We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (459)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
197
159
43
30
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
197
159
43
30
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tabouli lamb skewers tapas the river lebanese restaurant attentive service wine list dips banquet hamilton
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 February 2024

I have always loved the set up of this restaurant with all the curtains and fancy lights. What I don't love about it is when you are seated and having lunch and staff are standing around talking at the bar whilst the phone rings out...not once, not twice but three times during our lunch here. One girl finally ran from the bar area over to where the phone was to answer the fourth call that came through. Each call rang for ages and was so annoying when you are trying to talk to people and enjoy lunch. We had the banquet which I personally don't think is worth it, we should have just ordered from the menu and it would have been cheaper. Plus they rush you through the banquet and even when we asked if we could wait a while before the main course, literally 5 mins later it came out! We had one lovely lady who took us to our table but the waitress after that hovered and continuously asked if she could take our plates even when there was food still on them!!! I must have told her at least 3 times that we were still nibbling on the food and not to take the plates. Nice place for a drink but wouldn't go out of my way to eat there again.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing GhanemGroup, Owner at Byblos Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. I'm sorry to hear about your experience at the restaurant. Your feedback is valuable and helps us improve our service. We will make sure to address the issues you mentioned with our staff...More

Reviewed 16 February 2024

Celebrated Valentine's Day with the scrumptious banquet ($105 per person). We were booked for the 6.15pm seating. We were seated next to a table of six talkative and loud at times, though amicable people, so certainly wasn’t a romantic dinner! Our first course arrived fifty...minutes later. The lovely waitress assured us we would be accommodated should we not finish the banquet by the allocated time of 8/8.15pm. We were given a complimentary drink due to the extensive delay of the first course. Second course was delicious. The Batata Harra had run out, so a chicken wing dish was substituted which was a bit disappointing. Third course was perfect. We eventually finished our meal around 9.15pm. Would suggest consideration of seating to ensure a romantic dinner for couple for the Valentine’s Day occasion. (We were seated in between two tables of six. Fortunately, the other table of six remained vacant.) Would also recommend staggering booking so the kitchen and wait-staff are not over-extended. The first course, already prepared, should have come out almost immediately. Running out of one of the dishes for an early booking is not good catering. Overall, a delicious food experience and mediocre atmospheric experience.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2024

This is lovely spot for dinner, nice view of the river and the sun setting if you are there early enough. Food was delicious, one of the best mediterranean restaurants I have been to Brisbane. Service was great, staff were very pleasant. A very enjoyable...dining experience, try it for yourself I doubt you would be disappointed.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2023 via mobile

On arrival we approached what looked to be the reservation desk and were very curtly told by a young waitress to stand “over there near the entrance and wait”, which we promptly did, albeit bewildered. When we were seated we wanted to order a banquet...menu for 4, with our 5th guest ordering her own dish. We were immediately told we couldn’t do that (eventhough the menu said we could). We were told in no uncertain terms if we wanted the banquet the whole table had to have it because the kitchen can’t cope, then the same rude girl who greeted us on arrival would go get the Manager! We were all so bewildered and had travelled 30mins by car to get there from the city we just decided to “all” have the banquet, which was pretty ordinary. Ive had better for cheaper with friendlier service. The service was ordinary also. Only one young man was friendly enough when serving one of our courses. It’s a shame to receive this type of service when the venue is in a prime location and set out nicely. The young staff need to learn that good communication skills and friendliness is a must in the hospitality industry. Don’t take your bad day out on the patrons. I would not recommend this place but gave it 3 stars for the location.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023

Nice food. Reasonably priced, however the $8 charge for tap water was over the top. Not a place we'll visit again

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2023 via mobile

Stunning restaurant. Amazing views and incredible food . Great service and excellent menu. Great wine and spirits. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2023

Gutted the beef Schwarma is off the menu. But still good food and service. Cocktails are wonderful.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2023 via mobile

