We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gambaro

Is this your business?
33 Caxton St | Petrie Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
+61 7 3369 9500
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (119 reviews)
“mud crab” (24 reviews)
“crepes” (22 reviews)
Open Now
6:30 am - 10:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Caxton St | Petrie Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed with your new menu, the 2 scallops for entree looked very pretty, but the taste didn’t match. Lobster Thermidor has more sauce than lobster & for the price of $80 one would think salad or a few chips would be great. Although the...More

Thank Cindy M
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Cindy, Thank you for dining at the Gambaro Seafood Restaurant and leaving your review. Please be assured the chef and restaurant manager have received your feedback. For the purpose of fellow Trip Advisor readers, we do obtain the majority of our seafood locally however...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Last night we ate at Gambaro for the first time in many years, while the service and quality of the food in second to none the restaurant is very dark which means it’s extremely hard to read the menu . The biggest disappointing factor was...More

Thank Ray B
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ray, We are sorry to hear of your recent experience at our restaurant. It disappoints that we did not meet your expectations. For the purpose of fellow Trip Advisor readers, we do state on the menu that the Scallops are services with porchetta, apple...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It almost seemed that we ended up in the wrong restaurant or had been relegated to a function room. Right from the beginning the noise was ear splitting and tables so closely pushed together that waitpersons and customers were brushing passed. Although crisp white table...More

Thank Michaelgo26
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Michael, We are very sorry to read your review and would like the opportunity to speak with you in person to obtain further information relating to your experience. As you can see by our previous reviews and our recent awards, the feedback is not...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were travelling overseas and stayed in the hotel overnight. We were looking for a quality light meal so elected to go to the Seafood Restaurant. I ordered the Fish (Snapper) which was very good (Serving a bit small for some I guess but for...More

Thank John S
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear John, Sorry we did not meet your full expectations of your dining experience. We are glad you enjoyed our Snapper and Ravoli however we are sorry to hear that the sides were not as you expect or to the high standard we are known...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Booked Gambaro's for a special occasion and was not disappointed. The restaurant is upmarket in nature and presents accordingly. The staff and service is of the highest standard without encroaching on too much formality. We went for the seafood and this they do very well....More

Thank bobjanh
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bobjanh, Thank you for your excellent review. So glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We always strive to uplift our standards and ensure to be very consistent in the quality of the product we deliver. Thank you again for your kind comments. We look...More

Reviewed 16 April 2018

Have been dining at Gambaros for over 40 years and the food has always been exceptional - however my dining experience on Saturday night was extremely disappointing - the fish and scallop pie was dreadful - dry and smothered in crumbs even the hot seafood...More

Thank allanroz
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Allan, We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback for your dining experience at Gambaro Seafood Restaurant. First and foremost, I extend our apologies regarding your disappointing experience and have forwarded your response onto our Chef for them...More

Reviewed 7 April 2018

A very beautiful luncheon experience. Great food, great service and can't wait for a return to experience more.

1  Thank Kaaren B
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kaaren, Thank you so much for your review, we are always happy when our customers have a great experience at our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, GM Gambaro

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Some of the best seafood I have ever eaten. Really well cooked and delicious. It only losses a mark for food providence. They were unable to answer questions about the sustainability of their products. In today's world this is for me a basic requirement and...More

2  Thank Chris H
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Chris, Thank you for your great review. So glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We always strive to uplift our standards and ensure to be very consistent in the quality of the product we deliver. We source the vast majority of our seafood locally...More

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Six of us dined here on a Saturday night and we all loved it. I was recommended to go there by a friend. Tried to get a booking by phoning early morning to be told that they were booked at the time I was wanting...More

1  Thank KingyOE
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear KingyOE, Thank you for your excellent review. So glad you enjoyed your dining experience. We always strive to uplift our standards and ensure to be very consistent in the quality of the service we deliver. Thank you again for your kind comments and we...More

Reviewed 17 March 2018

Five star service and menu choice. Nothing was too much trouble if requiring changes to order. Table choice could be altered if we preferred

1  Thank helenwI4842JG
Gambaro G, Public Relations Manager at Gambaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Helen, Thank you much for your lovely review. We consistently try to please our customers with our food and service. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, GM Gambaro

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 172 hotels in Brisbane
Gambaro Hotel Brisbane
751 reviews
.01 km away
Park Regis North Quay Hotel
1,226 reviews
.49 km away
Abbey On Roma
360 reviews
.70 km away
Transcontinental Hotel
17 reviews
.74 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Black Hide Steakhouse
595 reviews
.02 km away
Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
394 reviews
.13 km away
The Caxton Hotel
233 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Roma Street Parkland
2,537 reviews
.64 km away
Suncorp Stadium
1,450 reviews
.28 km away
Brisbane Arts Theatre
197 reviews
.34 km away
XXXX Brewery Tour
370 reviews
.69 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
tricia j
12 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gambaro G | Property representative |
Dear Tricia J, From 3 January 2017, Gambaro Seafood Restaurant will be BYO every Monday evenings. Bring your best bottles. Kindest regards. Thierry T
0
Votes
Kerri-Leelee M
11 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from GambaroBrisbane | Property representative |
Hi, No there is no dress code, but smart casual is recommended. Regards, Gambaro Management.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 5 - USD 48
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 am - 11:30 am
Monday
6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
6:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 am - 10:00 am
5:30 pm - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Caxton St | Petrie Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Brisbane Region  >  Brisbane
  • Phone Number: +61 7 3369 9500
  • E-mail
Description
Winner of Best Seafood Restaurant in the 2014 QLD Restaurant and Catering Awards for Excellence.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;