We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$20 - AU$70
CUISINES
Seafood, Healthy, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (3,007)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
2,890 results
Traveller rating
1,283
826
367
209
205
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,283
826
367
209
205
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak oysters pizza barramundi great atmosphere friday night marina alehouse pizzeria
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

We had a very good experience here with staff that aimed to please. Outstanding calamari that was so fresh, salmon skewers that again were grilled just perfectly. We are going back tomorrow to try the Barramundi which we have been told is fresh as well....We’ve tried it several times in Canberra, but it has always been bland and disappointing. Just waiting to really see what all of the fuss is about with “fresh” Barramundi. Stay tuned!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in Cairns and walked down to Salt House to have a drink. We decided to sit outside at the bar and listen to the music. Place was maybe a third full. Two couples and we went to bar to place our order. 20...minutes later still no drinks, then the same bartender we had previously ordered from asked if she could help us, we explained we had already ordered from HER! She then started preparing our drinks. Every pour was a half pour. I said something about the half pours and she rudely replied “that’s what we do”. So I watched the other bartenders and she was correct, all pours were half. She spilled half my friends drink and said “it happens “ we immediately cancelled our dinnner reservation for the next night.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Nc3801206 Really disappointing to read a review like this and really strange. We do not serve half pours we do 30ml shots for a basic spirit as this is a standard for 1 standard drink. If you could let us know a little bit...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Oh dear. Very very poor indeed. As Cairns locals we had high hopes for this place. Location is great. But the positives end there. l. Menu is limited (and pricey) so should be easy to deliver. However, Tuna sashimi was frozen. Mains took an hour...to deliver on a Friday night when the restaurant was 80% empty. Such a shame. Could be amazing in this location.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jonnymitch, Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. All your comments have been taken on board and passed onto the team. Though I need to explain 100% the tuna we get in fresh it has never been frozen. As the menu states...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I will never go there again. took over 2 hours to start with an entree rushed us throughout the whole time absolutely disgusting with the service moving around furniture while people are trying to eat the food was standard nothing special over salted and just...the entire experience was disappointing.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Really disappointing to read a review like this, though I would like to know some more information about your visit. If you could please email us at restmanager@salthouse.com.au so that we can understand and improve for the future. Salt House Management

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been travelling for two weeks and our friends were keen to revisit the Salthouse while we were in Cairns as they had eaten here in the past. My wife ordered a dozen oysters Kilpatrick at $7.00 each and was anticipating, for the price,...reasonable sized oysters. What she received was pacific oysters that would be illegal catch size in NZ and we would definitely not waste our time shucking them. For an oyster that grows best on a sewage outfall pipe these were disgusting. Our friend who recommended the place ordered the scallops. What he received was not scallops and I can say this as a diver with 33 years experience diving for scallops. These scallops had no row and were all perfectly round and uniform is size with no shucking scars whatsoever. My guess is that they were skinned and hole punched skate wings which is a practice used by less than reputable seafood outlets. I had the Spaghetti Prawn Venola which was a plate of prawns with no flavour as they were fresh water washed or thawed frozen on top of spaghetti that was that over cooked it was limp like wet blotting paper and the whole meal was tasteless. Our other friends said the same. As can be seen by most of my posts I endeavour to provide positive feedback and if I can't then I lean to constructive comment, however in this case with Salthouse there was nothing positive nor constructive to say when they take gold bricks from your wallet for disgusting food.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

47PaulL thank you for taking the time to give us a review. As you would probably be aware oysters here have just gone through spawning so we have been getting a mix of fresh pacific oysters or Sydney Rock oysters depending on who has fresh...More

Reviewed 8 March 2024

This is a great spot for dinner.The staff are very friendly and helpful the food is well presented and cooked We had charcoal chicken to share,there were only 2 of us but there were enough chips for 4 people and enough chicken for 3 people,needless...to say we couldn’t eat it all unfortunately.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Terry_mel thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review. Glad you enjoyed the whole bbq chicken! Look forward to seeing you again soon. Salt House Management

Reviewed 7 March 2024

Had the most amazing steak I have ever had in my life. It was tender, but salty. The topper I recommend was the scallops- absolutely mouth watering and the barramundi croquettes were to die for. Thank you for an amazing dinner

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

SusannahPK thanks so much for the amazing review. The steaks are very special aren't they !! The secret is the wood fired Argentinian Grill :D Hope we get to see you again soon. Salt House Management

Reviewed 21 February 2024 via mobile

Came here for a drink at lunch time and then and evening meal. Really lovely setting. Service was lovely from all staff at the bar and then at the table (a lovely German girl looking after us). Oysters were delicious. Sushimi also delicious. We then...shared the charcoal chicken and chips for main. Chicken very tasty but the one thing that really let the meal down was the cardboard chips! They were not fresh cooked from scratch and had clearly been re-heated meaning the were dry and brittle. Not a difficult thing to fix and this place really shouldn’t cut corners on something so simple. Otherwise great and we would definitely eat here again.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! Your comments have been passed onto the team. Glad you enjoyed your visit and can't wait to see you again soon. Salt House Management