Popped in for dinner here, restaurant wasn’t overly busy so easy enough to get a table though we hadn’t booked. First issue we had was there not being any menus bought to us, had to ask a waiter after waiting a good 10 minutes for...one to see to us. They do have the option of a scan menu but we like to look at a physical menu. After we got the menu we then waited another 15 odd minutes while no one attended our table, we then decided to order via the scan option on the table. The food came out fairly quickly, however the dishes were staggered out not brought out all together. We made our way through most of the food before we had to flag down a waiter to find out where one of our dishes was as we had not been served them all. This was an uncooked dish that took 5 minutes to come out, mind you without half of the dish, we waited another 5 minutes before realising that the rest was apparently not coming out and as no one was attending the tables in our area we had to go into the counter to ask for the accompaniment to the dish, which then took another 10 minutes and asking of 3 more people. The accompaniment was only bread for the dips!!! Not impressed at this point as we had to be somewhere and couldn’t even enjoy let alone finish the dish that hadn’t been brought out when it should have been. No apology or care and had the food not been lovely we would have went lower than 3 stars. Might be a good idea to make sure diners are being paid attention to and if there is an issue to actually address it in some sort of timely manner.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2023

Byblos is perched on the Brisbane River, occupying a huge indoor and outdoor dining space with tables thoughtfully arranged so you don’t have to listen to the unwanted conversations of other diners! The staff were very friendly and helpful with menu suggestions. Apparently, Byblos make...most of their specialities on the premises such as their delicious pastries which include classics like Chicken Sambusek, filled with marinated chicken fillets, mixed vegetables and Lebanese seven spice. Byblos also features handmade traditional dishes like falafel, tabouleh and hommous which are all perfect accompaniments to their grilled lamb, chicken and fish skewers, served with generous portions of freshly baked flatbread. The vibe here is laid back and relaxed with a fully licenced bar including cocktail service and light music entertainment on Sundays. Take the ferry downstream to Brett’s Wharf and stroll along to Byblos (500m) for a lovely dining experience. 7.6/10More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023

Beautiful spot on the river. Food is delicious and cocktails are amazing. The staff are friendly and efficient. Negative is that we over ordered so I asked the lovely staff member for a takeaway container. Embarrassing for them I was told that I would be...charged $1 for a container. Wow that lets you down. My daughter and myself spent $170 in your establishment and charging for a takeaway container is tacky. I have Never in the odd occasion I needed a takeaway container, been charged. I informed the staff member as I paid how tacky that was. Your better than that.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2023

We booked a table outside and were told that none was available when we arrived. The menu on the website doesn't mention that banquets are for the entire table only (other places mention it on their website) . Not a great value for money. Beverage...are very expensive too for what they are. Very disappointing $20 cocktails, mainly full of ice.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2022 via mobile

I selected this restaurant as it was close to where I was staying. It was simply superb. The first good thing was that I was able to eat an hour earlier than I booked. Then the menu was simply fabulous. I selected 4 dishes of...Tabouli, Lamb skewer, Falafel, and Baba Ganoush. The service was extraordinary especially waiter Darwin who attended to my every wish. I highly recommend this restaurant.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2022

Dinner with friends. Food was amazing. Nice location. Sunday session with some entertainment. Nice wine. Great service.

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2022 via mobile

Food was awesome, very flavourful and filling. Location and decor was gorgeous. Our server ‘Darwin’ was knowledgeable, helpful, super accommodating and funny too! Thanks Darwin! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2022 via mobile

Fantastic food and service… made our late reservation seamlessly… arrived and was seated near the window inside. We ordered the banquet and was not disappointed! The food and service was 1st class! The only small issue we’re the several large groups that made for a...noisy environment… the upside, they were enjoying themselves also! Will definitely recommend and return!More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Alcyone Hotel Residences
905 reviews
.18 km away
Airport Ascot Motel
261 reviews
.37 km away
The Airport International Hotel Brisbane
189 reviews
.39 km away
The Kingsford Brisbane Airport Hotel
199 reviews
.42 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sono Japanese Restaurant Portside Wharf
1,383 reviews
.03 km away
Aamaya Indian Restaurant
232 reviews
.08 km away
Gusto da Gianni
513 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Eat Street Northshore
1,489 reviews
.26 km away
Jan Power's Farmers Markets
55 reviews
1.10 km away
Portside Wharf
99 reviews
.09 km away
Eagle Farm Racecourse
44 reviews
1.27 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gail B
21 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from WizardfromOz | Reviewed this property |
they also have a website which might help with the information
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BYBLOS BAR AND RESTAURANT, Brisbane - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Byblos Bar and Restaurant

Yes, Byblos Bar and Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, Byblos Bar and Restaurant offers delivery services.

Byblos Bar and Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4