We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
USD 11 - USD 27
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
148
96
32
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
148
96
32
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb salad guinness pie seafood south bank pub grub southbank specials
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

my sons took me here for Mothers Day and must say we were not impressed. They didn't even go to the trouble of putting a flower on the tables for mothers day It would have cost next to nothing but the touch would have meant...a lot to many of the grandmothers their with family.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Marco A, Agency / Consultant at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Joanne, I am sorry you were disappointed with the lack of flowers. We appreciate the feedback and have taken it on board.

Reviewed 11 April 2022 via mobile

It says on the description crispy chicken but so soggy inside. I mentioned to the lady but no care about my complaint! They never comeback to say sorry.. Not coming back! DISAPPOINTED-SERVICES PLUS FOOD! My 1st time to visit the restaurant in Brisbane ! I...will NEVER RECOMMEND TO MY ANYONE!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 April 2022

I came to the Ship Inn with my parents who are visiting from the UK. We were very disappointed and won't be returning again. My dad and I walk in and unfortunately encountered the male staff member. He asked for our COVID vaccination certificates which...my parents had left at home. We have been to many hospitality venues across Brisbane over the last few weeks and not one has asked for our COVID vaccination certificates. My dad explained that he had left it at home and the staff member aggressively said he refused to serve us and we needed to leave. My dad rushed home to get the certificates and by the time he returned and we entered the venue again, it was a female staff member who didn't even ask for them. As we had a dog with us we sat outside. The male staff member reappeared and asked us to sit somewhere else as the table next to us was reserved and our dog would be in the way. We were made to sit at the other end of the venue and were annoyed that the reserved table didn't show and there was no need for us to have been moved. I ordered the sausages and mash which was a very small portion for the expensive price ($25). The sausages were extremely spicy, there was a small amount of mash and the tiniest amount of mushy peas ever seen. I didn't enjoy it. My parents ordered the steak sandwiches and mostly enjoyed them, however, the steak was quite tough and some parts inedible. No table water was brought to our table during our meal and the female staff member came and apologised after we'd finished our meal saying she'd forgotten to bring it over and would we like some now. The pub wasn't even half full so this was just bad service from the staff. Expensive prices for below average food, rude staff and lazy service. Wish we had gone somewhere else and not wasted our time and money on this place.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Marco A, Agency / Consultant at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2022

Hi Jess, Thank you for your feedback and sorry for your experience. We are known for our customer service by 1000's of locals so it certainly will be taken onboard.

Reviewed 18 January 2022

Loved the atmosphere at the Ship Inn. We had dinner at the Ship Inn on a Monday night and enjoyed the food and the service. Was a bit worried about as there have been some negative reviews of late but to me, there is nothing...to worry about. Would recommend.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 December 2021

From the moment I contacted Lindsay at the Ship Inn regarding our end of year lunch, I was impressed. We had a small per head budget which she was more than happy to accommodate as well as being happy for my staff to purchase their...own alcohol (we provided soft drink only). A selected menu was chosen which was printed individually for us which was impressive. The meals were delicious which everyone enjoyed - especially our vegans! The staff were attentive without intruding. And while we lingered there for 3 hours, enjoying the sun on the deck, we didn't feel pressured to move on or order more drinks or dessert. The location is perfect with plenty of parking & public transport nearby - which a which was just a leisurely stroll through the gardens away. We will definitely be back!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 November 2021

We waited for an hour and then asked for someone to take our order. We had not even been asked for a drink order that whole time. The waiter was very rude. Three of us wanted items off the menu that were not available. One...of us ordered the chicken that was supposed to come with potato au gratin but the waiter didn’t say that the au gratin was no longer avail and assumed chips would be an acceptable substitute without asking. The meal took a long time to come to the table. Three of us were not happy with the quality of the meal. The steak was ordered medium but came well done. It came with salad when vegetables were ordered. The mushroom sauce was missing when it came to the table. Wait staff did not come to the table after they brought our meals; not to check how thing were or to offer dessert. I am embarrassed that I recommended this venue for our lunch today.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 November 2021 via mobile

A family lunch for 27- no problem. Your staff handled everything so well. Nothing was a problem for you. The food was delicious with generous portions. Not one person had a complaint. Thank you for helping make it a special birthday.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 June 2021

A friend and I walked here from my hotel and it was a long but enjoyable walk. The location of The Ship Inn, in the parklands, is a great place with a wonderful ambience to it. It was not overcrowded or noisy. I had the...grill chicken parma ... it was very odd having an un-crumbed chicken parma but it will ok flavour-wise. I would suggest the offer both the crumbed and un-crumbed versions. The friendly staff and ambience is what sets The Ship Inn apart from a standard pub. Definitely worth a visit.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

My wife and l decided to check out the ship inn hotel for lunch after walking past and seeing the sign clearly stating "BEST PUB GRUB IN BRISBANE". Wow if this is the best that Brisbane has to offer they need help. Unfortunately l chose...to order the lamb shanks. Big mistake. I think l only had 2 mouthfuls and could not stand anymore. I have never had lamb that had a old and mouldy taste until now? I offered my wife a taste and her reaction was the same as mine. Thankfully it was not a total loss as the mash potato was quite tasty and the service was quite prompt and friendly. I think the chef's may need to do a taste test/refresher on a few of the basic dishes.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 May 2021

The Crayfish dish was mainly pasta and the seafood was dry and over cooked. The wagyu sirloin (medium) was not in anyway marbled and was no different to anyother mediocre sirloin steak. The table service not at all engaging or friendly, rather cold and condescending...we thought. Overall, disappointing for one of our locals.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Emporium Hotel South Bank
626 reviews
.23 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Brisbane South Bank
20 reviews
.25 km away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
127 reviews
.49 km away
Quest South Brisbane
261 reviews
.52 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
MADO Cafe & Restaurant
835 reviews
.20 km away
The Jetty Southbank
553 reviews
.15 km away
Popolo
718 reviews
.14 km away
Aquitaine Brasserie
476 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
South Bank Parklands
11,557 reviews
.54 km away
Queensland Maritime Museum
397 reviews
.12 km away
Goodwill Bridge
67 reviews
.28 km away
South Bank Market
151 reviews
.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
FionaWilson631
1 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JohnFairDobinson | Reviewed this property |
Dog are fine near tables outside, the team advise. They'll even bring out water. Cheers, John
1
Vote
Kaye G
26 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from WLKennedy | Reviewed this property |
I don't believe that is an option.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4