We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brasserie on the River

Cnr Edward & Margaret Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
+61 7 3221 1999
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good25%
  • Average19%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (53 reviews)
“mussels” (12 reviews)
“roast meats” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr Edward & Margaret Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rate 1 out of 5 was not because of the food. I actually haven’t tried your buffet and I really wanted to celebrate my birthday with group of friends here. I tried booking for 10-14 but due to bad experience with the restaurant booking...More

Thank arronyjames
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Arronyjames Sorry to hear you had issues trying to book The Brasserie. We would like to understand what happened so we can remedy the problem. This is a complaint we have not had previously. Our Food and Beverage Manager, Risko Isic would welcome the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have eaten buffet breakfasts here, and the fresh omlettes made on demand by the chef are lovely. They are simple, small vegetarian omlettes but nonetheless are enjoyable alongside some smoked salmon with toast. The danishes are dreadful and would not recommend these! They serve...More

Thank 710jacquelinew
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did not stay at this hotel, but enjoyed a darn well beautiful lunch for our granddaughters 21st with just a few family members. The car park is $45, but if you park yourself its $20 (which we did of course da) The staff (plenty...More

Thank Louie B
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Louise B So great to read that you and your group thoroughly enjoyed The Brasserie's buffet recently while celebrating your Granddaughters 21st. It's a lovely setting and glad to hear that even though you were not a seafood lover that you were able to...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017

I only had the opportunity to have breakfast at The Brasserie on the River whilst staying at the Stamford Plaza recently, but the experience each morning was excellent. The Brasserie on the River serves an amazing selection of food for breakfast, it simply cannot be...More

Thank Mark B
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mark B Thanks for you great comments on the breakfast selections at The Brasserie. It's a picture perfect location overlooking the river and a breakfast experience hard to beat. Hopefully next time you stay you can enjoy the wonderful seafood buffet. We look to...More

Reviewed 24 August 2017

We went to the Brasserie for dinner as part of our accommodation package and the dining area is quite nice and atmosphere is ok. The service was really good and friendly. The seafood buffet was a let down as there was only oysters, prawns and...More

Thank Dave P
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Dave P Thank you for taking the time to review The Brasserie on the River. I apologize that your recent seafood buffet did not meet your expectation as we pride ourselves on sourcing the best and most fresh seafood offering in the market. Being...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Once location on the river but we were disappointed with our meals. We chose the seafood buffet on a Friday night - incredibly overpriced at $70 per person for what can only be described as a mediocre selection. Two platters of prawns, oysters and tasteless...More

Thank TravellersGoldCoast
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear TravellersGoldCoast Thanks for taking the time to review The Brasserie on the River. Your feedback on the buffet has been passed on, and we are sorry that the offering did not meet your expectation on this occasion. Glad however to hear that you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Great river setting, outside seats with river views. Buffet breakfast highly recommended- great variety, excellent fruit selection, tasty. Three course dinner package we had was only average. Starter of garlic king prawns was small and overcooked and could not taste garlic. Dessert was excellent but...More

Thank Sydsolo
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Sydsolo Thank you for your review, much appreciated. Yes The Brasserie is a beautiful spot on the river and very popular indeed. Sorry to hear your dinner experience didn't meet your expectations particularly after a lovely breakfast. Your comments have been passed onto our...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Having only recently reviewed a wonderful and generous buffet on the Gold Coast, I found this offering to be quite parsimonious in comparison. Seafood section consisted only of prawns, oysters & halved sand crabs and the only carvery meat available was roast pork (and it...More

2  Thank M1cst01
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear M1cst01 Thank you for your comments. Disappointed that our buffet presentation missed the mark on this occasion however was pleased to read that Diana offered wonderful service. I will pass on your comments to her and also pass on your feedback to our kitchen...More

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Just had some coffees here but the service was great and the buffet inside looked amazing! The waterfront location and venue itself is gorgeous - definitely recommend for a sunny day!More

Thank Anastasia O
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Anastasia O Thank you for your kind comments. The location is second to none and a most idyllic place to enjoy coffee. Our seafood buffet and high teas are also a highlight and we hope that you can find the time to come back...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

My wife and booked dinner at the Brasserie last Friday, we sat inside due it being a little chilly outside. The main attraction was the seafood buffet. The prawns and oysters were fantastic, tasty and full of flavour, although the crab was tasteless, it tasted...More

Thank Gandirs
Debbie M, Manager at The Brasserie on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Gandirs Thank you for your review of The Brasserie on the River. We do strive to present Brisbane best seafood and while it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the prawns and oysters, disappointing regarding your comments on the crabs. This feedback will...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Urbane Restaurant
242 reviews
.18 km away
Port Office Dining Room
305 reviews
.12 km away
Moda
295 reviews
.05 km away
Moo Moo The Wine Bar + Grill
687 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
CityCat Ferry
5,571 reviews
.17 km away
City Botanic Gardens
1,480 reviews
.42 km away
Eagle Street Pier
825 reviews
.30 km away
Catholic Old St. Stephen's Church (chapel)
279 reviews
.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TeghanR
13 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Annielec01 | Reviewed this property |
Tho rated 5*, the majority around us dining were dressed casual, so wear what you feel is comfortable and appropriate for you when dining out. I felt the indoor as well as outdoor dining area did not give me the feel of... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Brisbane Region  >  Brisbane
  • Phone Number: +61 7 3221 1999
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing