We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Utopia at Waterfall Gully

170 Waterfall Gully Road | Waterfall Gully, Adelaide, South Australia SA 5066, Australia
+61 8 8379 2488
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good11%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (4 reviews)
“scones” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
170 Waterfall Gully Road | Waterfall Gully, Adelaide, South Australia SA 5066, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Father's Day was made extra special in this beautiful setting. The staff were friendly, professional and attentive and everything went very smoothly with a set menu and prepayment for the food. The serves were substantial and the quality was nice but a bit patchy. Of...More

Thank Meredith W
Justin M, Owner at Utopia at Waterfall Gully, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Meredith, Thankyou for taking the time to review us at Utopia @ Waterfall Gully. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your Father's Day lunch with us. We love these special days and seeing families enjoy themselves makes all the hard work worth it. I apologise...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Even though the venue is only small they made up for it with the food and overall ambiance about the venue. Not a lot of room inside if you can't say your vowels outside due to unfavourable weather conditions.

Thank Z3615GOtimm
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Kelly and the team from Utopia gave us the wedding of our dreams. Everything was perfect; the location, the decorations and of course the food! We simply couldn't be happier.

1  Thank Steph H
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the food does not live up to the magnificence of the location. The staff were friendly and attentive but seemed to want to rush us to order. I had the focaccia with avocado, haloumi and eggs. The eggs were the best part of the...More

Thank jjesse2015
Kelly M, Owner at Utopia at Waterfall Gully, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

We are so very sorry to hear this - our Lofty Foccacia is a huge favourite, and this is the first complaint about the dish! We only wish you had mentioned your disappointment to the staff on the day, so we could have made you...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017

My partner and I wanted somewhere for brunch (at 1230) decided to go up to waterfall gully for brunch and a walk. We got to the café and were attended to immediately, given a table inside as it was spitting outside, and proceeded to be...More

Thank Charles I
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I don't write reviews lightly, in fact I was so impressed I have just opened a trip adviser account to leave you this one! From the moment we arrived for lunch last Friday we were greeted with a big warm smile and a menu full...More

Thank caz0793
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

My best friend and I chose Utopia for a joint baby shower, going with a High Tea for our girlfriends and family. All preparations were good and communication seemed clear prior to the day. Arriving at the restaurant, the car park had one space left...More

4  Thank Ebony W
Kelly M, Owner at Utopia at Waterfall Gully, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hi Ebony - it appears this is a second review about a baby shower high tea held with us a few weeks ago. As we have already responded to the first review, I have decided to pop that response below as well. As is the...More

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Really is Idyllic, positioned at the top of waterfall gully. We had lunch and its really quite special. Sitting out on the balcony, the food was excellent. Its cosy and has a vintage feel to the place. Would go there again any time.

Thank Richard M
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

A reward for a trip up lofty I stopped for lunch at this restaurant. Lunch was promptly served and I savoured every mouthful. I love the fresh juice menu as a non-alocoholic option that's more exciting than water or a soft drink. I would highly...More

Thank kurst22
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Wow! What an incredible lunch! On arrival my mother, 9 month old girls and myself were taken to the most beautifully decorated table by the fire. Owner Justin and his amazing team took wonderful care of us with exquisite food to die for and a...More

Thank AidenCoyne
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mount Lofty Summit
170 reviews
2.72 km away
Hardy's Verandah Restaurant
79 reviews
3.37 km away
Piccadilly Restaurant
51 reviews
3.31 km away
Angels Cafe
7 reviews
3.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cleland Wildlife Park
1,091 reviews
1.47 km away
Mount Osmond Golf Club
13 reviews
2.11 km away
Carrick Hill
235 reviews
4.59 km away
Penfolds Magill Estate Cellar Door
180 reviews
5.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JulieTravels111
8 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Justin M | Property representative |
Hi Julie, Let us know about your mum when you book and we'll make sure you can park in our staff carpark which is right at the base of the restaurant. Then you'll have the option of a small flight of stairs (17steps) or... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 44
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Good for
Groups, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 170 Waterfall Gully Road | Waterfall Gully, Adelaide, South Australia SA 5066, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Greater Adelaide  >  Adelaide
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8379 2488
  • E-mail
Description
Nestled at the base of a spectacular 18 metre waterfall, Utopia is a truly unique and picturesque dining and event venue. Just 10km from the CBD, Utopia is housed in a beautifully preserved, century-old stone chalet which boasts the unique title of Australia's last reminaing heritage 'tea room', and the nation's only restaurant set beside a natural waterfall. Utopia is a proudly family owned and operated business, headed by Justin (a multi-award winning chef) and Kelly (an award-winning wedding and events coordinator). The chalet hosts hundreds of exquisite, boutique weddings and events each year, and is also open for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea from Wednesday to Sunday. The mouth watering, modern Australian menu showcases some of the state's finest local produce, perfectly matched with sensational wines hand-picked from across the state. Utopia offers: table service breakfast and lunch, Wednesday to Sunday and most public holidays quick kiosk for coffee, drinks, snacks and ice creams, Wednesday to Sunday unique and customised weddings, special events and functions plentiful free parking picturesque, fully disability-accessible venue all just 10 minutes from Adelaide.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing