We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fish Inn Rockpool

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
54 Howitt St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
+61 7 4771 3474
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 22:00
Sat - Sun 08:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 435: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I am from out of town so I was pleased to stumble across this casual restaurant at one end of The Strand. The view is wonderful towards Magnetic Island and overlooking a sea pool. There is plenty of parking out the front. The fish and chips is pretty good. I had crumbed flathead, chips and salad. This is a basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank J0anned568
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walk in to a dining / restaurant with a view. Our great North Queensland Magnetic Island just a stones throw, (as they say), across the ocean water. Situated at the northern end of Townsville's world famous Strand at the foot of the World War 2 Fortifications, Jezzine Barracks, you are presented with a relaxing cool and fresh atmosphere where you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Noel H
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was very average. Despite the brilliant position the restaurant (cafe) is in dire need of a spruce up. Looking very tired.

Helpful?
Thank 532ediep
warren u, Owner at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. The business had a $300 000 complete renovation 3 yrs ago this month. Since then an additional $250 000 has been spend enhancing the brilliant view and functionality of the business for our customers. We are continually advised what a massive improvement has been made to the building. The last remaining reno to be completed is... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a venue that takes advantage of the North Queensland climate and lifestyle. Restaurant overlooks the ocean and has views to Magnetic island about 8km away. The food is good and of reasonable price, with fish and chips plus more adventurous dishes. Enjoyable experience in a really relaxed informal venue.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Best fish and chips tonight I have had in Townsville since moving here 6 years ago. Could never find fish that wasn't heavily battered since moving here from Vic. Service was prompt and pleasant which surprised me as they where very busy in the restaurant as the girl told me they have $3 schnitzel every Thursday.

Helpful?
Thank Rhett M
Helensburgh, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was just ok , it seems a shame to drown fresh grilled Barramundi in sauce , calamari was the winner

Helpful?
Thank JacHarvey2508
warren u, Owner at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Next time just ask us for the dish without sauce...gladly happy to send it out to you like this.... just how i prefer it as well. cheers Warren Ufer Owner More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How nice and refreshing to be seated quickly and have a waitress who was very helpful. I had not been there before but had a look at the reviews and thought mixed bag, but hey I will give it a go and I am glad I did. The lovely waitress that served us was called Brianna, who was very helpful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Irma S
warren u, Owner at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback! It is nice to see that my staff are following the training that they are provided and that it was well received. The recommendation on the grilled fish came about from some negative feedback on this very page. Yes we do take on board any feedback! Thank you and we look forward to... More 

LA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Inadequate customer service.. $25 seafood for one, a fried coagulation of scraps. Generous helping of low quality for high price.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifferr
warren u, Owner at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this review

Jennifferr Thanks for your feedback. I note your last review of our business was positive but not this one. Please feel free to contact me on 0431223058 to discuss and for me to arrange a fix up for you. Sorry you did not enjoy this visit. Regards Warren Ufer More 

New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Fish Inn this. To meet with friends. Served by the bloke called Terry. Such a shame about his appearance particularly the pants. Cold water arrived. Someone had loved the glass so much, that they'd kissed it and left lipstick on it. Ordered tea for one. Milk jug cracked and teapot lid wouldn't close. Burnt my hand trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank SammyP1968
warren u, Owner at Fish Inn Rockpool, responded to this review

Sammy Thanks for your feedback. We are surprised and disappointed that you didn't let us know immediately while you were in the venue. It appears you were that upset about this issue you have taken a period of time to become a member of this page, take photos and post your 1st ever review.... But given us no time to... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We received Prompt and friendly service and our we ode red burgers and calamari for our late lunch. They were delicious. The view was absolutely looking out across to magnetic island and the rock pool.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona S

Travellers who viewed Fish Inn Rockpool also viewed

 
North Ward, Townsville
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Fish Inn Rockpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 33
Cuisine
Australian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Digital Payments, Cash Only
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 54 Howitt St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Townsville
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4771 3474

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fish Inn Rockpool staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?