We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jellyfish Restaurant

Boardwalk L 123 Eagle St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
+61 7 3220 2202
Website
All photos (239)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (165 reviews)
“mahi mahi” (17 reviews)
“fresh fish” (37 reviews)
Closes in 2 min
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Boardwalk L 123 Eagle St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 30 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2018

Had dinner here last night. Had the baby Barramundi ; Fantastic. Table service fast ; pleasant & efficient. Nice ambience Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank michael w
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

After all the hype I have heard about this place, I was seriously disappointed. It was over priced, boney, fish and chips. The staff weren’t that helpful. The squid was chewy and rubbery. The steak was ok. Wouldn’t recommend to anyone.More

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Lozzie A
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hi Lizzie, sorry you did not enjoy your experience. We would welcome the opportunity to address the issues you have provided in your feedback, especially with regard to the fish and squid offering that you found disappointing. I would appreciate some more detailed information, if...More

Reviewed 18 September 2018

Service was poor - we had a reservation but weren't even acknowledge when we entered the restaurant. The wine list was overpriced and as it turned out so was the menu. I had pork belly which was one very small piece, my partner had the...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank DebbieT1359
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

The waiter knew the menu well and was friendly. But we waited 30 minutes for our entrees, then after our entrees we another waited 45 minutes for our 1 main which we were sharing, and couldn’t bare to wait anymore. We just paid what we...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank misseblizzie
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi misseblizzie, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We apologise that you were disappointed iwth your experience. We have investigated the delays in the kitchen that impacted your dining experience and can confirm that the issue that caused this delay has...More

Reviewed 4 September 2018

Seafood with flair. Love the revival of Jellyfish after the floods (read their story on the front wall, then come inside to discover originality, pizzazzy service and beautiful seafood). Sure it's a dash pricey, I felt we were paying for an overall ""experience"". not just...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LazyDays4Us
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi LazyDays4Us, thanks for the great review of both the food, the service (thanks Nancy) and also the location. I do concede that it is about the experience and one which we are proud and happy that you enjoyed. We hope to see you and...More

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Attended jellyfish with some colleagues for some gourmet seafood. We were not disappointed in the slightest. The staff were friendly and very knowledgeable, the service was intuitive and efficient and the food was far more than even we had hoped for. If you’re looking for...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank The-Modern-Marauder
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thanks for the great feedback and review The-Moder-Marauder. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

In an attempt to find a nice fish meal we were lured in by Jellyfish. The restaurant has a great view right on the water. On arrival it was not clear where the reception desk was and the waiter who took us to the table...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank DebF908
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hi Deb F, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of this recent dining experience. On behalf of the restaurant and the management team i apologise for the experience that you encountered. In particular the manner in which you were seated and...More

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

The location is gorgeous by the river. Scallops and pork cheek were good, steamed cod with cucumber noodles was wow. The noodles were unexpectedly good, and the theatrical presentation made the dining experience special. Chris our waiter has an amazing personality, and I haven’t had...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 481catherynl
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We tried this restaurant on the advice of a friend. Overwhelmed on price, underwhelmed by the food. It promised more than it delivered for the price paid. Wait staff were very good (and Australian!)More

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank VerenaJ48
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi VerenaJ48, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to seek more detailed information of your experience. Please take the time to email (chris@bv.net.au) with the areas of your experience that you feel we could improve our...More

Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

My colleague and I stopped in here after a very long couple of weeks of travel. The food was creative but not over-the-top, the service was delightful and unpretentious but completely professional, and the view of the Brisbane River just made it even better.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Eelvander
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 175 hotels in Brisbane
Oaks Aurora
1,114 reviews
.25 km away
Oaks Felix
984 reviews
.28 km away
Manor Apartment Hotel
467 reviews
.31 km away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
3,712 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Blackbird Bar and Grill
761 reviews
.07 km away
Mr & Mrs G Riverbar
179 reviews
.15 km away
Madame Wu
771 reviews
.04 km away
Alchemy Restaurant and Bar
377 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
City Hopper
1,603 reviews
.35 km away
Old St Stephen's Catholic Church (Pugin Chapel)
322 reviews
.27 km away
MacArthur Museum Brisbane
91 reviews
.36 km away
Customs House
84 reviews
.34 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mithriltears
24 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from George W | Reviewed this property |
Sorry - unable to recall price range but guarantee that it would vary based upon what the chef presents seasonally. Plenty of options nearby anyhow - just have to walk out the door and choose.
0
Votes
Dietriche R
12 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jinny57 | Reviewed this property |
I would consider it high end in terms of pricing but the food was delicious. If my memory serves me correctly we paid around $120 a head with wine.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 18 - USD 43
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Boardwalk L 123 Eagle St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Brisbane Region  >  Brisbane
  • Phone Number: +61 7 3220 2202
  • E-mail
Description
At Jellyfish we aim to source and serve daily a school of 8 to 14 species of fish, to learn about and understand the textures and specific qualities of each species so we can then recommend the best way to cook and serve it. Our chefs create sauces, batters and crumbs as well as an extensive range of side dishes that perfectly compliment the meal. Absolute riverfront, this is arguably the best located restaurant in Brisbane enjoying striking views of the river and the Story Bridge. The décor is fresh and bright with the lines between indoors and out delightfully blurred.We offer a superior wine list of boutique, eclectic and lesser known vineyards as well as firm favourites from the new and old world. Service in the restaurant, the 35-seat Private Dining Room and in our newly expanded bar is always gracious, friendly and relaxed.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing