We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$12 - AU$75
CUISINES
Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (393)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
216
53
34
26
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
216
53
34
26
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews massaman beef eggplant small plates food was amazing our waiter share plates asian food visiting cairns riley esplanade
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a local and will not go back to this place. Ordered two beers with my friend and was told cash is not accepted. I will let all my friends and family know not to go there.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went alone but never felt alone as the service was excellent!! The atmosphere and service are wonderful and food was exceptional!!!

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Shame on you for going cashless, very disappointing to see such a lovely venue not accepting cash. You have become part of a system that is failing.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Arrived at 7:30 pm for our booking. We were seated quickly and that’s when it went downhill. We ordered drinks and our food at the same time. The drinks arrived 35 minutes later and the food was some70 minutes from when we ordered it. The...fried noodles for mains was entree size with only 3 prawns in total. When mentioned to the wait staff, they promptly brought out another same size serving on a much larger plate. The confit duck curry was so bitter that we couldn’t eat it. To their credit they offered us another meal to replace it and a complimentary drink, which we agreed to. While looking at the menu for another main meal, the complimentary drink sat on the bar for 15 minutes and no one came to take our order. We decided to pay the bill and leave. This is when we saw the waitress walking around looking for somewhere to put glass of wine. Couple of things to note. 1. There were only 36 people in the restaurant counting us at the time. 2. Three people manning the kitchen, two serving the meals, one standing at the service counter and three waitresses. 3. The in house music was certainly not conducive to the ambiance of the evening. It will be the last Valentine’s dinner we’ll be having there, if we go back there at all. Very disappointed.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2024

We had recommendations for this Asian fusion restaurant. We had reservations at 7 and we arrived early with restaurant less than half full. We were promptly seated with menus but no wait staff even acknowledge us for over 20 minutes. 2 wait staff were serving...but were only modestly busy....Did they not care? Menu seemed okay for Asian fusion but we left after 25 minutes of no service and went to Bellicale were we had a great dinner.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

Wow. The level of incompetence on display here is mind-boggling. To be fair, each of our party of five had patronised Paper Crane in the past and obviously this was in a different time and circumstance. We may all have been expecting a similar level...of service as experienced for lunch in the past. The reality today was the exact opposite. Service : abysmal. Staff knowledge : abysmal. Acknowledgement of patrons and friendly welcome: non-existent. As locals, we were embarrassed at the appalling level of service. The only good thing to say was the food, when it finally arrived, was of a relatively high standard. However, I could not, and will not be recommending this restaurant to anybody. You now have five local patrons, all hospitality professionals, who will be letting everybody know to avoid Paper Crane. Well done!! :).More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiago Teixeira, Owner at Paper Crane by Crystalbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Hello Buzzie, We are so sorry that we've dropped the ball during your visit to Paper Crane. I can feel that you had great experiences before and we would like to understand more around what happened during this visit. Feel free to contact me on...More

Reviewed 26 December 2023

Food was great, management was awful. Six of us went for dinner to enjoy a birthday only to be met with the worst service we have ever encountered. We arrived to the bar at 4pm to be told we could grab a table anywhere, a...short time later we were approached by the manager who very rudely advised we had to move by 530pm. We gave the benefit of the doubt, moved on and returned for our dinner reservation. We were greeted by the manager (I use the word greeted very lightly) and shown to our table. Our white wine order was taken and received warm. We were served by a lovely waitress who clearly hadn’t had the training needed. She took our order and asked if we wanted entrees before our mains which we replied yes. Unfortunately, we received the incorrect entrees and three mains as entrees. The other three mains followed 45 minutes later along with a barramundi we didn’t order, my father said we would have the barramundi as we didn’t want it to go to waste to which the manager replied “that’s fine but you will have to pay for that” which we obviously knew. You would think an establishment of such high standard would at the very least have professional management but we were very wrong, the manager was extremely rude to both customers and staff. I can’t imagine this will be the only negative review this evening as we witnessed an argument between the manager and another customer due to his appalling manner. Sadly due to the service we will never return and will be sure to advise our friends and family of our experience.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2023

Attempted to have dinner while staying at the Riley for a week on holidays with the family. Unwelcoming atmosphere as soon as we got there after I already had a booking. I had to ask a couple times where to go as the waiters were...just staring at us. Asked for a table outside , they said was all booked while there where plenty of empty tables everyday we were passing the place was empty including the night we were booked. Asked for feed me menu item, I was told minimum 2 people required. After we ordered was told no I cant order that as all on table had to have it. By that time the atmosphere was ruined. It’s a pity as staying at the hotel has been amazing. Had dinner down the road at Splash and it was absolutely amazing with splendid seafood. The place won’t last long if it keeps going like thatMore

