We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gillen Club

$$ - $$$,
Milner Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
+61 8 8952 3749
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good42%
  • Average24%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (4 reviews)
“schnitzel” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Australian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Milner Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very busy family friendly club in suburb of Alice. I had a great calamari salad albeit we had to stand in line for about 30min and then 40min for the meal. The other 3 meals for family were a little heavy on meat and...More

Thank auriel b
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Auriel B, Thanks for taking the time to share your review of the Gillen Club. We do indeed get busy at times & wait times are experienced. We strive to improve on this continually however sometimes it is unavoidable. We thank you for your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went to the Gillen Club with family and friends - we had children with us aged from 1 - 14. The indoor and outdoor play areas kept the children amused before and after dinner. The meals were reasonably priced and took long enough for...More

Thank 198paulinev
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi PaulineV, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Gillen Club. It's great to hear you have had a positive experience. We look forward to seeing you agin soon. Regards, Kyle

Reviewed 24 December 2017

I visited the Gillen Club on Saturday for the steak sandwich and drink special. The steak sandwich was excellent and came relatively quickly. It came with a side of chips. Excellent value.

Thank grantbut
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Grantbut, Thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience. We hope to see you again soon at the Gillen Club. Regards, Kyle Pearson General Manager

Reviewed 24 August 2017

good pub food, casual atmosphere, young kids have plenty to do inside and out, letting parents relax, still keeping them in view. Well done in design.

Thank Marina M
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Marina, Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Its fantastic to hear your positive feedback & we look forward to seeing you again at the Gillen Club. Regards, Kyle Pearson General Manager

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Great meal deals on offer here, including the Wednesday evening special of two schnitzels for $20. It's noisy, with the little ones having a great time. Meals are good pub grub, not to Michelin standard, but satisfying. They have a courtesy bus to pick you...More

Thank PeterJT46
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hi Peter, Thanks very much for your positive review! We hope to see you back at the Club again soon. Regards, Kyle Pearson General Manager

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Visited club Monday night no meals supposed due to problem with kitchen!!!! Back to club Tuesday night T Bone night no T Bone head chef forgot to order !!! Ordered another meal no salad no forks asked person taking orders told too busy to replenish...More

Thank traveller2039
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hi Traveller2039, We did indeed have major issues with our kitchen plumbing in the last week & needed to close for the health & safety of our members. We have ceased our t-bone special - unfortunately it sounds like the staff member on duty that...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017

We all had Schnitzels with a free drink, great value, nice food, good friendly service. Lovely and clean with a area for anyone who fancies a go on the Pokies.

Thank JackoMiddlesbrough
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Hi JackoMiddlesbrough, Thank you very much for your positive review. We are working hard to improve our offering and it is encouraging to hear your comments. Hope to see you again soon at the Gillen Club! Regards, Kyle Pearson General Manager

Reviewed 16 June 2017

For a club the food is very good and very reasonable. A good selection of beers and good food choices for kids. The staff are very friendly. We came here twice for family birthdays and had a great time at both occasions. Would recommend for...More

Thank Danny50
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi Danny50, Thanks for taking the time to give us a review & even more thanks for the 5/5 rating. Its great to hear you are happy with our beer & food choices. Look forward to seeing you again soon at the Gillen Club! Regards,...More

Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We popped into Gillen Club while in Alice with a couple of families. Four out of the eight diners are gluten free and dairy free, and they catered for us with no stress. They even do a good gluten free schnitzel, nuggets and chips in...More

Thank Vicky F
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi Vicky F, We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. Its great to hear we met you expectations - even with the unexpected power issues. We are glad you and your family and friends enjoyed the experience & we hope to...More

Reviewed 6 June 2017

The Gillen is unpretentious, it's a club, not fine dining. At peak times especially when the special deals are on there can be some delays, that's to be be expected. The food was ok, but it is a big noisy place when it is busy.

Thank Nick H
115kylep, General Manager at Gillen Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi Nick H, Thanks for taking the time to review the Gillen Club. Its great to hear your positive comments. Thanks again & we hope to see you again soon at the Gillen Club! Regards, Kyle - General Manager

PreviousNext
12345610
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
578 reviews
.99 km away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
757 reviews
1.08 km away
Alice Springs Airport Motel
45 reviews
1.27 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1,641 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hanuman Alice Springs
968 reviews
1.33 km away
Watertank Cafe
171 reviews
1.21 km away
The Overlanders Steakhouse
498 reviews
1.53 km away
Monte's Lounge
251 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alice Springs Reptile Centre
781 reviews
1.28 km away
Yubu Napa Art Gallery
89 reviews
1.59 km away
Araluen Arts Centre
170 reviews
1.06 km away
National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame & Old Alice Springs Gaol
190 reviews
1.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John M
13 September 2017|
Answer
Response from 115kylep | Property representative |
Hi John, We will have the game on all of our large screens including our new 7 Square Meter outdoor screen.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 23
Cuisine
Bar, Australian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Milner Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Northern Territory  >  Red Centre  >  Alice Springs
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8952 3749
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing