We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 15/5
20:00

Ratings and reviews

#447 of 3,602 Restaurants in Sydney
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Australian, Fusion
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
60
46
13
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
60
46
13
9
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 23 January 2021 via mobile

This was one of favourite cafes for 5+ years, it’s recently changed ownership and the food isn’t anywhere near the quality it used to be. It was pretty dead in there too, I fear it won’t be around for too much longer.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 November 2020

ingredients are tight in sandwiches and management always wearing a long face and seems to lack up bringing despite working in hospitality.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 September 2020

My family and I went to Cafe Morso for Father’s Day brunch. The service was exceptional very professional, friendly and a delight! Equally high calibre was the food. We ordered 5 different meals and all were delicious! Thanks Cafe Morso!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 16 November 2019

We recently ate at this restaurant for brunch. We sat outside as it was a pleasant morning but were not acknowledged by staff for quite some time despite the cafe being very quiet. When ordering I asked that my egg white be cooked through and...was assured this would be the case. However, the egg white was runny and I had to ask for this to be rectified. Two of the meals came together, the third meal served was not the right order and had to be cooked again. My husband and I had the truffle gnocchi which was floating on an excessive amount of oil and not pleasant to eat. The portion sizes were tiny for the prices charged. All together a very disappointing and expensive experience.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
cafeMorsosyd, Manager at Cafe Morso, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2019

Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. We are having a staff change over recently and some of the staffs are still under training. Really sorry for all the inconvenience.

Reviewed 28 July 2019 via mobile

Discovered this hidden gem on a warm winter Saturday brunch hunt with friends. The breakfast gnocchi was a knockout ! The waffles delicious and of course the Bloody Mary very fitting! Totally recommend this beautiful spot: great tasting food and very very good service.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
cafeMorsosyd, Owner at Cafe Morso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Thanks tonytz! The breakfast gnocchi is one of our most popular dishes. We aim to have the best food and service, so very happy to hear your feedback. We hope we will see you again soon! Tony Horton.

Reviewed 3 July 2019

Had a delicious petit déjeuner (breakfast) at Cafe Morso with a companion as we were immediately transported back to Paris by the excellent Theo,waiter par extraordinaire. His attentiveness to our breakfast was exemplary, the food excellent and Theo magnifique. Great value for money, we will...return.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
cafeMorsosyd, Owner at Cafe Morso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Thank you Frank. We are very lucky to have Theo. So pleased that you had such a wonderful experience, and would love to see you soon. Tony Horton.

Reviewed 17 May 2019

Had a delicious petit déjeuner (breakfast) at Cagfe Morso with a companion as we were immediately transported back to Paris by the excellent Theo,waiter par extraordinaire. His attentiveness to our breakfast was exemplary, the food excellent and Theo magnifique. Great value for money, we will...return.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 March 2019

Attended this restaurant and we were not disappointed, we were very impressed from the moment we arrived to when we finished and moved on. Very good service, very good food and all at a very reasonable price point. The location also was extra good, close...to a parking station and right on the water and on a heritage wharf. What more could one want? Highly Recommended.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
cafeMorsosyd, Owner at Cafe Morso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Thanks jc222, we are always trying our best to give our customers the best experience, so really appreciate the feedback. It shows we are succeeding! :) Tony Horton.

Reviewed 2 February 2019

The restaurant service was attentive and the food was great quality and well presented. The staff were flexible with arrangements regarding menu options: a-la-carte or set menu and BYO cake. The timing of courses fitted in with our requests.

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
cafeMorsosyd, Owner at Cafe Morso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Thank you David. I'm a bit late responding to your review, I assume you had a group booking. We try to be as accomodating as possible to make your visit a pleasure. Very glad all went smoothly. Tony Horton.

Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Came here highly recommended from hotel on a not so busy Sunday noon, and left bittely disappointed. Took quiet a bit for waiter to come take order, then he went on telling me that the fresh juices on the menu where not available. I ordered...the cured salmon tostada which came promptly. So promptly that my juice hadn't even come. Any restaurant should know that the ABC of service is to bring drinks first, food second. After a couple minutes with my food untouched in front of me, i inquired my waiter about the drink. Finally, it was brought to me a good 5 min after the food was served, without a word of apology. Food itself was equally disappointing. 2 tiny cured salmon slices among tons of onions and fennel. Can do better for $20. Gave it 2 stars for location that is quiet nice, and the juice that was refreshing. Rest just plainly sucked.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?2  
cafeMorsosyd, Owner at Cafe Morso, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Hi M4fingers, I guess the long gap between your rating and this response will probably only cement your feelings, but I felt I should respond. Whilst I won't necessarily agree with everything you have posted, I do apologise for the poor service. We did have...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Star Grand Hotel And Residences
1,506 reviews
.52 km away
Crown Towers Sydney
56 reviews
.62 km away
The Darling
1,274 reviews
.65 km away
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
1,283 reviews
.82 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
LuMi Bar & Dining
449 reviews
.45 km away
Black Bar & Grill
716 reviews
.44 km away
Flying Fish Restaurant & Bar
919 reviews
.11 km away
CHUUKA
61 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rowland Reserve
21 reviews
.22 km away
Boab Boat Hire - Sydney Harbour / Parramatta River
10 reviews
.47 km away
The East Village Hotel, Balmain
23 reviews
.67 km away
James Craig Tall Ship
263 reviews
.56 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cafe Morso staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cafe Morso

  • Cafe Morso is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4