We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

#166 of 3,602 Restaurants in Sydney
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

  • Restaurants in Barangaroo: Guide to Sydney's Hottest Eating Areatheboutiqueadventurer.com
  • Barangaroo Restaurants: Guide to Sydney's Hottest New Eating Areatheboutiqueadventurer.com

Food and ambience

Italian, Wine Bar, Sicilian, Southern-Italian, Vegetarian Friendly
Sponsored by: Bel & Brio

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. As Italian as it gets
1. As Italian as it gets
"enjoyed my experience so much I came back for lunch today"
lilymieke
See reviews that mention authentic
2. AMAZING - Just amazing!
2. AMAZING - Just amazing!
"Very friendly and relaxed vibe. I mentioned it was my birthday and"
KevDtraveller
See reviews that mention AMAZING - Just amazing!
3. Mesmerizing Atmosphere
3. Mesmerizing Atmosphere
"Great bar as well with over 200 Whiskeys to choose from."
rogerm339
See reviews that mention whiskey
About
Bel & Brio offers two unique dining spaces to suit all occasions. Choose from: Corso Brio: Our formal dining room offering a more refined a-la-carte menu or in an elegant setting reminiscent of the exclusive supper clubs of Europe. or Bar & Dining: A lively, relaxed space with both low & high top tables offering more casual fare such as pizza, pasta & antipasti perfect for happy hour or a friendly gathering. Please specify which dining area you would prefer at the time of booking.
PRICE RANGE
USD 25 - USD 71
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Italian, Wine Bar, Sicilian, Southern-Italian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
211
109
51
33
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
211
109
51
33
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza risotto bread tiramisu wagyu beef fine dining wine list table service special occasion barangaroo matias waiters australia
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was so impressed with all aspects of our dinner at Bel & Brio Corso. We were a large group that can present challenges but the staff were so professional, accommodating and charming. The service really was outstanding. The food also really impressed us all...- normally a hard to please group, we all were delighted with our choices. Bravo Bel & Brio Corso !More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Mark Richerdson, Owner at Bel & Brio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the wonderful review of your experience at Corso Brio. I'm so glad to hear that our team was able to make your evening memorable and enjoyable! I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Chef Alessandro, General Manager Mylene, and the...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 29 February 2020

We had booked for dinner for 10 people and they suggested we dined in their wine cellarwhich was filled with many and various wines from all over the world. Their Consierge was great and attended to all our needs for the booking and on the...night the meal was really great, wine selction 1st rate and the staff were lovely. Cannot recommend enough. Great bar as well with over 200 Whiskeys to choose from.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
Mark_Richerdson, Owner at Bel & Brio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Thank you Roger, for this amazing review. We really appreciate it! I will make sure to share it with the team, and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We found 2 of the 3 staff we spoke to very rude. Looking at other reviews it doesn’t seem to be the food that is the issue here but the staff which is a shame!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Mark Richerdson, Owner at Bel & Brio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with our staff and we'll take this into account as we continue to grow. Bel & Brio is a small restaurant in the heart of Barangaroo so it's...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My friends and I popped into Bel and Brio for a drink and desert yesterday afternoon after having lunch at another place in Barangaroo. Although most of the restaurant was empty, I had to flag down someone to take our order. We noticed that there...was a Paggio Anima 2018 Montulepulciano on the menu (we had just had the 2019 at lunch and loved it). We had mentioned to the waitress that we just had just had this wine but a year younger so thought this one would be fantastic so ordered it. She brought it over, had me taste it, then poured the wine. It was only after I turned the bottle around that I noticed it was a 2020. Meanwhile we had still been waiting on our deserts (which literally were pulled out of a cool cabinet) and I flagged the waitress down and said "Sorry, can I ask a question" and she said "Oh, I'll get your deserts". Came back with our deserts which had been sitting there for 10 mins while she was chatting with a co-worker. I said "Um, we ordered the 2018 bottle and this is a 2020" and she said "Yeah, we're out of the 2018" and I said "well, it this going to be cheaper??" (The 2018 was $70, the 2019 we had at the previous place was $60). She said, "I'll find out". About 10 mins later the manager came over and said "this bottle will be $60" and I said "I'm sorry, but we just had a 2019 two doors down and paid $60. I'm not paying $60 for this one and his response was "Do you know wine?" and I said "I'm sorry, what?" and he said "Do you know how wine is priced...how much do you want to pay for it" and I said "First of all, the waitress did not tell us that you were out of the 2018....she opened the bottle, poured the wine, and it was only when I questioned her that she told me you were out of the 2018. If we had known it was a 2020, we may have ordered something else. But I wasn't given that opportunity. I'm not paying $60 for this bottle of wine. Your 2018 was $70, the 2019 we had for lunch was $60, so I would assume this would be $50 since it's a 2020 bottle of wine" and his response was "This is a 2020?" at which point he turned the bottle around to see the year. So why is quoting me the price on a bottle of wine he doesn't even know the year?! He then goes to the computer and said "Did you have a reservation with us" and I said "No, why does that matter" and he said it didn't. He then walked away and never came back. Our bill came and they charged us $50 for the wine as well as charging us for our deserts. I am appalled at their level of customer service...no apology, no comps on desert...nothing. I understand that the service industry has been hit hard by covid and they are understaffed, but the restaurant was empty, hence they were not short-staffed. This "manager" had horrible customer service skills. They just lost my business as well as my two friends...one of which works for American Express and often refers clients to restaurants in the area...which she will not be doing for Bel and Brio.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 18 December 2021