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2023 via mobile

We asked to sit outside when we arrived, as it has a lovely view over the water in cairns, and there was plenty of seating. We were told that it was no space available and were seated inside by the floor manager. The lady who...ended up serving us was lovely. But the food served was so below average it was not funny. We ordered the kingfish sashimi (ok); the prawn betel leaf (terrible), Korma cauliflower (ok), ramen squid (actually the salad with this was really good); chicken (absolutely terrible! Like fried chicken covered in Ayam curry sauce the rib eye (ok but so over priced); wok tossed greens (these were good) and roti (this was straight out of a packet from Woolworths). We were so disappointed with our meal and to top it off, no one took the plentiful seats outside that we were refused to be allowed to sit at. Whole experience was so disappointing.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023

This perfect spot is ruined by appalling music played at ridiculous volume, making it impossible to hold a conversation. Staff have a don't give a stuff attitude. Management need to get a grip and provide better oversight

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2023 via mobile

The kids menu was unavailable and the food was very average. The dumplings were pretty gross the frozen ones from coles are better quality. Food came quickly but very poor standard

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2023 via mobile

Had lunch here because of the aspect from the patio. Ordered chicken tenders burger and falafel & crudités entree. Falafels were flavourless little nuggets, burger was chicken thighs, not chicken tenders. Approximately 40 minutes for the order to arrive. Doubt we’ll be back.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2023 via mobile

We ordered 2 basic cocktails. We proceeded to watch a number of patrons who ordered their drinks after us, receive their orders. When we approached the bar we were told they were busy and to wait. Nice view but drinks were also average once we...got them.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023 via mobile

Just thought we would sit down and enjoy a cocktail and snack with the kids as we move through Cairns. We ordered our drinks so the kids got mango juice and we ordered from their cocktail selection. Well, the waiter asked me to wait for...the kids drinks as he pulled out a Golden Circle juice bottle and filled two glasses. That was special and next we received our cocktails, i think it was the same quality service as the mango special. It was sweet syrup juice cocktails. Below standard for anyone who serves drinks. I am just waiting for the food to see what happens next. Give me 5 minutes till it arrives. I seriously hope it’s better outcome than the drinks but let’s see what we receive. It’s been an hour and still waiting on the food.. It’s not busy at all we are the only ones outfront and the oool area is probably at 80% capacity. Food arrived YAY but our Falafel is out of a box and the salad is dry. How do you serve dry carrots and cucumbers and celery. The squid was nice and my son had the chicken which he loved. My cesare salads croutons were sliced bread bits toasted. Now i’m sorry but for a place like this at a location of this caliber and the prices you have to pay I would expect to get better than substandard quality foods. But maybe that’s just me being a food snob. Not rated…More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2023 via mobile

My daughter was trying to organise my wifes 50th birthday as a surprise. The way she was treated in trying to book a table of 10 . Bei g put on a restricted menu. Can the chefs not handle large dockets. Also refusing to refrigerate...a birthday cake. Must be short of fridge space. No decorations allowed on table. Very poor standard. Cancled booking and have moved to a more accommodating establishment. Very poor standards being a head chef myself I am lost for your lack of professionalism.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Crystalbrook Riley
829 reviews
.07 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
1,428 reviews
.12 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
2,895 reviews
.12 km away
Ramada by Wyndham Cairns City Centre
616 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Dundee's At The Cairns Aquarium
555 reviews
.24 km away
Bagus Cafe
679 reviews
.18 km away
Splash Seafood Restaurant
915 reviews
.32 km away
Little Sister
49 reviews
.35 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cairns Aquarium
2,064 reviews
.27 km away
Muddy's Playground
1,461 reviews
.11 km away
St Monica's Cathedral
340 reviews
.19 km away
Michaelmas Cay
643 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Camnicsydney
6 September 2020|
Answer
Response from jayachinthaka | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure. Might want to check directly with them.
0
Votes
Glitter G
12 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from jeffsD4320WP | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I am not sure but would expect it to be from 7:00am onwards?
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PAPER CRANE BY CRYSTALBROOK, Cairns - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Paper Crane by Crystalbrook

Yes, Paper Crane by Crystalbrook is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Paper Crane by Crystalbrook is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4