frequent diners and travelled extensively and I would recommend you continue to search for some where else to eatMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Movenpick Hobart, Owner at Tesoro Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear janetteanddavids, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're deeply sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at our restaurant. It's disheartening to learn that the portion size of the main course did not meet your expectations, especially considering the price you paid....More

Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

We had a booking for 8pm- arrived a bit early intending to have a drink at the bar- we were still waiting for our table at 8:40pm despite a couple of polite reminders to the staff. We were eventually ushered into a “private dining area...“ at the back of the establishment. Having since read other reviews I agree with their comments- don’t accept this option- it’s devoid of any ambience and the staff seem to forget about diners in this room. The food when it eventually arrived was good although one of our group of four got a meal that was not hot enough. We just had Mains - which arrived at 9:40pm(8pm booking) It was a mid week night and the restaurant was busy and obviously understaffed. Would not go back.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Movenpick Hobart, Owner at Tesoro Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear DLP1957, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're truly sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your recent visit to our restaurant. It's disappointing to learn that you had to wait longer than expected for your...More

Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

Booked this after reading some good reviews and it just being a couple of hundred metres from where we were staying. It got off to a bad start when we were shuffled through the main restaurant to what can only be described as a back...room overspill area. The manager euphemistically called it their “private dining area”, should’ve known we were getting the end of a very short straw. We were attended by Phillipe who was excellent but only a couple of shifts into his experience and the manager was nowhere to be seen. I have to say the whole experience was grim, I can’t say what it would be like seated in the main area but if they attempt to put you in the back room just refuse to go. There is no restaurant experience, no windows to look out of, no passing traffic and towards the end no other diners! I did speak to the manager on 2 occasions, think his name was matteo ,and it took some probing to get him to admit that it was a poor experience and not one he would enjoy if the roles were reversedMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Movenpick Hobart, Owner at Tesoro Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear G8785LOdavidr, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had in our "private dining area." It's regrettable that your visit did not meet your expectations and that the ambiance and service fell short of what you...More

Reviewed 8 December 2023 via mobile

Excellent food and excellent service – in particular, Jennifer’s sunny smile and attentive service brightened up breakfast every morning of our stay at Mövenpick Hotel Hobart, and Luis’s competent service made for a very pleasant dinner experience.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Movenpick Hobart, Owner at Tesoro Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear gwong14, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed excellent food and service during your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Hobart. It's wonderful to know that Jennifer and Luis contributed to making your...More

Reviewed 8 December 2023

This restaurant is great ,the food is really good ,the wine and beer and spirit selection is very good and the service was top class, great position and we ate and drank there on a few occasions and we loved it the staff were so...friendly and professional too Do yourself a favour and eat here !More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023 via mobile

Italian restaurant attached to Hobart Movenpick hotel. Food was exceptional and service was also very good. We ate scallops followed by pasta dishes and shared a chocolate mousse desert. Would definitely recommend

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023 via mobile

The restaurant itself felt a bit cramped. But the food made up for this,the variety in each course was great. The deserts were to die for. Worth another shot next time.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2023

So disappointing after being a regular local visitor over the years with the breakfast experience. Over-priced, crowded gallery buffet area, very poor presentation lack of food choices, no fresh fruit, broken coffee machine, lack of table cleaning staff; just so disappointing after many a quiet...and enjoyable breakfast experiences in the past. Obviously someone's good idea to run a buffet breakfast but an embarrassing failure. We won't be back and feel for the guests who will have a below par taste of Tasmania !More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Movenpick Hobart, Owner at Tesoro Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2023

Dear MalcolmO440, We would like to extend our heartfelt apologies for the disappointing experience you had during your recent visit to Tesoro in Hobart. We appreciate your valuable feedback and want to provide some context regarding the changes in our breakfast style. In response to...More

Reviewed 29 August 2023 via mobile

I really enjoyed our dinner here. The space was inviting, and the food absolutely delicious - I will heartily recommend the linguine, but really everybody I dined with enjoyed their meals. It strikes a fantastic balance, feeling relaxed and welcoming while still being just that...little more special than your everyday meal out. Well curated wine list and a fabulous cocktail selection too.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2023 via mobile

Avoid the ‘road-trip’ menu ($95pp) at all costs - especially the paired wine experience ($100 additional for a couple equated to 2 x standard drinks each). The 1st entrée included two oysters each and a half glass of sparkling wine which was the only drink...we had for the first hour. The second entrée was a risotto with no solid seafood and a half glass of red. The main course was grilled chicken thighs and leg (not sure the relevance to Tasmania) and a plate of rocket and shaved cheese. We had to prompt the staff for the half glass of white wine. The desert was two mousses and a small glass of desert wine. Total bill for this set menu for two guests was $290. No ambiance, the restaurant is on the side of a hotel in the CBD main street. The below review for the road-trip menu is obviously written by staff.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2023 via mobile

Movenpick chocolate bar hour - Recommended choice for afternoon chocolate fix, wines, sweets and great atmosphere what else do you ask for when with friends

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2023

The staff were lovely but the service was intermittent. An effusive greeting, and then we ordered and were served a drink each and not long after our entrees arrived. Then...nothing, for more than 45 minutes. No offer for a second drink, no return visit to...the table by the staff, just a looong wait. Admittedly we could have signalled someone over and asked for a second drink, but I think we were kind of hoping/expecting someone would be around soon enough - but it never eventuated. Our wait for two mains was about 50 minutes, which wouldn't have been a particularly big issue if we had received any kind of contact in that time. I KNOW, FIRST WORLD PROBLEMS, RIGHT? Look, this place was fine, the food was fine, the dessert was incredible (I would definitely go back for that) but aside from that, it wasn't a particularly memorable visit. They could have sold us more drinks if they had asked, they never did.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2023

Flash looking place and we walked in at 8pm on a Sunday night and got a table. The margarita pizza was heaven. One of the best. Unfortunately the 2 steaks we ordered were not up to scratch. Quite tough and fatty. Service was fine. Annoying...was listening to the lady next to us complaining about her pasta which was too salty. However she had eaten the entire thing "because I was hungry" and only complained afterwards. Why take it off the bill when this happens? Kick these grifters to the curb.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Movenpick Hotel Hobart
301 reviews
.00 km away
Quest Savoy
711 reviews
.04 km away
Central Hotel Hobart
154 reviews
.07 km away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
1,343 reviews
.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Dandy Lane Cafe
228 reviews
.10 km away
Ja & Jon Banh Mi
41 reviews
.08 km away
Kopitiam Singapore Cafe
129 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Maritime Museum of Tasmania
469 reviews
.21 km away
St. David's Cathedral
252 reviews
.15 km away
Franklin Square
20 reviews
.03 km away
Hobart Town Hall
20 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tesoro Hobart staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TESORO HOBART - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tesoro Hobart

Tesoro Hobart is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4