We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jellyfish Restaurant

Boardwalk L 123 Eagle St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
+61 7 3220 2202
Website
All photos (239)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (165 reviews)
“mahi mahi” (17 reviews)
“fresh fish” (37 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Boardwalk L 123 Eagle St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 20 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018

First time to visit Jellyfish and we came away well satisfied. For starters we had sashimi fish which was served with the correct accompaniments. The fish was fresh and dellicious. Main course Baby Barramundi in a soy sauce. Beautifully cooked and tasted lovely. Dessert was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Ken D
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Hi Allheart, thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 November 2018

The view from the dining room is great and the concept around fresh seafood a winner. On both occaisions I had tempura battered fish which was very good. On both occaisions a nice enough amuse bouche of salmon on cucumber. Sides varied in quality and...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RossY415
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Hi Ross&415. Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback and furthermore thanks for giving us that second try. While we do work on the business constantly, especially the food and service offering, we have certainly;y experienced some hardships recently with staffing turnover (especially...More

Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Went for dinner Firday night, ordered a crispy skin fish and fettucinne. Waiter got our order wrong, came back with cold, soggy skin, overcooked fish. with a sad cubed "mexican" salad, nothing Mexican about it. Pasta was soupy, and bland. seafood however on the pasta,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AshleyM06
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Hi AshleyM06, we thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and happy to advise that the feedback you provided was actioned and a new amended menu offering presented that is being worked through by our Group Exec Chef, with the Head Chef...More

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Had a most enjoyable mid-week lunch here with friends - the most impressive aspect was the welcoming and friendly service. The food (balmain bugs) was fresh and well prepared and the wine list limited but sufficient and reasonably priced. Nice views of the river and...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mpk1970
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Hi Mpk1970, thanks for the review and hope to see you again as we continue to improve our food, beverage (wine) and service offering.

Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had reservations last Friday night. I believe our server's name was Sam. He was horrible. We ordered drinks and appetizers and when he came back he placed the app plates on top of our menus, filled our wine glasses and walked...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank That-Leigh
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Hi That-Leigh, i would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. As disappointing as i see your experience was, i have been made aware of this experience and also the service you received, in particular by the waiter in question...More

Reviewed 11 October 2018

We were one of the first in for lunch and couldn't have been treated better, the food was amazing, the waitstaff excellent, experienced and exactly what you would expect from a restaurant of this calibre. I've noted reviews talking of slow service, but we didn't...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank frequent_fly_1977
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Hi frequent_fly_1977, thanks for a great review and feedback. We have recently been recruiting and training the teams with so many staff turnovers happening with all these new and fancy places opening up in Brisbane. Fortunately none of them offer what Jellyfish does, however we...More

Reviewed 9 October 2018

It was a Sunday lunch time and the atmosphere and location was great. That was until we waited 45minutes for something that was cold and being put together and served on the same table as where we ordered. Being able to see just how quickly...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Elisha G
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Had the pleasure of being taken to this fine establishment whilst staying with friends. Knew nothing of the place but I have to admit that this has to be one of my top 5 eating experiences ever. Service was un-matchable, the food was to die...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Matthew P
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Well located close to the Brisbane River and Public Transport, this is a trendy restaurant with an extensive menu and lots of atmosphere. Close to Parking, but not cheap.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 957virginiad
BoutiqueVenues, Guest Relations Manager at Jellyfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hi Virginia D, thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent dining experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Great location and good chips are best thing to be said about it. After a wait, Golden Snapper was over-cooked, tough and tasteless accompanied by jar-quality mayonnaise and an equally tasteless “salad” of cubed somethings.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Tim M
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 175 hotels in Brisbane
Oaks Aurora
1,117 reviews
.25 km away
Oaks Felix
984 reviews
.28 km away
Manor Apartment Hotel
467 reviews
.31 km away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
3,712 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Blackbird Bar and Grill
761 reviews
.07 km away
Mr & Mrs G Riverbar
179 reviews
.15 km away
Madame Wu
772 reviews
.04 km away
Alchemy Restaurant and Bar
378 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
City Hopper
1,604 reviews
.35 km away
Old St Stephen's Catholic Church (Pugin Chapel)
322 reviews
.27 km away
MacArthur Museum Brisbane
91 reviews
.36 km away
Customs House
84 reviews
.34 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mithriltears
24 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from George W | Reviewed this property |
Sorry - unable to recall price range but guarantee that it would vary based upon what the chef presents seasonally. Plenty of options nearby anyhow - just have to walk out the door and choose.
0
Votes
Dietriche R
12 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jinny57 | Reviewed this property |
I would consider it high end in terms of pricing but the food was delicious. If my memory serves me correctly we paid around $120 a head with wine.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 18 - USD 43
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Boardwalk L 123 Eagle St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Brisbane Region  >  Brisbane
  • Phone Number: +61 7 3220 2202
  • E-mail
Description
At Jellyfish we aim to source and serve daily a school of 8 to 14 species of fish, to learn about and understand the textures and specific qualities of each species so we can then recommend the best way to cook and serve it. Our chefs create sauces, batters and crumbs as well as an extensive range of side dishes that perfectly compliment the meal. Absolute riverfront, this is arguably the best located restaurant in Brisbane enjoying striking views of the river and the Story Bridge. The décor is fresh and bright with the lines between indoors and out delightfully blurred.We offer a superior wine list of boutique, eclectic and lesser known vineyards as well as firm favourites from the new and old world. Service in the restaurant, the 35-seat Private Dining Room and in our newly expanded bar is always gracious, friendly and relaxed.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing