We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Backyard Cairns

Claimed
Save
Share
Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870 Australia+61 7 4052 7670WebsiteMenu
Open now06:00 AM - 10:30 AM12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 01/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Backyard Cairns
Updated 01/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
USD 7 - USD 104
CUISINES
Australian
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: The Backyard Cairns

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Absolute Gem!!
1. Absolute Gem!!
" Cocktails were fantastic and the ambiance was amazing. Attentive"
rickyg568
See reviews that mention Absolute Gem!!
2. Great Australian Hospitality
2. Great Australian Hospitality
"Great atmosphere, layout and most of all the service"
300craig
See reviews that mention Great Australian Hospitality
3. Great atmosphere and layout
3. Great atmosphere and layout
"Really good food and drinks. Every item of the menu is carfully"
bigliagabriel
See reviews that mention Great atmosphere and layout
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
55
29
11
17
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
55
29
11
17
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wagyu burger soft shell crab roll peas mussels the shangri la hotel cairns marina espresso martini great cocktails dinner with friends waiting staff saturday night nice food clarke function feed waterfront
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here with our 3 children (12-17yrs) for a special occasion Sunday lunch. The food took 50 minutes to come out ( restaurant was nowhere near full) and was below average (we are not super fussy!!) Then we wanted to sit and have a...glass of wine and cold drink for the kids after we had finished lunch ( at around 2:30pm) where the table remained with all our dirty plates on it for over an hour. We moved to another clean table and were given the - please move on looks very shortly after. We are locals and will never go back. They must just rely on tourists with this kind of quality and service!!!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Road01443239937, Marketing at The Backyard Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Ya Y-Holiday, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I apologise that we did not meet your expectations. I appreciate your comments and I have noted them for discussion with the management team. I can only hope that you will consider...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 23 January 2020

Had dinner with friends at The Backyard when we were staying in Cairns. We had eaten at a few of the other Pier restaurants. We had a very nice meal in a great location. Staff were friendly and the service was good.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
crystaljlay, Marketing Assistant at The Backyard Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Hi Heather P, thank you for leaving a review! We're so glad we got to be a part of your holiday here in Cairns. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had always wanted to stay at this hotel, so chose here for dinner on our grandaughters birthday. We were only able to be seated at a high table with bar type seats-not comfortable for my back. The bar was chaos somthing to do with...a stuck till, so lots of grumpy customers also complaining about high prices. As soon as we had finished our mains a woman appeared cleaning the table and removing our plates, we fwlt we were being hurried away so our kids never got the included ice cream. We walked through the hotel and found it soulless and I am heartily glad I havent stayed there nowMore

Helpful?
Road01443239937, Marketing at The Backyard Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear magsrich, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Customer feedback is very important to us and we have noted your comments for discussion with the food and beverage team. We hope that we can welcome you back for dinner in the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My company thoroughly enjoyed the steak. My friend said it was as good as he's ever had. The environment was beautiful too.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Road01443239937, Marketing at The Backyard Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear SavedbyGrace777777, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and in particularly the steak. We hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards, Ross Miles-Cadman General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful food quick service, friendly staff food was cooked to perfection.😊😋. Thank you I will eat here again