Great atmosphere and one of best Italian pizzas in town. A little overpriced but the food is very good. Have visited 4-5 times and generally had a great experience though sometimes the staff gives attitude. Overall it is a place to dine in Sydney.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Mark Richerdson, Owner at Bel & Brio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello! Thank you for your review of Bel & Brio. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed our food and our atmosphere. I'm sorry to hear the staff were not always welcoming during your visits, but I will certainly pass on this...More

Reviewed 17 December 2021

Given we as a society locked down for past 2 years, this lovely luncheon is mixture of business and pleasure at Barangaroo. We we're celebrating with French Champagne, King Prawns, Wagyu Beef Char grilled, followed by coffee and dessert. More surprising this came with take...home doggie bag. All served in private dining room. Service is spot on. Lovely luncheon to celebrate Christmas and NYE 2022!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Mark Richerdson, Owner at Bel & Brio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Bel & Brio, Francesca. I'm glad to hear that our team was able to make this a memorable occasion for you and your guests. We hope you'll be back soon!

Reviewed 14 December 2021 via mobile

Went to walk in on a Monday afternoon with 5 friends looking for coffee and a drink. Was refused a table by the woman at the door when the place was nearly empty. Seemed she was only serving a certain demographic. Would not recommend this...place to anyone. I wonder if the owner knows she is knocking back business like this. . She needs to be shown the door .More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
Mark Richerdson, Owner at Bel & Brio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't feel welcome at Bel & Brio. We don't discriminate against any demographic and we try our best to make everyone feel welcome. I apologise if there was a misunderstanding with the hostess and will make sure...More

Reviewed 11 December 2021 via mobile

Walked into Bel & Brio for Happy Hour and were going to stay for dinner (if available) because the menu online looks delicious. Walked in and got ignored by the rude waiter at the front who didn’t even say hello and looked at us like...we were interrupting his night by turning up. Reluctantly took us to our table and hardly said a word so we had no idea whether it was table service or we had to order at the bar. After almost 20 mins of numerous staff walking past including said waiter and no service whatsoever we decided to just walk out and try one of the many other dining options at Barangaroo. Terrible service but thank you for pointing us in the direction of somewhere far better with much friendlier service.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
Mark Richerdson, Owner at Bel & Brio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry to hear you did not have a great experience at Bel & Brio. I appreciate your feedback and would like to learn more about what happened during your visit. Please email me directly at concierge@belandbrio.com.au with your contact information so that we can...More

Reviewed 5 December 2021

Venue looked great, however, it took way too long for the food to come out, and when it did, the size of the shared plates was extremely disappointing, particulrly given the price tag, I would not recommend eating at this venue. We were gobsmacked at...the charges by the end of our night, despite having locked in a food and beverage menu.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Mark Richerdson, Owner at Bel & Brio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that the food took too long and that the shared plates were not satisfying. As for your disappointment regarding the price tag, we have a variety of menus available with differing prices which might suit your...More

Reviewed 13 November 2021

The whole lunch was a great disappointment. The Zucchini flowers were basically just batter with a thin piece of green stem inside and oily as well. The mains came in cold bowls which of course did nothing for the also cold Spaghetti pesto and the...Potato Gnocchi. Such a disappointment and then discovered we were charged $24.00 for the Zucchini flowers which in fact were $19.00 on the menu and two glasses of Prosecco charged at $26.00 when in fact on the menu they show as $6.00 a glass. We certainly wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Mark Richerdson, Owner at Bel & Brio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback Zim. I'm sorry to hear that our lunch didn't meet your expectations. We take the quality of our food very seriously and we're sorry that it was not up to par with what you expected from us. We'll be sure...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ibis Sydney Barangaroo
1,284 reviews
.17 km away
Napoleon on Kent
446 reviews
.18 km away
Little National Hotel Sydney
411 reviews
.27 km away
West Hotel Sydney, Curio Collection by Hilton
478 reviews
.28 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Banksii Vermouth Bar & Bistro
280 reviews
.08 km away
Born by Tapavino
299 reviews
.06 km away
Rivareno Gelato Barangaroo
139 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
King Street Wharf
26 reviews
.11 km away
The Streets of Barangaroo
34 reviews
.10 km away
St Phillip's Anglican church
11 reviews
.33 km away
Sydney DreamBoats
23 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Susanne A
7 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mark_Richerdson | Property representative |
Dear Susanne, We have over 2000 bins of wine in our Boutique Cellar for you to choose from hence, unfortunately, we do not do BYO.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bel & Brio

Yes, Bel & Brio offers takeaway services.

Bel & Brio is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5