Reviewed 13 February 2024 via mobile

We sat in the more casual area of the restaurant and had mixed reviews. Some of the food was great but some were really disappointing. Firstly, we arrived to our table being a mess when we had booked it. It took a while to be...cleaned and we asked for the menu, to be told that we needed to go to the bar to get the menus. We also had to order all drinks and food from the bar, which is fine but we ordered several small plates and needed to go and collect them from 2 different kitchens. It was hard to relax and enjoy the meal as we were constantly going up to get our drinks or food. This would be fine if it was a quick cheap meal but it was fairly expensive and a high end restaurant. Some of the food we ordered came slightly different to what they explained on the menu. For example, the calamari was drenched in spicy chilli sauce which wasn’t stated on the menu. I’d definitely avoid the prawns, as they were fried with their heads and tails and were tasteless and chewy. Some of our dishes were very nice so we can’t fault that, but overall we were disappointed.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

livotoolex, So the more casual side to the restaurant is the bar area this is all buzzer service and bar service as when we are busy can have well over 800 people in this area. I think you would have much preferred to sit in...More

Reviewed 8 February 2024 via mobile

We love socialising and dining at Salthouse Sunset drinks , a fresh beer on tap or delicious margarita in a relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff, always engaging. Dining in the open deck verandah , it’s 5 star service and great steaks and seafood platter a...favourite. Wine list is extensive, a little expensive , my only wish would be a few more wines on lower end of scale. The kitchen here had trouble many years ago, but they now have great chefs and service Highly recommendedMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2024

Hi Stuart thanks so much for the fantastic review :D Really happy that you enjoy visiting us. Your comments have been passed on about the wine list. We just found that the better quality wines stop those next day headaches haha. We are really happy...More

Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

Great evening vibe and the food was delicious. Really like the different food offerings and the service on the night was pretty good. DJ on the decks playing some house was a nice touch.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2024

Hey Fewmeister18 thanks so much for the fantastic review. We have Djs on most nights and we stick to the funky house style. Hopefully we get to see you again soon. Salt House Management

Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

Staff not very friendly. All have long sad faces and it’s very uninviting atmosphere. The location is beautiful but the staff need a refresher course in customer service. I would not recommend this location as many better places in cairns.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2024

Joyq975 your comments have been taken on board and passed onto the relevant managers. Salt House Management

Reviewed 28 December 2023

We've been here many times over the years although not outstanding tonights meal was appalling. It took an hour for our entree to arrive. Oysters for entree were so small we could hardly see them. My fish was like an overcooked piece of rubber with...a tonne of greasy kale and my husbands $52 steak was chewy and fatty. The first beer was off although when told replaced asap. Even the potatoes that are normally nice were dry and tasteless. We did get $30 off for our drinks when we told them on our way out but will not be going back there to eat. The menu os also very basic.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2024

Shelleyh2023 Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We have brought this to the attention of management so that we can improve for the future. Salt House Management

Reviewed 27 December 2023

The food is tasteless, everything is overpriced. The service was erratic, Twice other peoples food came to our table and 3 times we were given other peoples drinks. We couldn't get a waiters attention as they were all in little groups just talking to each...other and never looked in the direction of the customers. After ordering a $83 Bottle of wine that you can get from Liquor land for $30 it was taken away so we didn't know if the top ups were from our bottle and you had to try to get a waiters attention anyway. There are a lot of better places in Cairns than the Salt House.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2024

FNQAust we have passed on all your comments to the relevant managers disappointing to read but we will use this in training so that we can improve for the future. Salt House Management

Reviewed 10 December 2023 via mobile

Amazing food and drinks, my partner was really happy that they served gluten free options for the waffles and pancakes which she said were really tasty! Highly recommend

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manager salt house, General Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2023

Hey CheekyBeurre! Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a fantastic review. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Salt House Management

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns
3,493 reviews
.23 km away
Oaks Cairns Hotel
258 reviews
.43 km away
BreakFree Royal Harbour Cairns
1,122 reviews
.44 km away
Hilton Cairns
3,182 reviews
.47 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Waterbar & Grill Steakhouse
2,564 reviews
.17 km away
Tha Fish
1,762 reviews
.13 km away
Piato
756 reviews
.12 km away
Vitalia's Italian Restaurant
566 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kuranda & Cairns Sightseeing Tour
138 reviews
.30 km away
ZOO TO YOU HQ - Discovery Centre
10 reviews
.19 km away
The Pier Cairns
11 reviews
.22 km away
Cairns Yatch Club
9 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Margaret S
30 May 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from elhowie | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure i didnt see any indication when i was there of seniors discounts sorry i couldnt be more helpful though i am sure if you called them they wold advise
0
Votes
tnam11
14 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from steve g | Reviewed this property |
I have seen kids playing and enjoying themselves there, pretty relaxed as there is a grass area adjacent. I would ‘d say it is overflowing with kids but certainly seen them eating there.
1
Vote
jayhawk11292016
19 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Paddo W | Reviewed this property |
No. Shorts fine given climate.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SALT HOUSE, Cairns - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Salt House

Salt House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5