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Road01443239937, Marketing at The Backyard Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear B7012JUshaneh, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best Regards, Ross Miles-Cadman General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came to The Backyard a few months ago for drinks and some food and vowed to never go back. The staff behind the bar were very unfriendly and struggled to understand what we were trying to order. They were more concerned with talking with...one another than they were any of the customers. The margaritas we ordered were some of the worse we have had and the food we ordered came out incorrect (after we had repeated our modifications multiple times to the unengaged staff member). When we spoke to the manager about our complaints and feedback, he was very rude, argumentative and extremely unprofessional... absolutely not what you would expect when coming to a 5 star hotel's restaurant. After a lot of hesitation, we returned to the Backyard last weekend and were delighted to see a brand new set of staff who were nothing short of amazing. Romnie (sorry girl if the spelling is wrong) made us DELICIOUS margaritas and her customer service was some of the best we have ever had in Cairns. She was personable, made us laugh, and you could really tell how much pride she took in her job. Management if you are reading this please give this girl a raise she was that good. The rest of her girls behind the bar were also wonderful and one whose name I didn't get did an amazing job of helping my friend who is vegan work with the kitchen to order a vegan dish (as there is nothing specifically on the menus for vegans). The food was still a bit average and portions were questionably small, but the yummy drinks easily made up for it. There appeared to be a new manager this time around who was lovely as he came to check on how everything was. When we expressed we felt the food was a bit average for the prices, he immediately spoke with the kitchen and handled everything very professionally and with the service we expected of a high rated hotel (a day and night change from the previous manager/child? we dealt with on our previous visit). We ended up staying at The Backyard hours longer than expected and really had an incredible night thanks to the Romnie, the new manager (sorry for not grabbing your name), and the rest of the staff. While the food still does need a bit of improvement to justify the prices and the level of a 5 star hotel, a major kudos for just how improved the new team of staff and manager were from our initial visit! We will be returning for drinks (probably not the food unless similar changes are made) and can't wait to see Romnie and the rest of the team again!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Road01443239937, Marketing at The Backyard Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear BSL1316, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We really appreciate your comments regarding our staff and the exceptional service they provide, rest assured this will be passed on to them as I know they will certainly appreciate...More

Reviewed 25 July 2021

Very much covid aware establishment, well presented tables extremely clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Food and drinks were top notch, coupled with a great aspect of the water

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Road01443239937, Marketing at The Backyard Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear TonylQ806DY, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your fantastic review. We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best Regards, Ross Miles-Cadman General Manager

Reviewed 12 July 2021

Walked in without a reservations and seated right away on a Monday night while everyone else turned us away. Kaiki the bartender + front of house really made our night. Amazing drinks made with personality and finesse. Dinner was wonderful too, reasonable pricing and timely...service. Definitely recommendMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Road01443239937, Marketing at The Backyard Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear CMA0210, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We really appreciate your comments regarding our staff and the exceptional service they provide, rest assured this will be passed on to them as I know they will certainly appreciate...More

Reviewed 1 June 2021

The Backyard offers a decent sized pub style menu. Very much a casual experience at the base of a hotel. The staff were not super friendly but once you order, you don't have much interaction with them, if any at all. Average pricing for its...location on the water.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Road01443239937, Marketing at The Backyard Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear leanneculinapenza, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are always reviewing ways on how we can improve our guest experience and have taken your comments on board. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards, Ross Miles-Cadman...More

Reviewed 26 May 2021

We had an early evening meal here on a Tuesday and it was not very busy. Overlooking the marina, it is a beautiful location. My wife asked for a simple steak and chips and that is exactly what she got; nothing out of the ordinary....I ordered the bbq bugs which were quite tasty. The service was very friendly particularly from Mia who just wanted us to be happy.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Road01443239937, Marketing at The Backyard Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 399lindsayj, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you had a change to enjoy the amazing views The Backyard has to offer. We hope to welcome you back. Best Regards, Ross Miles-Cadman General Manager

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Shangri-La The Marina, Cairns
3,237 reviews
.03 km away
Hilton Cairns
2,965 reviews
.26 km away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
2,392 reviews
.31 km away
Oaks Cairns Hotel
102 reviews
.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tha Fish
1,598 reviews
.09 km away
Piato
564 reviews
.10 km away
Waterbar & Grill Steakhouse
1,860 reviews
.04 km away
Vitalia's Italian Restaurant
459 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kuranda & Cairns Sightseeing Tour
139 reviews
.16 km away
ZOO TO YOU HQ - Discovery Centre
10 reviews
.12 km away
The Pier Cairns
6 reviews
.07 km away
Paradise Sport Fishing Adventures
296 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Backyard Cairns staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Backyard Cairns

Yes, The Backyard Cairns is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Backyard Cairns is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5